The Black Horse

3

The Black Horse, 11 and 12 Orchard Street,, Canterbury, CT2 8AP

Price From 135.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Watson

  • April 2015

Review

Very clean room and friendly staff, but not informed correctly when I rang to ask about parking, was not told it was on the road and parking meters where in operation, nor could you park anywhere near

  • J Bullen

  • February 2015

Weekend in Canterbury

The hotel was warm & clean.

I thought that the room was perfect with a very nice en-suite shower room...

  • Monique H

  • July 2014

The room was very small and not spacious as advertised. But good location and everything brand new.

  • S Johnson

  • July 2014

A home from home

The Black Horse is a former pub, which has been renovated to provide accommodation.

There is a kitchen, dining area and patio all for the use of guests. We had a lovely stay and would happily return. Upon arrival we were met by Caroline who was very welcoming. She told us we had been upgraded from the 'cosy room' to a larger room which was a lovely surprise. We were shown up to the room, which had been recently renovated and had a view of the cathedral. It was light and airy, and had a comfortable, homely feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite was very nicely finished and had everything we needed. We had our own front door off the patio, with stairs leading up to the room. We were shown the kitchen. Everything is labelled and guests help themselves to breakfast. We were also encouraged to help ourselves to food and drink at other times of the day which really helped us to feel at home. We had a glass of orange juice on the patio before heading out for dinner. The Black Horse is in a very central location, just off a shopping street. It is, however, very quiet. The road itself is residential and we didn't notice any noise at night. In the morning it was sunny so we had our breakfast at the table on the patio.

  • R Sykes

  • April 2014

Home from home

This stay made a refreshing change.

The place was very clean and well presented. The Rumanian young man that greeted me was very pleasent and attentive. Well mannered and curious.

In the morning you go down to the kitchen/ dinning room and help yourself from the food that is labeled up for your use. This was a very pleasent stay "home from Home"

  • Robert K

  • March 2014

Black Horse Canterbury

Close to city centre.10 mins.

walk. Nice room,self service continental style breakfast. Two hour meter parking outside,four hour parking close by,if you wish to spend a few days without your car I you need to find long term parking. Very good value.

  • T Hedley-Jones

  • October 2013

A nice place to stay

Good basic B and B

  • Thomas B

  • September 2013

Review

Room was a tad cramped but beautifully presented, no on site restauraunt but cooking facilities all good.

  • Roger O

  • September 2013

Black Horse

Very good location,free parking ideal for our stay.

  • D McCracken

  • August 2013

Considering the hotel has only recently opened and we only have an hours notice of our evening arrival, we couldn't have been made more welcome.

The hotel is run with only 2 staff but they were both there on our arrival making sure our stay was a good one. Went above and beyond what we expected for our stay. Would definitely go back to this lovely little hotel again.