No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metro Inns Walsall

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham rd , Brimingham, WS5 3AB
Budget hotel offering superb double and twin ensuite rooms at affordable prices.Free Wi Fi and Free parking. Dining room with bar and breakfast available upon request at £5.95 per person.
All rooms have their own ensuite bathroom TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Picture of Metro Inns Walsall, Brimingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room pleasent staff good value for the money.

Reviewed by
J TIMMINS

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dimly lit room but with everything you'd expect in a budget hotel
As I arrived, a man was being told there was no key for his room, so if he wanted to get in and out he would have to alert reception and have someone nip up with the master key. That about says it all. As a result, I was waiting around at reception for a pretty long time. FInding my room was easy, as was checking in, but the corridors smelt of cigarette smoke and my room was dismally dark. The only main light was right next to the door and didn't make a difference to the main space. The rest of the lights were wall mounted and again made little difference - my laptop screen lit the room more than the lamps. Everything else worked, although there was a distinct lack of plugs near the bed which was annoying. Breakfast in the morning was a serve-yourself style buffet (great for speedy breakfasts, a little less appetising cos it's all been sat there a while) and check out was as easy as dropping your keys in a hole. It was everything you'd expect for the money I suppose, although I cannot understand how anyone could think that lighting level was sufficient.

Reviewed by
Katherine R

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of workmen but it ok I will go back

Reviewed by
E Jones

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A reasonably pleasant overnighter, and would return in the future.
The room was spacious; bathroom lovely with lots of soft towels (although only soap was provided and no other toiletries) with a superb shower and the bed clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and superbly cooked and well worth the money, and proper coffee was a nice touch. However, when we arrived, our room was really cold. The radiator wasn't working and staff had to get the small room heater working. Eventually it heated up but they said they had forgotten to switch it on before we had arrived. The duvet was very thin and we were so cold in bed that we had to bring in a blanket from the car and use a hot water bottle. There were no spare blankets or pillows in the room and no hairdryer in the drawer marked "hairdryer". No water came out of the bath taps so we had to settle for a shower. The sound on the TV was very poor. The room, although clean, had tired and scruffy-looking decor. Staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. There was no shower caddy for toiletries and as the shower was over the bath, a non-slip mat should have been provided as the surface was very slippery when wet. The toilet took 4 flushes to flush away solid matter. Breakfast was served from 8 a.m. which we feel is rather late and we feel 7.00 would be more appropriate, especially when we would imagine lots of people would be using the hotel because of a visit to the NEC. We had to be at the NEC by 9 and we were late. However, nowhere is perfect and this is a perfectly adequate overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
It was unbelievable at first when we entered but it was real. It was the value paid for.
apart from space there was not much to complain about.
Will stay there again and will recoment to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Prince K

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. comfortable stay. will stay again

Reviewed by
c martine

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service and staff brilliant
Great value for money, clean, comfortable good breakfast. Only minor detail TV very dated and poor reception and sound, not a major problem though did not spoil my stay.
This is the third time I have stayed here and will again in the future.

Reviewed by
A Shepherd

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic accommodation
The quality is too basic.

Reviewed by
LOMBARD M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable
Good value for money for 1-2 night stay! Would reccommend.

Reviewed by
A Pawar

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smokeyville
Apart from the male staff's habit of calling everybody "mate" they were very helpful, as they had to be, because when I got to my room their was no electricity (so no lights) and an overpowering smell of cigarettes. Switching to another room was not a problem, however, though getting people to stick to the no-smoking rule obviously is given the large number of cigarette stubs outside the window. The (public) bar is awful and the service was catastrophic despite their being only seven people in the place. Next morning was a very pleasant surprise: a very nice dining room and an excellent buffet breakfast. Despite my issues with the room, this place offers good value for money.

Reviewed by
g edwards

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next