No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Black Swan Hotel, Market Place, , Leyburn, DL8 5AS
The Black Swan Hotel is a traditional country Inn, nestled amongst the heart of the Yorkshire Dales in the picturesque town of Leyburn. Serving traditional, hearty, homecooked pub grub, we offer local ales and 7 en-suite bedrooms within a warm, friendly family atmosphere.
Picture of The Black Swan Hotel, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect central location for Leyburn and Yorkshire Dales
Great food, and room. A little disorganised when it came to settling the bill, but not a problem. Old fashioned welcome with minimal technological connections! This makes it a perfect get-away.

Reviewed by
K V

From SHEFFIELD, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for short stay
Booked late for a night away in Leyburn. Thoroughly enjoyed it and Black Swan provided good accommodation with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Julie McHale

From Stockton On Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best Bacon I have ever tasted for Breakfast.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very attentive. The breakfast was brilliant all local produce I presume a plate of wonderful tasting products no skimping on quality.

Reviewed by
C Horsfield

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horse racing experience
typical pub accom...with acceptable beers. in nice horse racing town....bathroom ok but bedroom a little cramped...interesting landlord...adequate breakfast...a little overpriced for the standard but probably still trying to cash in on the tour de yorkshire...sorry France.

ManagementResponse

Sorry everything was not to your taste. Our rooms are all different sizes and due to the age of the building, some are smaller, however I would not call any "cramped", no other reviewer has ever said this before! To say our beers are acceptable is rather insulting as we have been in CAMRAs real ale guide for years for the quality of our cask ales! Our breakfast consist of hot choices with fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice and toast and as much tea & coffee as you wish, I am sorry that was not enough for you. I am curious as to why you call your review a horse racing experience, as there is nothing in Leyburn to do with horse racing so it can not be called a horse racing town? Finally, I think you will find that we are the cheapest B&B in Leyburn and at £65 for two people we do not feel this is overpriced and "trying to cash in on the Tour de France"! Thank you

Reviewed by
steven p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was travelling alone to see my son and his wife and I was made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
jacqui h

From wallasey , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
Barely any toilet paper in room on arrival, had to request this.
Tired furniture in room, handles missing from wardrobe door etc.
Room overlooking market square can be noisy (example alarm from supermarket opposite went off in early hours on two consecutive nights).
Otherwise fairly clean and ok for the price.

Reviewed by
Tim M

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Stayed for two nights here and ate in both nights as evening meals were excellent. This is exactly what it says on the tin a pub with rooms but well worth visiting. The staff are friendly and the Landlord can tell you 101 stories about anyone from anywhere in the world. We hope to stay again.

Reviewed by
I Paterson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

full english no thanks
Room ok although very cold as fire door outside missing, renovation on going but surprised top floor open to all
customer service when arrived a grunt and a point from barman
breakfast choice non full English or nothing no choice although we did say we choose in morning but had no chance to ask before being served embarrassing to say the least

Reviewed by
christopher c

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leyburn stay
Arrived and was greeted by the landlord, very welcoming and the pub was so quaint. The room was ok, lots of hot water for the lovely big bath for a soak, tea and coffee etc. my only criticism is no feeking wifi (their words, lol) it was a shame as I had a lot of college work to do and needed the Internet.
The food was lovely, proper pub grub. Great brekkie in the morning also.
The pub is all about the staff who are totally amazing.

Reviewed by
E Firth

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little pub :) friendly landlord
Booked a night here for the leyburn food festival. The room wasn't the one I had asked for and was told I had but it didn't matter. The bed was comfortable and had a really good night sleep. The landlord was friendly and very cheerful :) and the food yummy. The beer was kept just right as well :) will stay here again :) and look forward to it :)

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next