No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Nags Head

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
56 Heworth Road, Heworth, , York, YO31 0AD
Our quality, service and value for money are hard to beat! We offer good quality, pub accommodation in York, so whether you're visiting for a short break in York, a special event, business stopover or simply just for a quick drink and a bite to eat with friends and family, The Nags Head at Heworth has something for everyone. When it comes to food our extensive menu offers something to cater for all tastes and our legendary carvery is an absolute must! We are situated in Heworth, a small village on the outskirts of the historic city of York. We can offer you not only quality food and drink, including a good range of traditional ales, but comfortable, quality bed and breakfast accommodation in our recently refurbished rooms. If you are looking to stay in York, our bed and breakfast accommodation is comfortable and affordable and provides an ideal base from which to explore York and the surrounding area. Stay in any one of our 5 comfortable rooms and enjoy the facilities of being ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities and TV. Our rooms rates include a freshly cooked full Yorkshire breakfast. Please note access to all our rooms is via stairs - Unfortunately, we do not have a lift or any ground floor rooms So, next time you're in York why not pop in? You'll be glad you did! We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Picture of The Nags Head, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired basic room, very nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
a walker

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly and eager to please. Highly recommended
On arrival I was shown to my room immediately by the barman, who offered to carry my things up the stairs despite the website clearly pointing out that there are stairs and no help available to carry things. I was happy with this anyway so his offer was a welcome surprise after my long drive :-)
The room itself was clean, fresh and airy, nothing 'special' but certainly not disappointing.
The bed was soooooooo comfy, I wanted to take it home with me! ( I did actually check the mattress to find the brand and type for a shopping trip later!)
A nice little array of complimentries- shower gel, tea, coffee, biscuits etc were provided.
The staff were amazingly friendly, especially the landlord who stopped what he was doing ( the huge task of getting the pub decked out for world cup kick off that night) to freshly cook my breakfast when I woke up late and breakfast was already over! Despite causing considerable delay for him as he was waiting to decorate the dining area, I was not made to feel a nuisance and the staff chatted happily.
The breakfast itself was gorgeous! A lovely generously sized quality full english. There was also a choice of jams, juices, cereals etc on offer.
Should I ever be in the general area, I would go out of my way to stay here again.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay :-)

Reviewed by
s mitchell

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

expected a much nicer room for the amount we paid
Room was very dated, not very clean, on suite bathroom was very old, if we had paid £40 for the night then i would not be writing this, but we paid £130 for the night and i left with the feeling i had been robbed

Reviewed by
lynn n

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very average B&B
This pub B&B is in a good location, only 20 min walk to town. However we paid far more than it was really worth, £70 per night - room rate on the back of the door said £35!!! OK so it was the Easter weekend but we've stayed in 4* hotels for less than this! Room was very small, bit tired and grubby but did us for the 2 nights. Breakfast was good but we didn't eat here in the evenings.

Reviewed by
S Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pub stay
Nice pub,couldn't tell you who the landlord was as never introduced himself.We mt the barmaids,chef and cleaner.Room at front of pub,on busy main road so very noisy.Had to keep window open as heating on very high,no thermostat to tun it down.Noise from tv in pub heard clearly so very late going to sleep.

Reviewed by
John Pukaniuk

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Nags Head
An excellent place to stay.Nice beer,nice food,a nice room.Friendly staff,and only a 15 minute walk into the centre of York.Would use it again and would certainly recommend it.

Reviewed by
L Ollerenshaw

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old World Style
The Nags Head is a quaint old world style pub with lots of characture. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. The food was excellent, the Yorkshire Ham had a taste to die for.

Reviewed by
Ian Widdowson

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub b&b
Lovely quiet pub staff really friendly

Reviewed by
a heffernan

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for shopping in York
Very clean and comfortable rooms. Good location for shopping in York. Would stay there again and recommend it to friends.







Reviewed by
D Allan

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very considerate.
I had a small single room with ensuite toilet and shower as well as tea-making facilities. It was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay to attend a course nearby. If I had stayed at a luxury hotel, I would have paid 4 times the price ! ( Not on my expenses budget).
The staff were extremely accommodating and came in early to make me breakfast as I had to leave at 7:30 and breakfast time was not officially until 08:30. A very pleasant stay and free parking was a bonus.

Reviewed by
Catherine R

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next