Reviews - Leeford Place Hotel


Mill Lane, Whatlington Road,, Battle, TN33 0ND

Price From 160.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • stuart hill

  • September 2015

A relaxing break

This hotel is in a very peaceful location, well-situated for visiting tourist places in the area (Battle, Hastings, Rye etc.).

It specialises in weddings (two a week on average they say). The arrangements for these looked superb. The room was OK, but not double-glazed - lots of condensation on the windows in the morning. Heating excellent. Could not get the hot tap in wash basin to produce a regular water supply, but no problem with the bath - lots of very hot water. Small wardrobe for two people, but with loads of hangers. VERY comfortable bed. Staff personnel changed every day, but all very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast items meagre but OK - fried breakfasts good. Evening meals basically pub food - chef seemed to make only occasional visits to the hotel. Surprised to be asked to pay for the whole stay on arrival, but the hotel has evidently had problems with absconders. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Nicole J

  • July 2015

An Honest and Fair Review

We had a function to go to so booked the hotel the week before for its location to that.

We checked in and went to our room, and we noticed that the hotel needed a complete renovation all the way through, as it was very dated. There was paper coming off the walls in places, and general scuffs everywhere, the curtains were all faded and shabby looking. The hotel needs a full deep clean from top to bottom as there were dead flies on the window sils in our room and the restaurant and the amount of dirt behind one of the settees in bar was disgusting. The floor had crisps and nuts and confetti in all the corners, like they could not be bothered to sweep them away. A great disappointment... I asked if I could have room service, but was told that they did not do room service, even though it clearly states it on trip adviser, and also on late rooms, but on request. If I am a paying guest at the hotel I expect to be able to get room service if it is advertised.

We stayed in a double en-suite room which cost £95.00, which I felt was overpriced for the amenities that were available at the hotel. There weren't any.

  • Jenny B

  • June 2015

Leeford Place Hotel

Staff very pleasant and obliging, my only concerns were 1.

finding a 13.5tog quilt on the bed in midsummer which we had to remove to get some sleep text on TV despite having a button on handset,otherwise enjoyable.

  • Janet S

  • January 2015

Excellent two night stay

I had a friendly welcome.

The standard was that of a four star hotel. It was a Large ensuite bedroom with a comfortable bed. Inwas very clean. The hotel is situated in A very peaceful part of Battle in good grounds. No traffic. The food was excellent. It was very good value. The staff seemed genuinely interested in having a chat. All of the staff were so pleasant. Nothing seemed too much. I would like to go back again One day.

  • s merry

  • November 2014

Friendly Service

Greeted and served in a friendly and helpful manner, with good information on the available facilities.

Room 2 which we were in is well appointed with a comfortable bed. Could do with a bit of oil on the hinges. TV reception poor and a radio would be a useful addition.

  • Paul S

  • September 2014

What a disaster how they can charge £90 for a grubby, run down place is beyond belief.

The gardens could be lovely but they are unkempt and full of weeds.

The stairs are stained, carpets filthy and dirty marks on the walls and around the door locks. Our room had the flush button on the toilet missing. The conservatory where food was served had black mould on the timber flooring and the sausages were microwaved for breakfast!!. Awful.

  • A Rose

  • August 2014

peace and quiet

Our room was lovely looking over the gardens so peaceful.

Room was clean and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Steve D

  • August 2014

An enjoyable stay

Friendly and obliging management and staff.

Great setting and surrounding area. Comfortable accommodation.

  • jeffrey green

  • August 2014

last minute trip

this is an excellent no frills no ballshit hotel offering a secluded spot only minutes by car from battle and hastings.

The staff were the friendliest I have ever encountered and I have travelled around the world. Good basic food and value for money,we will certainly visit again when in the area, stay here and you can,t go wrong. Thanks to all for an enjoyable stay. Jeff and Ljudmila.

  • anthony h

  • July 2014

Lovely quiet location & friendly.

Lovely quiet location away from main road.

Very welcoming and helpful on arrival. Room was pleasant with nice view across the garden, good sized bathroom with good powerful shower. We could not get Wi-Fi in our room and although receptionist very helpful in trying downstairs we were not able to connect - but may have been problem with our lap-top. Full English Breakfast was hot and good, we were the only ones in dining room & it might have been nice if staff had re-appeared & offered us some more coffee.