Reviews - The Loch Leven Hotel


Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish, Fort William, PH336SA

Price From 123.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kenneth McCallum

  • November 2015

Full of praise

We had an excellent stay at the hotel.

The superior room we booked was extremely comfortable and spacious, all staff were professional courteous and friendly. The food was fantastic - we stayed four nights had four different menu selections and could not fault one of them. Breakfast was just what we needed in preparation for a good day walking. Thank you and we'll done.

  • Derek Miller

  • October 2015

friendly, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere

Visited this hotel several owners and just over 40 years ago so were wary of memories being through rose tinted spectacles.

The setting is beautiful, the welcome from the current owners was warm and welcoming, and everything turned out even better than we'd hoped. We took our springer spaniel with us as the website had said dog-friendly, and they were. Room was comfortable and well equipped. food was great and lived well up to the reviews we'd read about it. Superb quality and beautifully presented. If you take your dog, there are great woodland and seashore walks within yards of the hotel. Beware of the breakfasts if you aren't a big eater at that time of day. Again great quality and the chef doesn't want you to leave the table with anything less that a full stomach and a sated appetite. We can only recommend the Loch Leven Hotel highly to anyone thinking of exploring that gloriously beautiful part of the west highlands.

  • A Shaw

  • February 2015

The Loch Leven Hotel

A thoroughly recommended hotel.

Everything was excellent and would definitely go again. Thanks Loch Leven Hotel.

  • sheena ferguson

  • September 2014

Great hotel

Lovely hotel in a great setting with wonderful views all round.

A stones throw from the waters edge.

Excellent food at excellent prices.

Worth every penny. All staff were very helpful

Will definitely stay again.

  • Robin B

  • September 2014

good location

stunning loch views from restaurant.

traditional country style small hotel. good traditional food. lots of history. lovely to see a friendly waitress for breakfast :)

  • K Fyall

  • August 2014


Hotel was friendly in a very good spot with a superb beer garden.

Our room was very spacious but no remote for the tv. We ate in the restraunt I had steak which was superb my wife had chicken with cuscous she did remark there was far to much of that and some veg would have been nice . Breakfast has got to be the worst we have both had from a hotel deep fried everything two bits of bacon had stuck together and were inedible poached eggs way over cooked , a big fail on the breakfast unfortunately.

  • g ross

  • August 2014

jacobite experience

Hotel excellent , food good , view from hotel to lochleven excellent but not great to the rear

Staff pleasant and helpfull

  • Stuart R

  • June 2014


Great spot to stop.

Easy access to main routes. Hotel hugely improved since last made a visit. It's a lovely place now under the new owners. Bed and board excellent. Only slight negative is the ensuites as shower a little small and the flush has a macerator that is noisy. Don't let this put you off.

  • S Hart

  • May 2014

Great stay, will hopefully be back

This hotel ticked all the right boxes as far as we were concerned.

The room was clean, a good size with plenty of storage and a comfy settee. we had a dog with us so made use of the public bar and family area which was pleasant, and overlooked the loch, with a good beer on tap and nice priced wine. The food was excellent, a small menu with a varied choice freshly prepared, and included two vegetarian options. There were locals eating in the hotel - always a good sign. Breakfasts were cooked to order and hot. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • S du Feu

  • May 2014

Highlands Trip

Nice friendly hotel.

This will be the 4th time we have stayed here. Under new Management this trip,

but still the same good service. Good food and fantastic views from Restaurant. We will stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in the Highlands.