Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Playhouse Hotels > Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
20 Rosslyn Crescent, , , Edinburgh, EH6 5AX
Glendevon Central is a fine Victorian bed and breakfast, located in a quiet "leafy" cul de sac, but is very close to Edinburgh city centre and all public transport links. Although close to the centre, there is unrestricted "on street" parking. It is family owned and run by the husband and wife team of Catherine and Stuart McCarter, who offer you a warm, friendly welcome and a comfortable stay. This includes a full, cooked Scottish breakfast or our "lighter options" of Scottish kipper and scrambled eggs or Scottish smoked salmon and scrambled eggs . As much as possible our food is locally sourced to ensure the highest quality available. Our check in times are between 14.00 and 20.00, unless by special arrangement, (please telephone or email). The house has recently been completely renovated to a very high standard, combining modern facilities and top quality bathrooms with many fine Victorian period features. All rooms have private shower / bathrooms, with one room having en suite facilities. All rooms have television and tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. Free, fast "fibre optic" cable wireless internet is available for your laptop, tablet or smartphone. Glendevon Central is an ideal location for exploring Edinburgh and its surroundings being a short distance from the bus and train stations. Princes Street and all the attractions of central Edinburgh are 15 / 20 minutes walk or easily accessible by the 24 hour regular bus service. It is a short bus journey to Murrayfield Stadium for the rugby internationals and an ideal central location for exploring the many events of the Edinburgh International Festival and the famous Festival Fringe. We look forward very much to welcoming you to Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast and will do everything we can to ensure that your stay is enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing.
Picture of Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
This was probably the best b&b I have ever stayed in. Catherine and Stuart were lovely, warm and welcoming and very helpful, treated us as friends rather than just guests which was lovely, and of course their dog Bonnie who is very friendly! The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate, and managed to be modern whilst keeping some of the original style which was lovely! We were even provided with dressing gowns and a decent brand of toiletries. Great choice of breakfasts, with the option of Scottish breakfasts which was really nice, and the food quality was fantastic. Catherine and Stuart went above and beyond to make this a fantastic stay, will definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
hayley West

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Edinburgh Getaway
Would highly recommend this accommodation.
Beautiful, clean rooms- we had the en suite 'Rome' room which was ideal and good value for money.
Delicious breakfast, the owners were very accommodating and helpful during our stay.
The accommodation is close ish to the city centre (we walked and it took about 20 minutes or the bus stop was very close and the journey was around 10 minutes).
Would stay here again!
p.s. bonnie the dog was super cute!

Reviewed by
Alice Hill

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast
Great location, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfast, terrific value for money.

Reviewed by
R Clughen

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real jewel in Edinburgh's crown!
As soon as Catherine and Stuart (..not forgetting Bonnie!) opened the door to their beautiful home they made us feel so welcome and at home. The house is beautifully and extremely tastefully decorated in Victorian style, with many "memory lane" experiences and history lessons guaranteed! The guest room was spacious, warm and very comfortable, and had everything that we could possibly need or might have forgotten to bring with us. The Scottish breakfast was delicious and plentiful and was served in a delightful setting.... we were only sad that we were only able to stay one night!
The B&B is ideally located in a quiet road within walking distance to Edinburgh city centre and bus services are good too.
All in all we had a wonderful stay, and thoroughly recommend this beautiful B&B and it's most gracious hosts! Thank you both so much - we can't wait to come back !!
All the best for 2015 - Buon Anno!!
Helen & Alessandro

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Italy
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Had an absolutely lovely stay, room was immaculate and we were made to feel very welcome. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast too. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
l harrop

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit- just as good as the first!
A warm welcome, a comfortable clean room (with a skylight to the stars!) and a lovely breakfast with the additional treat of hearing a wax cylinder gramophone in action!

Reviewed by
P Fraser

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hosts, Great Location
Great stay, quiet street, stayed here a couple of times now and always been able to park easily enough. Very handy for City Centre/Leith/Stockbridge, Botanical Gardens.
Room spotless, wanted to steal the bed it was that comfy.
Cracking breakfast with plenty of choice.
Definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B & B
We were really happy with this B & B - just wish we could have stayed longer. Catherine and Stuart were very friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was delicious and very well presented. We hope to return soon and will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Reviewed by
J Lynch

From PETERBOROUGH, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
Nice friend ly run B&B comfortable clean room close to city centre great for stopover in Edinburgh

Reviewed by
S Dickson

From Larkhall, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
A lovely welcome, really helpful hosts- beautiful restored Victorian home with loads of great features. Excellent atmosphere and chats with fellow guests. Really lovely breakfast! Will be returning soon and would recommend to everyone. Excellent value for money too!

Reviewed by
P Fraser

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next