Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Eh7 4 Hotels > Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
20 Rosslyn Crescent, , , Edinburgh, EH6 5AX
Glendevon Central is a fine Victorian bed and breakfast, located in a quiet "leafy" cul de sac, but is very close to Edinburgh city centre and all public transport links. Although close to the centre, there is unrestricted "on street" parking. It is family owned and run by the husband and wife team of Catherine and Stuart McCarter, who offer you a warm, friendly welcome and a comfortable stay. This includes a full, cooked Scottish breakfast or a "continental style" breakfast with a cured meat and cheese selection. As much as possible our food is locally sourced to ensure the highest quality available. Our check in times are between 14.00 and 20.00, unless by special arrangement, (please telephone or email). The house has recently been completely renovated to a very high standard, combining modern facilities and top quality bathrooms with many fine Victorian period features. All rooms have private shower / bathrooms, with one room having en suite facilities. All rooms have television and tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. Free, fast "fibre optic" cable wireless internet is available for your laptop, tablet or smartphone. Glendevon Central is an ideal location for exploring Edinburgh and its surroundings being a short distance from the bus and train stations. Princes Street and all the attractions of central Edinburgh are 15 / 20 minutes walk or easily accessible by the 24 hour regular bus service. It is a short bus journey to Murrayfield Stadium for the rugby internationals and an ideal central location for exploring the many events of the Edinburgh International Festival and the famous Festival Fringe. We look forward very much to welcoming you to Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast and will do everything we can to ensure that your stay is enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing.
Picture of Glendevon Central Bed and Breakfast, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent BnB
Lovely BnB. Friendly, helpful owners. Very clean and comfortable. Beautiful room and bathroom with everything you could need. Very nice big breakfast. Central to Edinburgh. Our stay there was brief but was the best place we have stayed in. Couldn't have asked for a better place with better people. Highly recommend and would love to go back for longer.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Edinburgh
A very good stay and could not fault anything. A short bus ride to city centre and harbourside. A friendly city and a perfect place to stay.

Reviewed by
P Vose

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely B&B with excellent hosts (inc Bonnie the dog!)
I cannot rate this B&B more highly! Glendevon is a small haven located in a quiet area of the busy city.
Catherine and Stuart made us feel very welcome and were kind and attentive for the duration of our stay - the adorable westie Bonnie also added a little sparkle to our stay. Our room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. Served in a beautiful dining room, the breakfast was delicious; we were spoilt for choice with what was on offer. Felt like home from home. We hope to return soon and have recommended this wonderful B&B to family and friends!

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all-round accommodation
No complaints about this guesthouse. Catherine and Stuart were great hosts and the loft room we had was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and filling. Finding a parking in the street was a bit a problem but eventually found a space. The location is convenient and a nearby bus stop allows easy access into the city centre. Would have no problems staying here again.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From South Africa
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Great place in a lovely location with very friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
Jon S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Customer service and Breakfast to die for....
Stayed here for night in Edinburgh, B&B in really nice quiet location with pubs / restaurants just round a couple of corners. Breakfast was delicious - never seen such yellow yolks in my eggs! You can taste the quality and nothing was too much trouble. You wont leave hungry that's for sure!. We enjoyed Bonnie (the dog) joining us from time to time too - she welcomes you and watches you out, when you leave and can even do tricks - brilliant! but definitely not a bother, home from home. Cleanliness - impeccable, bed comfortable and loved the extras i.e shortbread in room to have with a cupa. Only possible downfall for us (but it was our error) is we'd normally stay with a room and en-suite - private bathroom was very nice though. Defo stay again in a different room though. Possible room for improvement (came to me after we left - but not essential) was possibly a little cooler bag or fridge to keep bottled water provided cool! - but again like i said not really necessary. p.s not only was the quality of breakfast noticed but house is beautiful and dining set / cutlery are exquisite. You also get a great scottish, friendly welcome, from hosts who make you feel like friends. Many thanks

Reviewed by
NEIL REAY

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant bed and breakfast, close to Playhouse
Great welcome from Catherine and Stuart who were both friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, including recommendations for dinner, use of ironing board etc. Our en-suite room was beautifully decorated, had a very comfortable bed and included a table with tea, coffee, biscuits and water . The breakfast was very tasty with a choice of cereals, yoghurts and full cooked breakfast all served in a beautiful dining room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definately return.

Reviewed by
a reilly

From Gourock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet haven in city centre
Tucked up a secret cul-de-sac, a short walk to the city centre or Botlanic Gardens, this traditional style B&Bis a wonderful place to stay when in Edinburgh. The hosts Catherine and Stuart could not have done a better job and will do everything they can to make your stay an enjoyable one. If you are looking for home comforts rather than the more impersonal hotel environment, you cannot do better than this!

Reviewed by
s martin

From gehrden, Germany
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem X
From the moment my partner and I arrived the service was outstanding. Warming and welcoming, exactly what you need after a long trip. We were shown to our delightful room, that over looked flowering gardens. Added touches like fresh milk, homemade fudge and an elegant vase of tulips made our welcome simply perfect.
Breakfast consisted of scrumptious local ingredients, cooked to your desire and served in a room glowing with vintage décor-something the owners were very proud of.
The location was close enough to walk into the hustle and bustle of shops and bars yet, just far enough to still be in the peaceful surroundings that Scotland is known for.
We are certainly a couple that would return for more what Glendevon has to offer.

Reviewed by
A Timbrell

From Hemel hemstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What more could you ask for for 65.00 for 2 people
Great location with free street parking only 15 min walk from Princess street with buses nearby if you prefer. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or made any more effort to make our stay pleasant. Couldn't fault it. Clean, relaxed. Great breakfast.
Only a very picky person would find anything to complain about. I have stayed in other Edinburgh B&Bs and this was easily the best so far. I'll be going back
John

Reviewed by
John F

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next