No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Loch Leven Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Old Ferry Road , North Ballachulish, Fort William, PH336SA
With a beautiful loch-side setting and mountain views, this traditional Highland hotel offers comfortable accommodation in relaxing surroundings with most of the rooms having picturesque views of the loch and the mountains. There is free Wi-Fi available for all guests, and free private parking on site.

The fantastic loch-view restaurant offers a large variety of home-cooked meals, made from local produce.
The Loch Leven Hotel is ideal for a relaxing break or walking and climbing trips. Glencoe is a 7-mile drive away and Fort William is 15 miles away, which makes Loch Leven Hotel the perfect base to explore the West Highlands. Activities in the area include walking, climbing, golfing, fishing, sailing and various types of water sports.

The hotel stands next to Ballachulish Bridge and was once a 17th-century coaching inn and terminal for the Ballachulish Ferry.
The bar has a real log fire, wide selection of malt whiskies and occasional live music. Children and pets are welcome, there is also a family room and games room with pool table
Picture of The Loch Leven Hotel, North Ballachulish, Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Lovely hotel in a great setting with wonderful views all round.
A stones throw from the waters edge.
Excellent food at excellent prices.
Worth every penny. All staff were very helpful
Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
sheena ferguson

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
stunning loch views from restaurant. traditional country style small hotel. good traditional food. lots of history. lovely to see a friendly waitress for breakfast :)

Reviewed by
Robin B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Hotel was friendly in a very good spot with a superb beer garden. Our room was very spacious but no remote for the tv. We ate in the restraunt I had steak which was superb my wife had chicken with cuscous she did remark there was far to much of that and some veg would have been nice . Breakfast has got to be the worst we have both had from a hotel deep fried everything two bits of bacon had stuck together and were inedible poached eggs way over cooked , a big fail on the breakfast unfortunately.

Reviewed by
K Fyall

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

jacobite experience
Hotel excellent , food good , view from hotel to lochleven excellent but not great to the rear
Staff pleasant and helpfull

Reviewed by
g ross

From inverurie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, will hopefully be back
This hotel ticked all the right boxes as far as we were concerned. The room was clean, a good size with plenty of storage and a comfy settee. we had a dog with us so made use of the public bar and family area which was pleasant, and overlooked the loch, with a good beer on tap and nice priced wine. The food was excellent, a small menu with a varied choice freshly prepared, and included two vegetarian options. There were locals eating in the hotel - always a good sign. Breakfasts were cooked to order and hot. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
S Hart

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highlands Trip
Nice friendly hotel. This will be the 4th time we have stayed here. Under new Management this trip,
but still the same good service. Good food and fantastic views from Restaurant. We will stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in the Highlands.

Reviewed by
S du Feu

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
Great spot to stop. Easy access to main routes. Hotel hugely improved since last made a visit. It's a lovely place now under the new owners. Bed and board excellent. Only slight negative is the ensuites as shower a little small and the flush has a macerator that is noisy. Don't let this put you off.

Reviewed by
Stuart R

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly and welcoming hotel

Reviewed by
ben f

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highland stay
Hotel full of history. Wonderful views. Excellent location for exploring Highlands. Good food and selection with wonderful views from the restaurant. The best part was the host's. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Well done and good luck in your venture.

Reviewed by
Robin P

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.