No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
16 High Street , Old Amersham, HP70DH
The Crown is a modern coaching inn, all in historic timber framed buildings providing eating, drinking, gatherings and lodgings. Only 45 minutes from London and at the end of the Metropolitan Line near Beaconsfield in Amersham, with 38 bedrooms, a welcoming bar and restaurant and two private rooms seating up to 40 people for weddings, parties and meetings.

The Crown is not a hotel where the rooms dominate, but where the common spaces are the heartbeat of the place. Based around eating and drinking, The Crown Chop House serves hearty portions of grilled meats and seasonal salads, all washed down with fine wines and local ales. With inglenook fires, crooked floors, a cobbled courtyard and design that uses the English vernacular, The Crown offers traditional hospitality in a modern coaching inn setting.
Picture of The Crown Hotel, Old Amersham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lovely place - ticked all the boxes for me
I needed to find a quite place to work on a really difficult presentation away from noise and with lots of room to lay out lots of documents. For me, when I do my best writing I also need a very beautiful environment where I can feel inspired. So I chose very carefully even though it was last minute and I as very, very lucky to get a large room/suite in The Courtyard. The space was just gorgeous with stairs up to a really large lofthouse kind of bedroom/lounge area. Furnishings are very minimalist but in a super stylish way (I have a real distaste of chintz so this suited me!) and I found it a really calm and soothing atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Julie F

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable bed and feather pillows great - good to have fridge and safe box -bathroom good and lovely towels soaps etc but ventaxia in bathroom not working and report at desk not dealt with properly Food very good and service excellent dinner and breakfast but chairs are uncomfortable in the dining room - such a pity not to complement the food - more comfortable in the bar next time
Reception desk service poor - hand overs with different staff not satisfactory -we experienced ia lack of training in this area,which is the first impression one gets on arrival after a journey. What a shame.

Reviewed by
judith d

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent situation
- Lovely hotel/situation
- Room OK, but a little sparse.
- As a female travelling alone on business, I do want to spend my evening in the bar and a room with just a bed, wardrobe, desk and work chair is a little inadequate.
- A comfy chair would be nice.
- A bit too much style over substance

Reviewed by
Linda A

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room although upgraded turned out to be of a poor standard, shower kept changing from very hot to freezing cold, bathroom blind fell from the ceiling when we tried to open it, lack of storage space and hanging space for clothes. The breakfast buffet seemed like it had been cooked hours before and kept lukewarm even though we were eating before nine. There were some nice touches such as good quality toiletries, and high quality towels and bedding.

Reviewed by
Deborah O

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Crown Hotel
This hotel looks very tired , it has no charm what so ever ,the TV in the bedroom was so antiquated
which in the day and age is so unnecessary when you can buy flat screen TVs very cheaply
I am so glad that we only stayed one night ,I could not have stayed any longer

Reviewed by
John Maxwell

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgraded accommodation
I can't help feeling that the upgrade to the accommodation since we were last there (which has been very nicely done), has resulted in a little bit of a loss to the character and charm of the hotel as 'olde worlde'. I do, however, love the situation of the hotel and it happens to be very close to my son's home in Chesham Bois.

Reviewed by
William Sankey

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked very last minute and were very lucky to have found a room at The Crown, which unbeknown to us at the time is very popular hotel in the heart of Old Amersham.
The staff, especially Ben, were exceptionally friendly and very helpful making us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was very spacious, clean and had a super comfortable bed.
We only stayed for breakfast, included, and it was a fantastic spread with all you could wish for on a Sunday morning. If breakfast is anything to go by the chefs in the kitchen are a top act, and are well supported by the very attentive front of house team.
A real gem of a place, we'll visit again for sure.

Reviewed by
G Cumming

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.