No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crystal Lodge Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
49, Brigstock Road , Thornton Heath, CR77JH
The Crystal Lodge Hotel is a well established hotel in Thornton Heath only 7 minutes away from the center of Croydon. Being very close to the high street means you are never far away from a variety of shops and restaurants, some of the bigger brands include Tesco, M&S, Matalan, John Lewis, TKMAX, Next, PC world...., pubs and Night Clubs
We are a very well presented Bed & Breakfast Hotel that has been welcoming guests for the last 15 years. As a small Bed & Breakfast we offer a warm welcome to all our guests, providing all what you need to feel that you are coming from home to home. As we have Rooms with Garden view with nice seating area to enjoy the good weather having a glass of wine also you could enjoy making BBQs, as we have some rooms with direct access to the garden.
We have a very friendly Lounge room, fully equipped kitchen to use, and well presented Garden.
Picture of The Crystal Lodge Hotel, Thornton Heath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Room was tidy and warm shower was new but could of had a bit more pressure
Pleased overall

Reviewed by
Guy A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

omg worked had booked , i turned up and thought my boss was having laugh
There was rats , a rubbish trip in the back garden right in front of the patio doors , we only stayed one night , even though we booked for two , you need to take this off your web site .....

Reviewed by
Lee J

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The crystal lodge b+b was more bed than breakfast.this b n b while the room itself was adequate the breakfast was non existent . The breakfast room was so small four people would fill it .when we were there the TV didn't work and in fairness they got us a different one. There was an element of confusion no one knew what the other was doing. The place was being renovated so I can understand some choas

Reviewed by
martin Barwell

From cloyne, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful small hotel
t was wonderful stay, everything was clean, friendly staff and very helpful , large room and comfortable bed .

Reviewed by
A Andrew

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

safe and comfy hotel
I stayed one night in room 4 it was great staying , the staff were very helpful and friendly, the location of this hotel made our staying very nice we managed to do a lot of shopping, the room was very clean

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's a rogue business. Do no stay here
We booked the hotel looking for a place near Croydon. 45 GNP for the night was lucrative but what hollowed was a nightmare. Before leaving the home we called the hotel , the person in the other end could hardly understand English,. We reached there at 8 pm. To our horror the hotel manager said to us that there is no vacancy in his hotel and took us to the hotel next door and gave us very very very filthy room, bathroom was stinking , carpet was filthy , no one could stay I the room. When I protested he told me he have only this room. We called late rook. Customer care but they refused to entertain my request. At the end had to book another hotel. This is a rogue business. PleS do not book it

Reviewed by
A Kumar

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and warm welcoming hotel
clean room, friendly staff, the breakfast was really great and safe area and safe hotel, the shared bathrooms were been cleaned every single hour, it was easy to park my car at the hotel car park , it is small hotel but clean and safe and the location is great it is about 5 minutes walk to Thornton heath train station.

Reviewed by
Henery M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Notification given too late.
We had difficulty in finding the hotel and rang them for directions. They could'nt tell us as they couldn't speak english. The hotel was in very bad part of Thorton Heath and we felt unsafe.
Upon our arrival at the hotel/guest house we found out that we had no accommodation booked.
At that point Late rooms text had not been received and I had not been notified that my card had been declined until we reached the property.
Therefore my 2 friends and I had no where to stay, and in a bad area of croydon.
If this notification had come earlier we would of made alternative arrangements.
I put 3 people in a vulnerable and dangerous position.
The manger at the hotel could nt speak english and so just said no booking , no room. Which made no sense to me at the time as my notification email from Late Rooms had said the booking was confirmed.
So therefore I would not recommend you or this hotel to anyone.
Heather Hunt

Reviewed by
Heather Hunt

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for the money!
I traveled to London this past weekend (September 2014). I was aith two other girls. We are all 21. We were aiming for cheap and The Crystal Lodge Hotel achieves that! Customer service was fantastic! Very nice and willing to help. 2 min walk fro the Thorton Heath train station, which comes very handy because Thorton Heath is not a nice area at all. You are safe the second you arrive at the Crystal Losge though. They always keep the door locked and will have someone available 24 hours to let you in. The room was big for us three, we all had our own bed and a shower in the room. They are working on fixing the place up and it looks like the bottom floor is almost done. Once this is done, I don't think a single complaint could be made. The only thing I could recommend is understand the area. You are not paying a fortune and to be two minutes from a train station where it is a straight shot to the Victoria Underground Station (half hour ride) it is well worth it! The breakfast in the morning is hostel style, but they have options and being young, and staying in a few hostels at this point, this was the best breakfast I have had.

Reviewed by
Haylee F

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Entrance to hotel was like a building site inside, timber,paint tins etc on floor. Room was small but ok. Walls very thin could clearly hear tv next door. Shared shower toilet not clean. Towel was stained and had hole in it

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next