No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cowshed

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Elm lodge Farmhouse High Street, Wappenham, NN12 8WJ
A converted barn in rural Northamptonshire offers a peaceful retreat in private rooms each with an ensuite bath and shower.
Breakfast is made from locally sourced ingredients.
Our location is perfectly located for walking, cycling and country pubs whilst access to the M1 and M40 is easy making it the ideal stop over for business or pleasure.
Silverstone Race track is just 4 miles away and we are not far from Stowe School and National Trust Gardens, Whittlebury Golf Club, Canons Ashby and Sulgrave Manor to name a few local places of interest. Bicester Shopping Village is just 30 minutes away and Waddesden Manor a little further. .Please note the postcode to bring you right to the barn is NN12 8WJ.
Picture of The Cowshed, Wappenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Sleep! Shame about the little things.
Lovely rural setting and a great canine welcome which was great as we were already missing our 6 dogs! I initially thought that £85 per night was a tad expensive but after viewing the reviews we decided it would be worth it for the one night. For £85 one expects everything to be spot on including a warm room on arrival - the room was very cold and therefore unwelcoming and I suggest that the heating is put on 2-hours prior to the 4pm arrival. No cups were present in the room for coffee or tea, only one small milk to be shared between the 2 rooms was in the fridge and one of the wine glasses had a chip out of the base. The Radox bath soap was low and only just enough for one bath and the same for the shower gel. The tissue box was empty and only one half used loo roll was available. Cobwebs behind the large beam had also been there for sometime. Little things like this make the difference and especially when paying a high price so perhaps the cleaner needs to be briefed fully on what is expected?

Reviewed by
Roy B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time b&b
Excellent room and helpful host

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Wedding Night!
We stayed at The Cowshed for our wedding night, and could not have picked a more perfect place. Our room was beautiful, spotless with lovely quirky decorative touches. Our en-suite was immaculate with a gorgeous claw-footed bathtub and a great shower. Charlotte was lovely and very helpful and our breakfast was delicious. We thoroughly recommend The Cowshed to anyone.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Accomodation
A beautiful converted barn - very comfortable and clean in every aspect. Tea, coffee and water facilities provided.

Reviewed by
D WILLIAMS

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our Cow Shed experience
Well presented accommodation and very comfortable with a friendly hostess who ensured we had everything we needed for our weekend. We throughly enjoyed our stay and the bedroom was decorated to a very high standard, bathroom was also fitted out to a very high standard. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
the nearest pub is a car ride away.

Reviewed by
j ball

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cowshed B&B
This accommodation has everything that you could need from a B&B. The room is tastefully decorated and features good quality fixtures and fittings. Good shower and stable Wi-Fi. Breakfast was great and Charlotte was friendly and helpful. Location is also a strong point. 4 miles from A43. Peaceful rural location with pretty gardens.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely countryside B&B
This was the perfect location for our weekend getaway. The room was very clean & comfortable and extremely nicely decorated, with all everything you'd expect. The breakfast was generous and very tasty. The room is a good distance from the family home so there's plenty of privacy.
Make sure you read the directions on the website - - the B&B is a little hard to find from its address.

Reviewed by
Bruce B

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect after a long day
We stayed here during the Silverstone classic weekend. Accommodation was spot on, and no problem with our late arrival. Made welcome by all, including family pets! Would definitely recommend and book again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Julie G

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
We booked our stay at The Cowshed as it was convenient but feel that we found a bit of a gem. We were met by a friendly cat and dog and this welcome continued with the arrival of the owner, Charlotte.
The room was lovely; the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of tea/coffee and milk in a little fridge by the door. The bathroom was well stocked with shower cream, bath soak, soap, shampoo, conditioner, towels and a bath robe.
Whilst there is no pub/restaurant in the village for evening meals, Charlotte recommended The Crown which was a short drive away/in walkable distance. The staff there were friendly and the food good.
Breakfast the next morning was good, prepared fresh as we arrived.
All in all we had a great stay and would highly recommend. If we return to the area and need a room to stay we would hope that there is a room available to stay at The Cowshed.

Reviewed by
Zena M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality, tasteful, peaceful, relaxing,friendly accommodation
What a stunning place The Cowshed is. Everything we wanted and more. The days we were there were very hot, yet the thick stone walls kept our room cool and comfortable. After a days motorbike tuition at Silverstone it was so nice to come back and unwind in the deep rolled top bath and then relax in the courtyard watching the wildlife go about their business. Standards are high at The Cowshed, Charlotte did us a lovely packed lunch as we were out way too early for breakfast (6am) Our final day we experienced her lovely breakfast in the beautiful main house. Everything here was just perfect for us and we will definitely use the accommodation again. Will we recommended to our friends, hmmmm difficult one, as that would mean that when we want to stay there again they may have got in and booked it first. Highly recommend !!!

Reviewed by
debbie hyde

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next