No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bateman Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bateman Arms Shobdon, Leominster, HR69LX
Whether you are seeking accommodation for a short break or you are on business in North Herefordshire, the Bateman Arms is the place for you. Recently (May 2014) awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence that recognises our staffs welcoming, attitude and dedication to making your stay as pleasant as possible,the Bateman is centrally placed in Shobdon Village to take advantage of the beautiful and much fought over Marches area and walkers paradise. Thankfully the owners (Tracy & Simon) are focussed on giving you a much warmer welcome than the English gave the Welsh centuries ago. We offer a Public bar with dart boards, a comfortable Lounge bar and a Restaurant Room. Our kitchen prides itself on producing fabulous home cooked food with a modern twist, while using as locally a sourced produce as possible.

For accommodation we offer six well appointed, en suite rooms in the Stone Coach House situated in the large car park and adjacent to the Inn, while the large garden offers space for children to run off steam as Mum and Dad relax. Dog owners please note that there is a £10 a night surcharge per room per pooch however small and lovable it is. This covers the extra cleaning that is generally required. For those who want to eat with their dogs you are welcome but in the lower bar or garden areas only. We are not doggist as this policy applies to owners who bring bears, giraffes and other furry animals to the Bateman Arms.

Picture of The Bateman Arms, Leominster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bateman Arms
Very pleased will go back again.

Reviewed by
Stephen Richardson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely great
Could not fault the weekend break we had here, clean, great food, owners and staff were excellent, very friendly and all seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Nothing was too much trouble and will certainly go back again.

Reviewed by
L Adlington

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
All round excellent accommodation and good food.

Reviewed by
A Ellis

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
Spent one night at the Bateman and would not hesitate to recommend.Booking in on arrival met with friendly helpful staff, room was large very clean & comfortable, bar area welcomed our dog as well as us. Menu was varied and chef's specials & recommendations were excellent. All enjoyed our meals & service was excellent throughout the evening & value for money.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Cinderford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stop
Good food/good selection of beers/good service/charming chalet style roomx

Reviewed by
G Matthews

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super rooms, pity about the food choice.
"dog friendly". Yes but only when we received our booking confirmation did we find that there was a £10 charge. Only when we arrived, did we discover that dogs were only allowed in the public bar (where there just happened to be a darts match on). Not the best situation to sit as a couple and have a meal. When we went dogless into the saloon bar to eat, there were only a handful of us in there and no other diners. Other pubs we have stayed in, dogs are allowed in saloon bars (but maybe not restaurants).
When we arrived and were shown our room we were told that the heating would be coming on "any time now". Twice during the course of the evening we told staff that there was no heating still. By the time that we returned to the room after eating, it was on.
The menu was very limited and then we were told that 2 mains were not available that night. Chef - "sorry but we are changing the menu tonight". (?!?). With all the blackboard space available, it would have been nice to have seen some specials. We eventually ordered fish & chips which was very good. Possibly the best chips we have ever eaten anywhere.
Breakfast superb.
Overall, good value for money.
Would we stay again? Possibly. Would we recommend to a friend? Possibly.

Reviewed by
john w

From aberporth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly
Lovely room, clean and warm, we were given fresh milk which was nice although there were plenty of cartons in the room. Nice toiletries for you to use. Pub food excellent and price was reasonable. Staff very friendly and the breakfast (cooked) was smashing. Well done

Reviewed by
M TUNBRIDGE

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and comfortable with a nice ensuite bathroom with plenty of hot water. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was very good. As we were up early the next morning before a cooked breakfast was served, we were provided with a tray breakfast in our room and a packed lunch. Fantastic.

Reviewed by
Steve Potter

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend
We were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to our very comfortable room carrying fresh milk and home made cake.Our evening meal was excellent and our breakfasts were very tasty.
We will return again next year.

Reviewed by
Keith D

From Winslow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel with good service. Excellent food. Apart from somewhat hard beds, no worries about the rooms. Well positioned for touring this interesting area..

Reviewed by
joseph l

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next