No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cowshed

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Elm lodge Farmhouse High Street, Wappenham, NN12 8WJ
A converted barn in rural Northamptonshire offers a peaceful retreat in private rooms each with an ensuite bath and shower.
Breakfast is made from locally sourced ingredients.
Our location is perfectly located for walking, cycling and country pubs whilst access to the M1 and M40 is easy making it the ideal stop over for business or pleasure.
Silverstone Race track is just 4 miles away and we are not far from Stowe School and National Trust Gardens, Whittlebury Golf Club, Canons Ashby and Sulgrave Manor to name a few local places of interest. Bicester Shopping Village is just 30 minutes away and Waddesden Manor a little further. .Please note the postcode to bring you right to the barn is NN12 8WJ.
Picture of The Cowshed, Wappenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rustic charm
We really loved this B&B. A real country retreat with French farmhouse decor. My husband was unwell on arrival and we were more than well looked after by Charlotte and her husband.

Reviewed by
Susan MacGregor

From Aberdeeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Countryside getaway
A beautifully decorated and furnished b&b in the heart of the Northamptonshire countryside. We stayed here before going to the Grand Prix at Silverstone and it was the perfect hideaway! The bed was so comfy and breakfast was perfectly cooked, not greasy or heavy like full English can often be. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
J Reid

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Very characterful and comfortable room. We loved the decor, bed and pillows (very important for good night's sleep). Breakfast was good and served at a time to suit the guest. Situated in a pretty village and we would definitely return if back in the area.

Reviewed by
valerie h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Very nice stay a real treat.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely :)
We ended up staying here last minute literally booked at half past 9 on the night we stayed, the host was lovely as was the room, amazing bath!! Would recommend to anyone was a beautiful place, thanks again x

Reviewed by
K Phipps

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, tranquil little haven .
Spotless, comfortable accommodation that managed to encompass all the luxuries that make a stay enjoyable. Close to main routes yet a peaceful, little bolthole .

Reviewed by
richard fitzgeorge

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous B&B, lovely host - 10 minutes from Silverstone!
I stayed last minute at the Cow Shed the night before an event at Silverstone Race Track and I'm really glad I stumbled across it! Charlotte the owner greeted me warmly and made sure I had everything I needed. The design of the room (part of a two room annex barn conversion) was gorgeously done and I think couples would really appreciate it despite being on my own! The room was cosy and immaculate with full coffee facilities.
Breakfast in the morning was inside the main house cooked to order and very nice indeed. An absolute bargain considering the quality and location.

Reviewed by
John L

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cowshed....anything but...
Despite the name which is a play on words, this converted cowshed was a lovely wee place to stay. We stayed here for two nights, Charlotte is a fabulous host who goes out her way to be very welcoming and friendly also she makes a yummy breakfast to set you up for the day.
Although, the area is small, we did walk into the local village - The Crown Inn for drinks and a bite to eat then had Silverstone which was a short trip away. The Cowshed is handy and turns out very popular with others guests who were also going to Silverstone as Charlotte and the other couple staying in the other room told us.
I would recommend this place to anyone and should be venturing this way again, you can bet we'll book in again.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful and relaxing
A lovely place to return after working nearby. Room was well furnished and equipped with very fast wifi. Breakfast was lovely and served in the main house, where Charlotte was friendly and welcoming. For me, the only down side was the poor phone signal in the village on EE network.

Reviewed by
K Walker

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet and pleasant stay
We were here for the classic car 'Drive it ay' starting at Silverstone, so it's very conveniently situated. The room was a very good size with modern quality fittings - it has character derived from the old barn - eg beams. The bed is very comfortable and the area is very quiet. You go into the main farmhouse for the breakfast. Hints - you can't walk to a pub/restaurant so need to use the car and you should book a table ahead - our stay was a Saturday so one pub was booked out and the other very crowded but they squeezed us in.

Reviewed by
D Stephenson

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next