No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, , , Lower Brailes, OX15 5HN
The Bar at the George is traditionally English and frequented by locals and visitors. It's a place where farmers meet and walkers recover. You will meet all types here. There is a regular selection of ales from the local Hook Norton Brewery, an inglenook fireplace, stone mullion windows and some historic panels. One of the rooms dates before 1350 when the stonemasons who built the church were housed at the inn. Outside we have a large garden with seating, covered smoking area, small children's play area and a car park. Dogs and children are welcome. We have a childrens policy whereon we request no children sit at the actual bar and that they vacate the bar area completely on Friday and Saturday evenings before 8pm. Children are welcome to be in the restaurant past this time if dining with adults.
Picture of The George Inn, Lower Brailes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely overnight stay
We were only there for one night but it is somewhere we would go back to. The staff were verry friendly and the food was excellent the propierter was lovely she explained that our room was over the bar so could be a noise from below which after all it was a pub we aprciated tht IT didn't bother us too much as it was only one night. I must just say the valentines meal was beautiful and all the little touches to the tables and restaraunt really nice. Thank you

Reviewed by
Tina K

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stop over
Found the George as a country location, but close enough for business in Banbury.
Received a very warm welcome on arrival. Room perfectly adequate, bathroom probably had recent face lift?
Had evening meal in the bar, next to the wood fire with a pint of ale. Very good value & very nice.
Comfy bed, freshly cooked breakfast (catering for my veggie diet).
All in all, very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Jonathan W

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Inn
Great stay and also got a packed lunch as I didn't make breakfast, was away on business and a great hotel and value for money.

Reviewed by
Connor Murray

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always great value and a great welcome
I love staying here – its such a good place to chill after a late day at work - people friendly and welcoming, rooms comfy, bar cosy and welcoming, food really good, and price just right. Oh, and a couple of good draught ciders just in case of emergencies...

Reviewed by
Steve T

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay: Highly recommended
I stayed here on the first night of a short walking holiday.
It's a gem. The staff were welcoming, the room was fine and and the friendlyatmosphere in the bar was enhanced by the log fire.
The menu was sensibly priced and of good quality.
They have a very good leaflet detailing 10 local walks and I could, quite happily, have stayed for much longer to undertake some of these if I had not already made other plans..

Reviewed by
John H

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely spot and good food

Reviewed by
Patrick M

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub
Had a wonderful stay here. We felt more like we were visiting friends than staying B&B. Very comfortable, clean room.

Reviewed by
Sue Casson

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent village pub with accommodation
I am a volunteer for a charity and needed a cheap overnight stay. The charity booked this room and the quality of accommodation was excellent. The room was reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly as were the locals in the bar. The food was also good and well presented, breakfast was excellent. If you're looking for a village location with character this is probably for you. The only negative points are, I had no signal on my phone (Three) and the wifi although excellent in the main areas had no signal strength in my room. Having said that overall I would highly recommend the George for a village stop over and I will stay here again if the opportunity should arise.

Reviewed by
Gary H

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Coaching Inn
Good for a nights stay, some problems with the bathroom shower

Reviewed by
Rodney B

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Old Pub but "The Bells".......
Had booked for 4 nights but had to check out after just one night. No fault of the George just that across the road is a lovely old church. Nothing wrong with that except, its bells ring on the hour, every hour, throughout the night. Not too bad but my problem was that its bells also play a tune every quarter, i.e. midnight/3am/6am/9am etc. I am used to no noise and I'm afraid I got little sleep.
To their credit there was no problem with me checking out early and they didn't charge me any cancellation fee, I am very grateful to them.
Please do not read this review as a negative as the George is a lovely place to say if you don't mind the bells, I'm sure some people actually would enjoy, it is part of the village!
The room, room 5, was adequate and for £40 a night that I booked it for very good value. Comfortable bed, windows that open, tea & coffee and a full en suite ( a wee bit tired but due for upgrading I was informed).
The beer is superb, no exaggeration, and the meal that night was wonderful. I had monkfish tails wrapped in Parma Ham served with Jersey potatoes and veg, all in a very tasty creamy sauce, absolutely delicious.
So do not be put off by my thoughts of the bells, it is a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
David C

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next