No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bateman Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bateman Arms Shobdon, Leominster, HR69LX
Whether you are seeking accommodation for a short break or you are on business in North Herefordshire, the Bateman Arms is the place for you. Recently (May 2014) awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence that recognises our staffs welcoming, attitude and dedication to making your stay as pleasant as possible,the Bateman is centrally placed in Shobdon Village to take advantage of the beautiful and much fought over Marches area and walkers paradise. Thankfully the owners (Tracy & Simon) are focussed on giving you a much warmer welcome than the English gave the Welsh centuries ago. We offer a Public bar with dart boards and Sky TV, a comfortable Lounge bar and a Restaurant. Our kitchen prides itself on producing fabulous home cooked food with a modern twist, while using as locally a sourced produce as possible.

For accommodation we offer six well appointed, en suite rooms in the Stone Coach House situated in the large car park and adjacent to the Inn, while the large garden offers space for children to run off steam as Mum and Dad relax.
Picture of The Bateman Arms, Leominster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend
We were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to our very comfortable room carrying fresh milk and home made cake.Our evening meal was excellent and our breakfasts were very tasty.
We will return again next year.

Reviewed by
Keith D

From Winslow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel with good service. Excellent food. Apart from somewhat hard beds, no worries about the rooms. Well positioned for touring this interesting area..

Reviewed by
joseph l

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it there

Reviewed by
steve r

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely with the exception that there was not a proper shower. A request was made for wine, flowers and balloons to be left in the room, this was ignored.
The food was very nice but extremely small portions for the money.
We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast was inconsistent, different portions and the toast was served after the breakfast (which is not usually the case as most people I know want this with their breakfast whether they are having fried bread or not).
Due to the above I would not be inclined to stay there again

Reviewed by
B Leese

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation excellent, rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast menu was diverse and quality of food was very good. Good selection of food on the evening menu, which was all very tasty. Customer service was great. Would definitely stay again and would recommend this property to others.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good would stay there again
The owner Tracy was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
John D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a meal on the saturday night, which was excellent. would definetley return to the Bateman Arms again when in the area.

Reviewed by
s cooper

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable country pub
Comfortable bedroom in converted stable block. Very good value.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Longhope, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a night stop-over-lovely food on menu and nice atmosphere-used by locals -that says it all
Stopped over on way back home from holiday to break the journey. Room over in converted building at rear of car park in a block of 4. All efforts had been made to make the rooms look clean and comfortable and nicely furnished.However the shower was difficult to operate and the first few minutes were quite amusing trying to find some warm water but after 5 minutes it was not so funny. The fixing had come off the front of the tap and water leaked out-it needs a bit of TLC.
People gather in the Smoking shelter at the side of the building and chatter loudly so you feel like you need to close the blind and leave the window shut so you don't hear their complete life histories with choice swear words thrown in every other sentence. I am glad I didn't have a young child with me so I did not have to explain the meaning of some of the words spoken.
I mentioned this as I am not a frequent pub user and am non-smoker but I do appreciate they are daily customers and I am an occasional one who comes for a good food experience and a lovely stop over. I cannot fault the evening menu- I chose whitebait,pork with cider sauce and cheesecake and they were very good-especially the cheesecake! I will remember that for a long time! I wish I could suggest an alternative location of the smoking area but there doesn't seem to be one.
Breakfast was a little limited although we had been asked if we wanted a full English breakfast the evening before but maybe a yoghurt/fruit or Danish pastry/croissant option would have been nice or wait until the morning to see what people fancy-a breakfast menu would be helpful so you could have an idea what else was available.
Lots of local people had come out to eat which was nice to see and is a very positive sign on the food/beer/atmosphere side of things.
A popular place-go try it for yourself!

Reviewed by
CAROLE ELLIS

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Great location, great place. Will stay here again soon.

Reviewed by
John M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next