No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
2225 COVENTRY ROAD , BIRMINGHAM, B26 3EH
At only 3.7 miles from Birmingham Airport and 7 miles from Birmingham New Street train station, the Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon Hotel is ideal for guests travelling to and from the airport, as well as anyone visiting the region itself. Guests can enjoy days out at the Tyseley Locomotive Works, 3.5 miles away, and the National Motorcycle Museum, 6.2 miles away.If you're looking for a country escape, nearby Baddesley Clinton Manor House provides breathtaking scenic views.

A Toby Cavery is located next to the hotel and offers an easy and relaxing place to eat.

Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please visit our website www.travelodge.co.uk for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday night stay
It wasn't bad for the price, quite basic - shower gel and shampoo would have been a nice touch.

Reviewed by
June U

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hoys

Reviewed by
a hay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superbly good value stay
My first priority is always the cleanliness of the room and this was excellent. The Toby carvery was extremely good value at less than £10 for 2 courses. Quality was also acceptable. Overall, a very good hotel.

Reviewed by
Christian Y

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Find me a room with a made up bed, first time not third
We were given a key for a room which had not been serviced. trail back to reception and given a second key. Also for a room which had not been serviced, this time on the second floor, no lift. We were accompanied by a very embarrassed and apologetic manager, who carried a suitcase for me, my husband carrying the second one. Then the manager asked us to wait whilst she personally found and checked a suitable room for us. We were offered a free breakfast and a voucher for our next stay. However I have to go onto their web site to retrieve the voucher and also to find out the value of said voucher. I would much rather be given a voucher, and not to have the hassle of having to log onto another website. The manager was, throughout very professional and sympathetic to our plight. I gather that she had only just come on duty.

Reviewed by
Teresa H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just as I expected - Good.
I have stayed at other Travelodge hotels before and the experience has always been good and this experience was no exception. The lady on reception was pleasant and polite, the booking in process was simple and straight forward and the room was comfortable. The room had en-suite facilities which included a shower but no bath. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy; I stayed for two nights and they changed the used towels despite the now usual notice about their policy being that they would not change them unless you wanted them to. I would have been happy to use them a second day in an effort to save the planet but they denied me the choice - which isn't going to help them keep costs down either and then perhaps they could have replaced the batteries in the TV remote control - a very common problem. The remote control was the only gripe really. It might be worth mentioning, although it wasn't a problem for me, that their solution to breakfast is a "Breakfast box" (actually a choice of two) full of stuff that I avoid as a diabetic; Orange juice, cake, snack bar - they do put yoghurt in as well but I would have made other arrangements anyway on this occasion - very early start each day. It would have been better if they had liaised with the Toby Inn next door to provide breakfast - and more lucrative too. On the whole I thought that what I got was good value for money at £40 -43 (although the rates do vary considerably). It was clean, comfortable and it served it's purpose. If I wanted absolute luxury I could have paid considerably more but I didn't, I got what I wanted and I am happy.

Reviewed by
J Cullen

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NEC
Chose the Sheldon Travelodge as close to the NEC . Could not fault the accomadation in any way with the bonus of the Toby pub along side

Reviewed by
S Webb

From Braunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a beer swigging,curry deprived,ex pat this is,almost, Utopia!but.........
The property is well kept and easy to find, the rooms are well appointed if a little on the small side.Attached to a very nice Toby Carvery/Pub serving great food inc an unbeatable £3.99 breakfast buffet!!Projection and flat screens for football,plenty of atmosphere and no need to worry about drinking and driving.Across the street are 3 excellent Indian Restaurants,Balti Society,Titash and my new fav the Sheldon Grill,which serves some of the best curries you have ever tasted!! That's the good side.There is a huge flaw,which I m not sure if they can do much about.This was not purpose built as a hotel and for that reason the walls are literally paper thin,soundproofing is non existent to the point were I was kept awake by a very energetic couple in the adjoining room for several hours my first night followed by a full on fight the second which resulted in the police being called.I can write that one off to bad luck as i spoke to other guests and they did nt have a similar issue.However,you may want to request a second floor room or make it clear to the front desk if this is a problem.I would have asked to be moved but they kicked the offending guest out so all good.Compared to NEC properties,this was 50% cheaper,literally just 5 mins drive to NEC,has free parking,free internet in the room for 30 mins and free all day in the pub,walk to some of the best restaurants in town,Morrisons supermarket,3 mins walk,great food and great beer,just bring your earplugs!!

Reviewed by
Mark Alexander

From Kissimmee, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traffic noise
The only downside was the traffic noise but was not too bad as long as the window was shut

Reviewed by
g withall

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable bed. Plenty of tea coffee and milk. Room on the ground floor as requested.
Friendly staff. Efficient shower. comfortable towels

Reviewed by
andrena j

From Kingsteignton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom Design! A shelf or flat surface upon which to place one's 'sponge bags' containing tooth brush/paste, flannel, clippers, shaver, etc. next to the hand basin - rather than having to use them from the floor would be so helpful.
Mirror lighting. To shave, or for ladies to do makeup, a light which shines upon ones face is the general idea. Lights in the ceiling which shine a vertical concentrated beam to the back of one's head, leaving one's face in shadow, are not helpful. Stepping back 500mm doesn't help either, the beam is too vertical to shine on one's face.
Shower mixer. It is necessary to reach inside the curtains to learn how the shower control works. Far better if this could be sited where it can be adjusted without having to reach to the far side of the shower.
The bed was comfortable. All pillows were too tightly packed with foam making them bulky and hard. One soft and one hard would offer customers a choice and enhance a sound nights sleep.
I would have appreciated a stand for my luggage case rather than having to unpack/pack it on the floor.
All small points, but as far as I am concerned, ones which make the difference between OK and excellent!
One last point with this hotel, we drove in left from the main road dual carriageway, very tired and in the dark, to the small car park adjoining the main road. We then found it difficult to find reception. First door was shut. Walk around to bar and ask barman where hotel entrance was. He was not sure! So try a few doors outside the bar. All locked. Go outside again and then walk right around building to what we then found was the main car park and, Aha, reception. We then had to return to front car park to move the car to the rear park.
There is a connection between the two but it is not obvious especially at night. More good clear signs would be extremely helpful to find main car park and hotel reception. A sign on the ground floor fire door, opposite pub entrance, leading to reception at far end would be helpful, but again only if the door can be opened and if it says, "Reception, last door Right".

Reviewed by
James F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next