Reviews - The Nags Head


56, Heworth Road, Heworth,, York, YO31 0AD

Price From 189.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris S

  • August 2015

Bargain in York!

Stayed just for one night, after attending a friend's wedding.

Friendly staff, comfy bed, clean room and an excellent breakfast with proper bacon!. A bargain for York where most accommodation is twice the price!

  • L Lee

  • July 2015

A nice little place and worth a stay.

Friendly service with real value for money.

I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleased with the room - I've stayed in worse Travel Lodges. My stay was only spoiled by the snoring of a fellow traveller in the next room. The walls are paper thin.

  • Graham M

  • July 2015

The Nags Head

Staff were very good and pleasant, nice environment and made to feel welcome.

Room was comfortable and had the required room bits and pieces except my room did not have a shower, only a bath, it would be much better with a shower available. Breakfast was exceptional for the price of room and breakfast, cereal, tea (or coffee) full cooked with a proper butchers jumbo sausage and trimmings all hot and toast to follow, OJ could have been better rather than concentrate but then for the price that could be overlooked, all in all very good and I would stay here again if I come to York again.

  • Sarah P

  • February 2015

A Friday night stay

A proper locals pub.

I was made to feel very welcome & it would have been very easy to have got settled rather than go elsewhere. A lovely room, the bed was very comfy & breakfast the following morning was bob on. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Carrianne I

  • November 2014

Lovely little stay

Stayed at this lovely accommodation for one night at the weekend.

The pub itself it's a great little haunt with lots of character. We were checked in quickly with the lady behind the bar who was very friendly and after a quick pint we were shown to our room. Nicely decorated and very clean and tidy which is always nice. We had a twin room and the beds were comfy with good quality sheets. The only negative I can say about it is the location, it's a fair hike into the city centre if that's where you will be spending most of your time, but this wouldn't prevent me staying here again or recommending to anyone.

  • Dave Scott

  • October 2014

No Problems

Had a great night.

Good social atmosphere and would stay again.

  • N Barbour

  • September 2014

trip to York

Within easy walking distance of Jewbury gate of wall and situated above a lovely pub in the heworth district.

Cooked breakfast was lovely and set you up for the day. Only drawback was lack of shower facilities

  • Catherine L

  • August 2014

Saturday Evening Female alone

Travelling alone to meet up with friends, stayed one night.

very welcoming. Booked in evening still early so had a drink in the bar, no problem stayed for two drinks before retiring for the night. Felt very comfortable and would not hesitate to recommend to any lone female traveller!

  • R Bailey

  • August 2014

Really helpful staff clean tidy room would definitely stay there again

  • a walker

  • June 2014

Very tired basic room, very nice breakfast.