No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hollis Hill Bed & Breakfast

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Highfield, Hollis Hill , Beaminster, DT8 3QS
Hollis Hill B&B is situated in the heart of the West Dorset countryside, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. We are a short walk from the village of Broadwindsor where you can enjoy the pub and well-established Craft Centre. There are lovely walks and bike rides all around the area – no need to use your car while you stay here! We are close to Crewkerne station with a regular service to London and further into the West Country.

Our B&B is a newly built log house. Each of the bedrooms has an extensive countryside view and an en-suite shower room. Breakfast is served in the hall which has far-reaching views to Beaminster and beyond. A log burner keeps things toasty in the winter, huge folding doors allow you to enjoy the outside on warmer days.

The historic market town of Bridport is seven miles away and the glorious Jurassic coastline a couple of miles further on where you will find the beaches of West Bay and Burton Bradstock. From Hollis Hill, you can explore the best that this area has to offer. Lyme Regis and Dorchester are a short distance away. Jump on the X53 bus along the coast from Poole to Exeter, eat at the Hive Beach Cafe in Burton Bradstock and explore the great houses of Forde Abbey, Lytes Cary, Montacute or Kingston Lacey.
Picture of Hollis Hill Bed & Breakfast, Beaminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, peaceful accommodation
Hollis Hill is set on a hill overlooking Beaminster and surrounds. Cindy and Ken both welcomed us for our stay and Cindy supplied a lovely home made cream tea on arrival. Although we were only there for one night, we slept soundly and felt right at home. Breakfast was also lovely, sitting in front of large fold back doors overlooking the countryside and, even though it was quite cold outside, sitting in front of the windows with the sun shining in, made us feel very cosy inside. When we left, Cindy let me take a home made ginger biscuit for the journey, which was absolutely delicious, thank you!

Reviewed by
Helen H

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet weekend in Dorset
We really could not believe the reviews of 100% for Hollis Hill B & B. As we have often stayed in B & B's over many years perhaps we were a little bit sceptical. As we had planned for a weekend stay in Dorset, the location was ideal, lovely views and so quiet
The owners provided accommodation, food and hospitality to be admired, and deserve great credit for their efforts. They have set a very high bench mark so it gives us great pleasure in forwarding our positive views of their business and wish them every success. Many thanks to Cindy and Ken for a memorable weekend.

Reviewed by
James H

From St Columb, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must visit gem.
We stayed here for a weekend and were immediately warmly welcomed by Ken and Cindy. We were given tea and delicious homemade cake on arrival and felt at home straight away. The house is very comfortable and warm and our room had stunning views views over the rolling Dorset hills. There is plenty of walking from the front door and the coast is only 20 minutes drive a way. The White Lion Pub is less than a ten minute walk into the village and serves good food at reasonable prices.
Cindy's breakfasts were delicious, especially the eggs from her chickens and nothing was too much trouble. We felt so relaxed after two days that we will certainly be returning. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Clive E

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were welcomed with a nice cup of tea and a piece of cake which made us feel very welcome straight
Exellent Bed & Breakfast with fantanstic views of the country side

Reviewed by
R Read

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
We stayed at short notice. The house is beautiful, the hosts very friendly and the breakfast was of excellent quality. we would highly recommend this B&B.

Reviewed by
John Conway

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent recommend
We found this accomodation very welcoming and homely. Our host were very friendly and helpful. The fresh eggs for breakfast from their own chickens were to die for. We look forward to going back again sometime.

Reviewed by
Anthony Joyce

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome
An unusual house in a peaceful setting with good views. The hosts were very welcoming and we were very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Cockburnspath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hollis Hill Review
We had a wonderful stay at Hollis Hill. Beautiful rooms and en-suite with personal touches that made us feel really welcome. Having tea and coffee facilities (and yummy cookies) all set out on a cut glass tray was much appreciated. Breakfast overlooking the lovely Dorset countryside was excellent. Very friendly and welcoming owner. Would definately stay again - highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Rosetta N

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved the "wooden house"
We really enjoyed our stay at Hollis Hill. We were made so welcome by Cindy and Ken and everything was so clean and tidy. Nothing was too much trouble, including the cakes, and we immediately felt at home. The house is a true reflection of sustainable living in every way. We will return!

Reviewed by
Chris Lillington

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in October 2013

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    More than a B&B..
    A lovely modern environment, an eco-home located over far reaching views. The room was beautifully appointed with great attention to detail. We felt immediately comfortable and relaxed after our journey. The owners, Cindy & Ken made us feel extremely welcome. The breakfast room overlooked miles of West Dorset Countryside, lovely cooked breakfast, just what we needed to set us up for the day ahead. We will definitely be staying here again, its the best B&B experience we have ever had - and we have tried quite a few! Would recommend using this as a base to discover nearby Beaminster and also the Jurassic coastline.

    Reviewed by
    K TRACY

    From Ascot, UK
    Who stayed in October 2013

    Couple

    View Older Reviews

    Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

    All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

    Prev 1 2 3 Next