Reviews - The Osney Arms Guest House


45 Botley Road, ,, Oxford, OX2 0BP

Price From 188.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Angela C

  • August 2015

stylist room in a friendly place

The establishment felt private and intimate, a bit like a boutique hotel.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lovely little en-suite room that had some nice decorative touches.The room suited me for a one-night stay but it is small with a sloping roof and there is a hanger rail rather than a wardrobe so perhaps not great for longer stays. Even on the top floor and with the window closed the traffic is a little noisy so may not suit light sleepers. Lots of stairs and no lift so not suitable for those with mobility problems. Although I did not have breakfast (included in the price), it looked lovely, and the room where is was served was very pleasant and nicely decorated.

  • Catherine Still

  • July 2015

Great base for a mini break

I initially chose this guest house purely on location - close to the station and close to the city centre according to the website - and the detailed room photos were encouraging.

But it was all true. What a great place - spotlessly clean, very welcoming, a friendly atmosphere, huge breakfast choice around a refectory table. Seven minutes walk to the station and about ten more to the city centre, and good range of eating places along that route - no need to walk all the way back into the centre for an evening meal. Will definitely stay here again.

  • J Mellen

  • April 2015

Great little guest house

Recently enjoyed 3 nights at The Osney Arms and will definitely return next time I visit Oxford.

It was friendly and homely and nothing was too much trouble. Extremely comfy bed, good quality linens, modern ensuite with a fab rainforest shower. Breakfast is taken at a large refectory table and consisted of cereals, dried fruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, croissants, toast, cold meat, cheese, fresh juice, tea, coffee and delicious home made scones. A bit of noise from road at the front of the guest house but didn't keep us awake at night. A few minutes walk from Oxford railway station. Lovely stay.

  • p fish

  • February 2015

Great host, lovely room, could have been a little cleaner but still lovely

Great host, lovely room, could have been a little cleaner but still lovely

  • Karen C

  • February 2015

Home from home

We stayed here as a base for visiting Oxford - vet convenient for the train station.

Simon was a fantastic host, very friendly. Owners responded promptly to all queries, including an email about leaving our bags before check in so we could go sightseeing, and replacing a faulty lamp immediately. Room was lovely, bed was really comfortable. Would recommend.

  • Karen talbot

  • November 2014

Lovely location, lovely hotelier, can't wait to go back

I can't rave about this place enough.

Its lovely. The hostess was so welcoming and helpful. My room up in the eaves was cosy and gorgeous. I slept like a baby in the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. I was at first hesitant about a shared bathroom ...and then saw the roll tap bath. Friendly breakfast, great food and good conversation around a beautiful big old table. Lovely place, short and pleasant walk into a beautiful city. I am already planning my next stay!

  • LOIS S

  • July 2014

just right

great stay with efficient arrival and departure to fit in with our plans, very friendly breakfast service and great website which meant we knew pretty exactly what the room and facilities would be like.

  • kerry k

  • June 2014

Breakfast was toast...

Shared bathroom that had no shower...disgusting

window couldn't open else id have broken it...the room was sooo hot and a small tiny attic

  • michael b

  • February 2014

An absolute disgrace for £100, usable space was 2ft x 6ft being 6ft tall impossible to stand upright as this is a converted attic room [a broom cupboard] A shared bathroom which was filthy when i went to use it in the morning also no cooked breakfast just salami,cheese and coffee.