Reviews - The Crystal Lodge Hotel


49, Brigstock Road, Thornton Heath, CR77JH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (40)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Johnson

  • October 2015

Would happily stay here again...

I found the management to be very helpful, friendly and welcoming and the room to be clean and tidy.

It was unfortunate that it was beside the kitchen and we thought the food smell would be a problem but there was more than enough ventilation for this not to be the case. Overall good value for money. We would gladly stay there again.

  • K Meru

  • September 2015

Crystal Lodge Hotel

Enjoyed staying at the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and obliging. The downside was limited car parking

  • N Phillips

  • July 2015

Do not book at this hell hole. Not one redeeming feature. Dreadful in every way!!!!

What an awful place.

The Crystal lodge has no right to call itself a hotel. It is a hovel. This was a dreadful experience from start to finish. We called earlier in the day to confirm that we were coming and that there was parking available. We were told by a man that there was a car park and the reception was manned 24hrs a day. After spending the day at Wimbledon, we arrived at 11:00 pm to find that the ‘car park’, which was in fact just the space in front of the hotel on the main road was full. There was only space for around 5/6 cars. George on reception explained that I would have to park my car in the car wash next door and that I would have to get up before 7:00 am to move it. I told him how utterly ridiculous this was and that he had told us that same day that there would be no problem parking in their ‘car park’. After finally getting inside and getting to our room we were shocked to find that we had been put into a broom-cupboard twin room with no washing facilities at all. This was despite clearly booking and confirming a double en-suite bedroom. I showed George the email confirming this and he said that he would sort it out in the morning as if we were an inconvenience and that this was completely acceptable way to treat paying guests. There were not even any towels in the room, though I was eventually able to negotiate some. We waited 15 minutes for the shared bathroom to be free, which we were not at all surprised to find was filthy. Slept, woke up to a ‘breakfast’ of a few slices of processed meat, a box of value cornflakes and a few pieces of fruit. Didn’t stay around for that. George told us that he couldn’t refund us and that only his boss could. So he called him. And he called him again, and again. Eventually he got a reply and we were refunded a single £10 note, which was apparently the difference between the room we booked and the hole we were shoved into. I don’t think I need to put into words my thoughts on this conclusion. We didn’t want to spend a second longer in the place so we left to find some food that was edible. In summary: no car park, lying and apathetic staff, no towels, dirty facilities, inedible breakfast. What a hell hole. Avoid at all costs. £15 would be too much to pay to spend a night in this dump.

  • Keith S

  • June 2015

Adequate for the price

Centrally located, Clean but a bit noisey on the main road.

low on the maintenance front, dicky power points, shower drain only just working. Thornton Heath Interesting area in walking distance to railway station.

  • bernard holding

  • April 2015


room very small.

no coffee or tea.

  • Steve S

  • March 2015


I arrived and checked in, got my key and headed off to my room.

But I couldn't get in as it was locked from the inside. I could hear the tv and water running. There was someone actually using the shower in my room. He should have used the communal bathroom down the hall, but decided it was OK to use the one in my room instead. The guy from reception was very embarrassed as he couldn't get my intruder to come out. I had to go away and come back later after they had got him out and cleaned the room again. So, I eventually got in room. Lovely clean modern bathroom, with top quality finish, but let down miserably by the shower, which was barely more than a dribble, literally (probably why the intruder took so long). Had to wait ages for hot water to come though. Sink was the same. The bedrooms look lovely in the photos, and they are, clean etc. But my bed had a cheep & nasty mattress, felt every spring. My room, a double, was tiny. The double bed literally touched three walls. So if you don't mind sleeping by the wall and climbing over your partner to get in and out of bed then you will be fine. I didn't try the food.

  • A Tortice

  • March 2015

The Crystal Lodge Hotel

Entrance was beautiful, room was spacious.

Curtains didn't meet in the middle, decor could do with a fresh coat of paint, main double bed not as comfortable as I would have liked. Breakfast was a 'help yourself' and not at the time stated. However, the owners were extremely pleasant, allowing me to park my car all day while I was in the capital. Very good value for money. I wouldn't stay here again but only because I found it to be further away from the city than I had expected.

  • Cheryl G

  • March 2015

Well thought out

This isn't the nicest building, most sophisticated or best appointed hotel, but staff are extremely polite and helpful and the owners have a good understanding of the needs of people living away from home.

  • k palmer

  • February 2015

The Crystal Lodge Hotel

Room was tired and dirty.

It was more like a homeless shelter than a hotel room.

  • robert davidson

  • February 2015

Not as advertised

I had to pay cash-surcharge even for DebitCard AND got no receipt(tax dodge???)

TV didn't work-Explanation"no aerial in your room(10)"

No wash-basin in room as advertised

I'd have complained before leaving but there was no one around