No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Golden Lion

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Hill Street, , , Corbridge, NE45 5AA
Located in the centre of Corbridge, The Golden Lion is a wonderful example of a fine typical British Pub Colourful, Vibrant, Warm & Welcoming. Live entertainment during weekends, noise can be expected from approximately 9 pm through to 1 am on Friday and Saturday nights. Dogs Welcome. All Rooms are en-suite, and have TV with freeview, WiFi internet, Hair-Dryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities, ironing facilities available by request and fully inclusive of breakfast. The prices include a full Breakfast. We have recently fitted Orthopaedic Mattresses to all of our beds! As far back as 1827 Corbridge was a place renowned for its small shops and several of the decorated fronts still survive. Today Corbridge is still known for its quaintness and unique boutique shops and is an ideal base to explore the beauty of Northumberland. Corbridge combines a range of interesting historical sites with top-of-the-range shopping facilities. The village was founded on its present site in Saxon times and Roman stones were used to construct many of the village buildings, including the church. Today the streets, which remain much as they did in medieval times, house a range of innovative and interesting shops, pubs and coffee shops. A wander along Front Street will take you down to the river bank, where you can enjoy the attractive views from the 17th century bridge.
Picture of Golden Lion, Corbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay

Reviewed by
sharon s

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One to avoid
Hotel (rather a pub with accommodation) was grossly understaffed. Check-in took far too long as only one member of staff to check in guests, serve drinks at bar etc. We were asked what time we required breakfast and booked for 8.30. However following morning we went to breakfast at 8.00 only to find the dining room locked up and no staff on premises. A couple of staff eventually arrived at 8.30. Breakfast eventually served at 08.50. Room at best could only be described as adequate. Bathroom circa 1950's. All in all our stay was an experience never to be repeated.

Reviewed by
David B

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Lion Corbridge
a really nice place to stay for a short break/weekend stay - right in the centre of Corbridge close to everything

Reviewed by
J Millett

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget accommodation
The place was more than adequate for the price. The breakfast was actually ok but we had a meal in the evening which was a mistake. There was not one of the four of us who could say they got what we paid for. 10 oz gammon! No way maybe 7 oz on a good day but it was frazzled and the veg was standard rubbish .the steaks ordered were medium rare..they came well done and again the chips were underdone. The waitress..when we could find her... asked "everything all right" on her way not listening.. She was told "no..it's..but she wasn't listening and moved off. Classic indifference. The leasee of this pub doesn't deserve to succeed as his attention to detail is poor. Come here on a budget but don't get excited.

Reviewed by
Tony W

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable standard pub accommodation
Nothing really special.The venue has street parking and the meter has to be paid for after 9.00 am.breakfast was adequate.food in the evening(only tried once) was actually quite poor and dried up.i had a 10 oz gammon which must have been used as a shoe sole and unlikely to have been 10 oz prior to cooking. Having said that the accommodation was adequate and clean.

Reviewed by
Tony W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business
n/a

Reviewed by
josie m

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Lion - Corbridge
This was my second stay at the Golden Lion. I prefer to stay in b&b's for my business trips in Northern England. I will always choose the Golden Lion as my first choice. It is very good value for money with clean comfortable rooms. Working free WiFi albeit through cloud lets me catch my emails at the end of the day. Already looking forward to my next stay.

Reviewed by
James Cosslett

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome.
The Golden Lion is situated in the large and historic village of Corbridge. It is a pub with accommodation. The rooms were clean, well decorated and provided good facilities [tea/coffee, bathroom goods, hair dryer, good towels etc]. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very good served in a corner of the downstairs bar. The pub has been redecorated and refurbished over the past two years and this is ongoing. It is run by a very personable young man who shared his vision for the building with us. However, it is a pub and visitors should bear in mind that it remains open late so should expect some noise. However, the proprietor is keen that everyone should be aware of this and anyone phoning directly to the pub will be informed. It might be as well to ask for a 2nd floor room where any extraneous noise is muffled. Corbridge itself is a wonderful centre for exploring Northumberland.

Reviewed by
Terence K

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Lion
The Golden Lion is one of those good old northern Pubs with good food and commendation. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great with a choice of a cooked breakfast all included in the price. Will stay there again on my next business trip to Northumbria, beats staying at the Premier Inn any day.

Reviewed by
James Cosslett

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Excellent value, good room and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next