You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Crystal Lodge Hotel

3

49, Brigstock Road, Thornton Heath, CR77JH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (41)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • V Joseph

  • May 2016

The carpet was dirty,stains,and old you need to put a wooden floor. Shower needs renovation too

Costumer service was very good The Lodge Hotel was okay ,food was fine and very good location for transport and shops .

  • K Clarke

  • May 2016

Don't be put off by the other reviews...

I booked this hotel primarily because it was cheap and near the train station.

I did my usual trick of not reading the reviews until after I'd booked and came very close to cancelling based on what I read on here and trip adviser. I'm really glad I didn't. The staff are friendly, the rooms ARE clean (sure there's a few scuff marks on the walls, but I'm not going to class that as dirty). The room was small (I booked a single bed room, but ended up in a twin), but this isn't a spa resort hotel - it's a place to rest your head at night. To the person who complained there was only a blanket and sheet on the bed - look in the wardrobe, spare pillows and a duvet. As I was in a single room, I had to use the shared bathrooms. There are two toilets and two full bathrooms. You can tell they're shared, but they were clean enough overall - you can't expect them to clean it everytime anyone goes in there. I had no issues with people up all night. I could hear the traffic, but that's because I didn't close the window and it's on a main road. The breakfast is what it says - a continental breakfast. Remember, the continent is a big place. Not everyone has croissants and pastries. Cereal, bread, hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, juice, coffee (yes, instant, but it's all caffeine) and tea. Sure, the ham was cheap, but look at the price of the hotel. What were people expecting. In addition, when I checked in at 7pm, they told me I was welcome to use the kitchen if I wanted to prepare an evening meal.

  • Deb Wrightson

  • April 2016

2nd time staying here

Very friendly and welcoming and great location.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • R Dunmore

  • April 2016

The Crystal Lodge Hotel

Pleased only stayed one night.

no wardrobe space. room too small. bed from wall to wall. toilet and shower not too bad but needs a lot doing to it. seat did not fit toilet. nowhere for toiletries. only small mirror in toilet. no chairs or table in bedroom. breakfast I have never had to help myself literally to. you may as well call it self catering. smell of Indian food on return. nothing like photos on line. OK suppose for a backpacker. will not be recommending this to anyone.

  • R Madden

  • March 2016

Enjoyable Stay

The accommodation was pleasant staff were friendly and helpful, room was suitable for what we wanted.

Breakfast was basic but overall good value for money.

  • M Johnson

  • October 2015

Would happily stay here again...

I found the management to be very helpful, friendly and welcoming and the room to be clean and tidy.

It was unfortunate that it was beside the kitchen and we thought the food smell would be a problem but there was more than enough ventilation for this not to be the case. Overall good value for money. We would gladly stay there again.

  • K Meru

  • September 2015

Crystal Lodge Hotel

Enjoyed staying at the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and obliging. The downside was limited car parking

  • N Phillips

  • July 2015

Do not book at this hell hole. Not one redeeming feature. Dreadful in every way!!!!

What an awful place.

The Crystal lodge has no right to call itself a hotel. It is a hovel. This was a dreadful experience from start to finish. We called earlier in the day to confirm that we were coming and that there was parking available. We were told by a man that there was a car park and the reception was manned 24hrs a day. After spending the day at Wimbledon, we arrived at 11:00 pm to find that the ‘car park’, which was in fact just the space in front of the hotel on the main road was full. There was only space for around 5/6 cars. George on reception explained that I would have to park my car in the car wash next door and that I would have to get up before 7:00 am to move it. I told him how utterly ridiculous this was and that he had told us that same day that there would be no problem parking in their ‘car park’. After finally getting inside and getting to our room we were shocked to find that we had been put into a broom-cupboard twin room with no washing facilities at all. This was despite clearly booking and confirming a double en-suite bedroom. I showed George the email confirming this and he said that he would sort it out in the morning as if we were an inconvenience and that this was completely acceptable way to treat paying guests. There were not even any towels in the room, though I was eventually able to negotiate some. We waited 15 minutes for the shared bathroom to be free, which we were not at all surprised to find was filthy. Slept, woke up to a ‘breakfast’ of a few slices of processed meat, a box of value cornflakes and a few pieces of fruit. Didn’t stay around for that. George told us that he couldn’t refund us and that only his boss could. So he called him. And he called him again, and again. Eventually he got a reply and we were refunded a single £10 note, which was apparently the difference between the room we booked and the hole we were shoved into. I don’t think I need to put into words my thoughts on this conclusion. We didn’t want to spend a second longer in the place so we left to find some food that was edible. In summary: no car park, lying and apathetic staff, no towels, dirty facilities, inedible breakfast. What a hell hole. Avoid at all costs. £15 would be too much to pay to spend a night in this dump.

Response from hotel

This is an unfair review and shouldn't be posted as it doesn't reflect the reality. First of all the guest arrived after

midnight and we thought that the guest is not coming, when he arrived the receptionist offered them a room very clean and well decorated but is not en-suite at price of £10 less than the one En-Suite, the guest was very happy and didn't complain. Regarding to parking his car as he came very late our car park was full, but we managed to park his can at our friends car park free of charge, so he can not complain about parking. Our shared bathrooms are cleaned every one hour and the hotel is newly

refurbished so the hotel is very clean. The breakfast very rich, how can they judge it and they didn't eat it only the have eaten some fruits, they went out happy and satisfy I do not know why they complained.

This review is unfair.

  • Keith S

  • June 2015

Adequate for the price

Centrally located, Clean but a bit noisey on the main road.

low on the maintenance front, dicky power points, shower drain only just working. Thornton Heath Interesting area in walking distance to railway station.

  • bernard holding

  • April 2015

basic

room very small.

no coffee or tea.