No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Derby Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Great Urswick, , , Ulverston, LA12 OSP
The Derby Arms is situated in the beautiful village of Great Urswick, close to the market town of Ulverston and the Lake District. A lovely old pub with log fire in the winter and sunny terrace in summer,we offer four en suite bedrooms in a separate stable block and a warm welcome from staff and locals. Great Urswick is the perfect base to explore the little known Furness peninsular with its coastal walks,moorland and rich ancient history away from the crowds of the major tourist destinations.However,the villages of Windermere, Bowness and Coniston and a short drive away. We look forward to introducing guests to this special area and feel sure it will not be your last visit to The Derby.
Picture of Derby Arms, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay in a friendly, welcoming cosy pub. Just what we were looking for!
We really enjoyed our stay at the derby arms and I'm sure we'll return next time we're in the area. Steve tge owner works hard to be welcoming and to ensure you are comfortable. A little gem!

Reviewed by
K English

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location & friendly hosts
We had a lovely weekend stay. Friendly hosts. The room was small but had everything we wanted. The bed was a too soft for me, but I would stay there again. Had a fantastic gourmet dinner at General Burgoyne pub down the road (very easy walking distance).

Reviewed by
Joanne B

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place
Had a lovely time made very welcome, room was clean and cosy. Breakfast was nice would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
s andrews

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome after camping hardships
Steve could not do enough over the two days I stayed, he even drew me a map for my walk to Ulverston. Accommodation is clean and comfortable, best bedding I have enjoyed for a long time. The pub is right next door and is great, local regulars very friendly and the beer is good. What more could you ask for after camping for three days? Cannot fault it.

Reviewed by
Jon H

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but perfectly formed!
On arrival which was quite late we had to enter the through the pub which was quite busy with local drinkers who were having some sort of pool competition. Everyone was instantly friendly and welcoming which made us feel very comfortable from the off. We were attended to right away and were soon settled into a very nice cosy room. The sachets of hot chocolate and shortbread biscuits were a tasty addition to the usual tea/coffee facillities that you usually get at other establishments.

Reviewed by
L Armstrong

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Place
Pleasant surroundings and a warm welcome. Good local draught beers. Breakfast was great. Mobile phone is poor on T - mobile, Orange or O2. No evening meals but takeaway can be ordered and eaten in bar. Food at local pub 400yds away is OK but very expensive!

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service from our hosts

Reviewed by
M Mcburnie

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality & Value
B&B accommodation is in "The Stables" building adjacent to the pub, so is private and quiet.
We had an upstairs double room which was clean, comfortable, well-maintained and nicely decorated. The ensuite had a good shower.
Breakfast was tasty and the customer service excellent - we were made very welcome throughout the stay.
Charges are very reasonable and overall great value for money.
The pub itself has a lovely atmosphere and Great Urswick is a pretty village, handy for the coast or Lakes.

Reviewed by
Cathryn B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

M Carlin
Very enjoyable short stay

Reviewed by
Michael Carlin

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They couldn't do more for you!
Steve & Sally were lovely, they bent over backwards to accommodate us (popping out to ensure we had the tipple of our choice when they ran out etc.!)
The clientele were great, genuinely nice, helping out with taxi tel nos. and glad to have a friendly chat with us.
Recommend them definitely!

Reviewed by
Julie Garner

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next