No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metro Inns Walsall

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham rd , Brimingham, WS5 3AB
Budget hotel offering superb double and twin ensuite rooms at affordable prices.Free Wi Fi and Free parking. Dining room with bar and breakfast available upon request at £5.95 per person.
All rooms have their own ensuite bathroom TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Picture of Metro Inns Walsall, Brimingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not stay here again
Was greeted by friendly receptionist on arrival and first impression of room was that it was quite chic. Then I realised that it had no wardrobe or hair dryer. It wasn't until I was disturbed by a very loud group of men trying to get into the room next door at 11.45 that I realised that it did not have a telephone either. So I was unable to call security or reception and as a lone female was not inclined to confront them myself. The walls were paper thin and I could hear every word and worse still every bodily function. There was a large satellite TV on the wall, which looked good but unfortunately said there was no signal for BBC1, and every other channel that I attempted to watch suffered from an interrupted signal losing the picture completely from time to time. I would have watched the TV on my iPad but the advertised free wi Fi didn't work either. This was not an expensive hotel and I have reflected that in my scores but I have stayed in much better hotels in Birmingham for about the same price.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No problems pleasant stay good breakfast

Reviewed by
J Ward

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel for a basic price. Don't eat the food.
For £33 you get what you pay for - I admit the place was more smoothly run when it was a travelodge, but we had beds, a functional bathroom and the room was clean. Customer service can be a little hit and miss. Give the dining room a miss though - the food is not great and you are better off going to Wetherspoons for breakfast (or anywhere else, tbh). We stay here because the location is convenient and it has parking.

Reviewed by
Cecilia T

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price, good quality
For the price it was great, no problems, good service, no bad points

Reviewed by
J Attwood

From gloucester , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed stay, only probably was early checkout time being 10am can't complain though as breakfast was only served til 10

Reviewed by
R Evans

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent accomadation for the money
At £34 for a twin room i dont suppose you can be that fussy. The room was clean and tidy all be it a little behind the times. But at £17 a head we just wanted somewhere to have a shower, some decent food and a clean bed. All of which was provided.

Reviewed by
craig b

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay. Room was bigger than expected and very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
barry price

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't be much worse
We arrived to find the approach to the hotel coevered in rubbish. The entrance was offputting with dirty doors and the outside floor covered in cigarette butts. Not a good first impression. The receptionist was nice but the inside of the building wasn't. The suspended ceiling had loose hanging tiles and was stained. The door would not open. There were no instructions on the card or the door. We got a refund and left. It was the worst hotel I've ever seen. It should be closed.

Reviewed by
andre v

From old newton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Impressed
The hotel looks like a work in progress although little evidence of any work. The room was very basic, the beds tiny singles. The TV worse than useless. Bathroom was just about acceptable with the shower similar to a watering can. The bar area was acceptable, the meal in the evening OK. The breakfast however was a disgrace - said to be served until 1000HRS. I was in a 0845 and everything was dried up - the scrambled egg like rubber - I'm trying to be polite but it is very difficult to be so. I had pre-paid for my breakfast but didn't want to even try the food it looked like something I could not politely explain. I will not go anywhere near the place again!

Reviewed by
Steve Whitney

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Basic.
Barely any staff around to speak to, took ages to get checked in as the place looked deserted. Girl on the bar was lovely however girl on reception could not have been less accommodating if she tried. Room very, very basic - not to mention freezing. There was a tiny heater which barely worked, and the TV didn't work either. Nobody around when checking out again in the morning.

Reviewed by
L Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next