No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Sussex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
182, South Street , Lancing, BN15 8AU
Under new ownership since April 2010, as part of our refurbishment program, we have now renovated the upper floors of The New Sussex Hotel, to encompass 8 en-suite guest rooms.

We have luxury en suite 3* rooms that have been newly refurbished to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our team here at the new sussex hotel aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible, whether you are here for business or pleasure. We have transformed this 200 year old Public House into a 3 star luxury Hotel. All rooms have en-suites, flat screen TV and Tea and Coffee facilities.

Situated conveniently between Brighton and Worthing, we are also close to the ferry ports at Newhaven and Portsmouth, as well as being 30 minutes away from Gatwick and only 5 minutes away from Lancing railway station. Whether you are a local or just visiting the area, you are assured a warm family welcome at The New Sussex Hotel.

Picture of The New Sussex Hotel, Lancing at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything about our stay was A1
Initially surprised to find The New Sussex Hotel was a pub, but everything about our stay was faultless. Pristine clean twin room and separate bathroom within self-contained quarters above the pub - one of three rooms available I believe. Live music Friday night (and every Friday night) but we were asked whether we would like to move to another room on floor above as music would be playing till 11pm (it finished at midnight) . We declined but music was not a bother. Loads of choice for breakfast - juice, cereals, croissants, coffee, tea, and great vegetarian cooked breakfast, and toast and marmalade etc. We also had evening meal at the pub (hotel) - good cooking, but limited choice for vegetarians, although as we only ate twice there it was not a problem. Checked out the other eating places in Lancing (a Harvester - ugh - Indian, Chinese and a chippy) and The New Sussex was probably the best for an evening meal. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
ann rees

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Brilliant hotel! Great service, lovely food and comfy rooms. We stayed in this hotel just outside Brighton on a chilled girls night away. The hotel staff were excellent, the breakfast was extremely nice and we can't fault anything about our stay. We will most definitely go back.

Reviewed by
K Hall

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Anniversary weekend away, double room booked and got two single beds bolted together.
On arrival at the hotel, looking at it from the outside, I soon realised that it was a pub that had rooms above, it wasn't what you call a hotel in the traditional sense of the word. However when entering in, the bar was straight in front of you, and the staff were very helpful and polite.
As we were shown to our room, (room 4) on the second floor up, I noticed upon entering the room that our bed was two singles bolted together, and not the double as was booked. This was a major gripe I had, as we experienced the same on the continent in Sicily on our honeymoon 2 years before. I was really not happy and very disappointed. We also found that neither of the two bedside lights worked. The one on my side of the bed didn't work, and the light on my wives side didn't have a bulb in it. The third problem was that when housekeeping came round in the morning the tea's, coffee's and milk's etc where not replenished as you would expect them to be. This as far as I am aware is normal practice when housekeeping staff come to make the bed and tidy the room in the morning. It was not the case on our visit.
On the plus side, the hotel staff were very pleasant and polite. The food was excellent and it was located close to local bus and train routes.

Reviewed by
Jonathan D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay

Reviewed by
s ackers

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, Great Pub
The New Sussex is a gem, strikes the perfect balance between a friendly quality pub, and a professionally run hotel. Great attention to care, especially around food, and staff are attentive, and always pleasant. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded all expectations
I booked this hotel on the last minute so really wasn't expecting much for the price being charged. From the minute I walked in, I was made to feel welcome and the check-in was quick and efficient. The room and certainly the bed was much larger than I had anticipated and made for a comfortable nights rest. The en-suite was "bijou" to say the least but perfectly functional for a single male traveller and spotlessly clean! The shower was hot an powerful which is always a positive for me after spending many long hours in the car. The pub below the rooms was busy and friendly. The staff were very accommodating and happy to help. If I am honest, the menu didn't have the greatest variety of choice however in my experience, this makes for better quality dining and I wasn't disappointed. The breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious. I couldn't fault my stay and will not hesitate to stay again and am happy to recommend The New Sussex Hotel. Thank you, for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Stuart Thorley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Modern Surprise.
The walk through a busy bar with my 2 young children after a 5 hour drive did little to raise my mood, and the response from the staff member who turned out to be the owner of 'I will be with you in a minute' as he talked to another man made me feel I had made a bad decision for our one night stay. However, once we had gone upstairs we were shown to a large, modern, clean comfortable room which had obviously recently been refurbished and was sensibly laid out. We all had a comfortable nights sleep as we could barely hear the noise downstairs which seemed to be holding a popular live music session. This is obviously a venue which can serve many purposes without affecting the enjoyment of others. When we awoke the next morning, we realised the inn had a large beer garden which the children would have loved to explore if the season had allowed it and if the sun had been shining we could have enjoyed the room's exclusive raised deck area. The breakfast was served and cooked by the owner who did an excellent job of making us feel like no request could not be catered for. We left feeling well fed and refreshed. Not the cheapest place we have stayed but one we would certainly consider again.

Reviewed by
Cei Davies

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gteat room,service and food.
Could not fault any aspect of how we were treated and the service and staff were excellent. Pub below the accommodation was as noisy as a happy pub should be and the meal was good BUT when we were upstairs in our room we could not hear the pub at all. Great breakfast too!

Reviewed by
martin d

From halesworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.