The Nags Head

3

56 Heworth Road, Heworth,, York, YO31 0AD

Price From 168.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sarah P

  • February 2015

A Friday night stay

A proper locals pub.

I was made to feel very welcome & it would have been very easy to have got settled rather than go elsewhere. A lovely room, the bed was very comfy & breakfast the following morning was bob on. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Carrianne I

  • November 2014

Lovely little stay

Stayed at this lovely accommodation for one night at the weekend.

The pub itself it's a great little haunt with lots of character. We were checked in quickly with the lady behind the bar who was very friendly and after a quick pint we were shown to our room. Nicely decorated and very clean and tidy which is always nice. We had a twin room and the beds were comfy with good quality sheets. The only negative I can say about it is the location, it's a fair hike into the city centre if that's where you will be spending most of your time, but this wouldn't prevent me staying here again or recommending to anyone.

  • Dave Scott

  • October 2014

No Problems

Had a great night.

Good social atmosphere and would stay again.

  • N Barbour

  • September 2014

trip to York

Within easy walking distance of Jewbury gate of wall and situated above a lovely pub in the heworth district.

Cooked breakfast was lovely and set you up for the day. Only drawback was lack of shower facilities

  • Catherine L

  • August 2014

Saturday Evening Female alone

Travelling alone to meet up with friends, stayed one night.

very welcoming. Booked in evening still early so had a drink in the bar, no problem stayed for two drinks before retiring for the night. Felt very comfortable and would not hesitate to recommend to any lone female traveller!

  • R Bailey

  • August 2014

Really helpful staff clean tidy room would definitely stay there again

  • a walker

  • June 2014

Very tired basic room, very nice breakfast.

  • s mitchell

  • June 2014

Clean, friendly and eager to please. Highly recommended

On arrival I was shown to my room immediately by the barman, who offered to carry my things up the stairs despite the website clearly pointing out that there are stairs and no help available to carry things.

I was happy with this anyway so his offer was a welcome surprise after my long drive :-)

The room itself was clean, fresh and airy, nothing 'special' but certainly not disappointing.

The bed was soooooooo comfy, I wanted to take it home with me. ( I did actually check the mattress to find the brand and type for a shopping trip later!)

A nice little array of complimentries- shower gel, tea, coffee, biscuits etc were provided. The staff were amazingly friendly, especially the landlord who stopped what he was doing ( the huge task of getting the pub decked out for world cup kick off that night) to freshly cook my breakfast when I woke up late and breakfast was already over. Despite causing considerable delay for him as he was waiting to decorate the dining area, I was not made to feel a nuisance and the staff chatted happily. The breakfast itself was gorgeous. A lovely generously sized quality full english. There was also a choice of jams, juices, cereals etc on offer. Should I ever be in the general area, I would go out of my way to stay here again. Thank you for an enjoyable stay :-)

  • lynn n

  • April 2014

expected a much nicer room for the amount we paid

Room was very dated, not very clean, on suite bathroom was very old, if we had paid £40 for the night then i would not be writing this, but we paid £130 for the night and i left with the feeling i had been robbed

  • S Hughes

  • April 2014

Very average B&B

This pub B&B is in a good location, only 20 min walk to town.

However we paid far more than it was really worth, £70 per night - room rate on the back of the door said £35!!. OK so it was the Easter weekend but we've stayed in 4* hotels for less than this. Room was very small, bit tired and grubby but did us for the 2 nights. Breakfast was good but we didn't eat here in the evenings.