No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - keepers cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Keepers Cottage , Penrith, CA102DE
Keeper's Cottage is a 250 year old gamekeepers cottage, once part of the Brougham Hall estate. We are surrounded by open fields and trees with distant views of the Lake District hills on one side, and the Penine hills on the other.

Ideally situated on a quiet country lane, we are only two miles from the market town of Penrith and the M6 motorway, one mile from the nearest pub which serves very good food and is a pleasant walk away, and five miles from Ullswater.

Enjoy breakfast in our large sunny conservatory surrounded by period furniture and interesting antiques.

Less than a mile away is historic Brougham Castle, an English Hertage site on the banks of the River Eamont which is well worth a visit. World famous Wetheriggs Pottery is close by also, where you can "throw your own pot!"

We are situated at the end of one of the most scenic and spectacular routes in England, recently voted one of the top five in the world. If you want to explore our beautiful country lanes and cycle paths we have bikes available for you to hire.
Picture of keepers cottage, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

keepers cottage
nice and friendly owners,room clean but badly in need of updating although owners stated that they were going to redecorate, breakfast ok

Reviewed by
j jones

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expected better
Quaint building near lovely historical sites, had twin bedroom on ground floor , the bed was comfy and bedding clean but the room needed updating and a really good spring clean as there were lot of cobwebs about the place, went to put some clothes in the chest of drawers but couldn't as drawers were full of wrapping paper! Breakfast was served in the large conservatory which was a bit chilly, and not the cleanest of places, found hairs in sugar bowl and tea cups! breakfast wasn't brilliant and had barely finished eating cereals when cooked breakfast arrived. To sum up the hosts were pleasant, the room was tired and in need of a thorough clean, we felt this stay was not good value for money definitely over priced, wouldn't recommend it.

Reviewed by
Kev C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky & Quaint
This is a lovely quirky and quaint B & B which is appropriate for couples. I stayed with my daughter in the twin room which was very quaint. Lovely beds and nice shower and toilet ensuite. The breakfast was lovely and the owner was quite happy to accommodate my daughter with egg and soldiers (even though she is 25years old). Very friendly owners whilst not intrusive. Really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Hull, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
Off the beaten track house on a quiet country lane. The double room is in a self contained first floor. Clean, tidy and a comfortable bed. Excellent well cooked breakfast. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
J Campbell

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and friendly welcome in a nice area of Cumbria. Ground floor accommodation, comfortable and homely. Ideal for travelling the north lakes

Reviewed by
Ian E

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun walk to pub.
Hosts were lovely and friendly. Fun walk through a crop field to the local pub. Pretty and quaint room. Breakfast was very nice and served in a large conservatory where you could watch the birds in the morning.

Reviewed by
nina e

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room but BIG Map error
Lovely room in the attic, harder to find than neccessary as late rooms map shows location as near lazonby, which i knew from childhood; went to lazonby before looking up final route instructions only to find that b & b is south of penrith, not north. Wasted over an hour and a half. Local pub didn't sell food past 9 pm so not happy on arrival. Good cumbrian pint helped to ease the strain!

Reviewed by
William J

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keepers Cottage
Good accommodation, a little tricky to find if you follow your sat nav, follow the written instructions instead. Room was very nice with a good view. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Neil Foster

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit.
This cottage is a little tricky to find but well worth it. We spent a comfortable night in a lovely room and enjoyed a hearty breakfast. The hosts were friendly and efficient. We intend staying again in the future.

Reviewed by
David Rogers

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic quirky find
What a fab little place in a superb location. The building is lovely and the room we had in the roof with velux windows was gorgeous. The owners are lovely people and really made us feel at home. Breakfast was fantastic too. Freshly cooked with local produce. Had a wonderful stay and can't recommend this place highly enough. Thank you so much.

Reviewed by
John G

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next