No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Horse

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
61 North Street, , , Ripon, HG4 1EN
A Warm welcome awaits you at... The White Horse Ripon - Bed & Breakfast, Guest House Accommodation. Based in Ripon, Yorkshire, the White Horse offers high quality bed and breakfast & guest house accommodation. Only 300 metres from Ripon's ancient market square, our guest house is ideally placed to explore the many delights the City has to offer. After relaxing in our bed and breakfast accommodation, Ripon offers; a host of museums, a bustling Thursday Market, and shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. There are beautiful walks along the Rivers Ure and Skell, the recently restored Canal Basin, and the jewel in the crown, Ripon Cathedral, are all within easy walking distance. From our Guest House, Ripon is ideally situated for visiting most of Yorkshire's racecourses. It is, of course the home of England's 'Garden Racecourse'. We specialise in catering for race-going groups and will be pleased to provide details of all meetings on request. Relax in our comfortable, recently refurbished bar. At weekends there is a full programme of entertainment starting on Thursday evening with our famous White Horse quiz. We also have a sports area for darts, dominoes and pool. Ripon is steeped in tradition. On the square every evening at 9:00pm the Ripon Hornblower sets the watch at the four corners of the obelisk. A short drive will take you to Fountains Abbey, one of Britain's premier World Heritage sites. Or you may like to try the thrilling rides at Lightwater Valley Theme Park.
Picture of The White Horse, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff
Fantastic rooms and the staff were brilliant very friendly and made for a pleasant stay, only complaint is that room 9 has a skylight in that doesn't have a blind so this woke me up at 4:45 which wasn't a nice experience if that was sorted the room and experimence couldn't have been better

Reviewed by
Andrew Fawkes

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent . Very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Joan Jones

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does what it says on the tin...

Reviewed by
R Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtyard room nice and quiet away from pub. Damp smell, but Clean and good facilities. Really appreciated the bottled water!
Couldn't park on arrival, but was directed to free parking over the road.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Rachel T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay in a great city
This is a noce place to stay in the centre of a great cityof Ripon in North Yorkshire; with the acccomodation above a busy pub and on a main road was concerned about the noise but need not have been I had a good nights sleep; given that I was given a twin room with single beds rather than the double room booked (Late Rooms was blamed for this when in fact it was the owners). For the price paid I was quite happy and would recommend this asa value for moany place to stay when in the area

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but dingy
The beds were comfortable and it was relatively clean but the toilet door stuck so we could hear the mascerator. The stairs were dimly lit and it was creepy. We all struggled with locking the rooms. Would have preferred the courtyard. It was just dingy and old and not suitable for more than one night where you just wanted a bed.

Reviewed by
Alison R

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly convenient location

Reviewed by
A Horne

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place for a short stay
The room was bigger than expected and bathroom was very nice. The only problem (only realized in the morning) was the window in the roof which had no blind so there was glaring sun over the bed. Breakfast was nice and very quick, you don't get a choice of what to have for the cooked breakfast but for the amount we paid it was spot on. You can hear absolutely everything that goes on outside so that's the reason I'd recommend for shorter stays. Staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
K Double

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't complain for the price paid
A nice little stop off whilst travelling north and very good location just off the A1, The premises are located just a little down the road from the main square in Ripon where you'll find further resturants and pubs. The accomodation itself is behind the pub in converted stables with the room i stayed in being small but adequate for the purpose of the visit, the lady in the pub is very nice and helpfull and the locals are more than happy to sit and chat the evening away. If I had anything to say negative it would be the musty smell on first entering the room, a solution would be to air the room prior to knowing guests are arriving, everything else was fine and for the price you pay you really cannot expect any more than what you get.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in transit
everything that was offered was superb, shame no evening meals, went to wetherspoons and had a brilliant meal, our landlord told me to wash my mouth out and do not mention wetherspoons, Sorry but I laughed at him because he did not do evening food!!!!

Reviewed by
john o

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next