You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Black Swan Hotel

3

The Black Swan Hotel, Market Place,, Leyburn, DL8 5AS

Price From 129.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (23)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rowena L

  • August 2016

Don't stay if you plan to be back after midnight

I was attending a local even and planned to be back at about 1:30am.

Unfortunately the doors are locked at midnight. This was not stated on the website and if I had know I would not have booked. I understand the reason to why this is this way but it needs to be know. Before booking. Also no card machine in the hotel so had to pay with cash on arrival. Car parking in the area is very hard if arriving while shops are open. The carpet I. The room has seen better days with corners being thread bare. I felt it was over priced considering all. Very disappointed

  • Tony C

  • August 2016

Very good value for money.

Read reviews prior to booking which were not all complementary.

Nice friendly environment and rooms were clean and tidy. It is what I would expect for the money we paid. Would definitely stay again.

  • IAIN T

  • August 2016

Lovely village - wonderful hotel - with character.

The Black Swan provided all that my wife and I required while away.

The food was good - the Jumbo fish is a must. Breakfast was also first class. The owner John is helpful and seems to be there most of the time and adresses issues as they are raised and is most helpful, The other staff we dealt with were polite and helpful and chatty without being overbearing.

  • Robert M

  • July 2016

Not the best

Room was small with very hard uncomfortable bed, able to feel springs.

The bathroom had obviously just been sealed as there was sealant all over the taps and when you stand in the bath the seals split. Breakfast looked nice, part way through eating found a piece of metal in the egg. When this was mentioned to the staff, the response was 'it wasn't there when it came out of the kitchen'

Wouldn't stay again, plenty of other places in leyburn and surrounding areas, just book early!

  • Tom P

  • July 2016

Very enjoyable stay

A little quirky but a very enjoyable stay, I was working locally and I felt the stay at the Black Swan was just right for my purposes.

Good food, good friendly company and a decent nights sleep.

  • H Smith

  • July 2016

Stay at the Black Swan

The Proprietor is very friendly, helpful and hard working with a good sense of humour.

The accommodation was good value for money and the home cooked Sunday lunch was excellent, and again good value for money. The room was quiet and the hotel was in a good central position with off road car parking always available right outside. An enjoyable stay.

  • R Arnold

  • June 2016

Poor Quality Stay

3 adults stayed one night (dropping son at Catterick Barracks) Cash or cheques (can anyone remember these) only here.

Room was old , tired, & musty smelling but was clean , could be lovely as room was large enough for 3 full size single beds & bathroom was huge. Although on 3 rd floor with only narrow stairs for access . Location in Layburn market square at start of Wenesley Dale is fantastic & picturesque.

Breakfast although included was minimal & greasey - who serves only 1 mushroom as part of a cooked breakfast. Sorry can not recommend & will not stay again despite the keen price & even though we will be visiting the area again will stay somewhere else.

  • Kim Mukerjee

  • June 2016

Th Black Swan - A Great Place to Stay

Nestled in the Yorkshire Dales is the town of Leyton and here you will find the Black Swan, a small country type pub on the edge of a typical market town square.

The Black Swan was a great place to stay for an overnight stopover but I wish I had had more time to make it a base to explore more of the dales. The room I stayed in above the pub was very clean and comfortable and the owner John made my partner and I very welcome. The pub served traditional pub food and being a free house had a wide range of beers on tap. John is a great character with a traditional dales outlook on life and nothing was better than sitting in the bar and talking with him and the locals for an evenings entertainment. As the sign says "no wifi, try talking to people."

I would highly recommend The Black Swan to anyone seeking an overnight stop or a longer break if you like traditional accommodation coupled with great food (and lots of it) and great conversation. We loved every minute of it.

  • Rani D

  • April 2016

The Black Swan Hotel

Hotel in a good location.

We ate at the hotel one evening and the food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast although not enormous was good quality and locally produced. Owner and family were friendly and helpful, giving us good advice on local places of interest.

  • Carole Bartley

  • March 2016

Excellent pi

John a really good host works so hard