No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Homestead

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
EDMUNDSON HOUSE/The Homestead Main Street, Melling with Wrayton, CARNFORTH, LA6 2RA
Welcome to the Homestead Luxury Bed & Breakfast in the heart of the Lune Valley ...

The Homestead Bed & Breakfast accommodation is located approximately 4 miles from the stunningly beautiful town of KIRKBY LONSDALE. It is set amidst spectacular views of the Lune Valley and its surrounding hills. Our friendly B & B venue makes an excellent base for exploring the Lune Valley and the surrounding area from a tranquil, stress-free environment.

The Homestead (built in 1560) offers; luxury, elegance, space, peace and quiet reminiscent of a bygone age. We are situated very close to two of the most stunning National Parks in the UK, namely, The Lake District and The Yorkshire Dales. The Trough of Bowland, an area of outstanding natural beauty, AONB, is only a short drive away. This true Jewel in the English Crown has many outdoor activities to suit all tastes and picturesque villages with welcoming pubs serving great food.

Our beautiful guest rooms are very tastefully and sympathetically decorated, having period furniture with en-suite or private bathroom facilities. Please take advantage of a complimentary drink, slice of delicious cake or chocolates upon arrival! Enjoy a hearty Full English, Continental or Spanish breakfast to set you up for the day.

Whatever the season or your reason for visiting; Romantic weekend, sightseeing, walking, riding, chilling out or shopping, The Homestead is the perfect base to explore; The Lake District, Yorkshire dales, Trough of Bowland and the surrounding areas.

Popular local interests include fishing, shooting, golf, walking, bird-watching and cycling. For those wanting to indulge in a spot of retail therapy, look no further than; Lancaster, Kendal, Kirkby lonsdale or Hawes with local markets, antique shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and many well known high street outlets mingling with local speciality stores offering the very best local produce.

Maria and Kevin warmly welcome you to our home in the beautiful Lune Valley, we look forward to seeing you and taking care of you during your stay.



Picture of The Homestead, CARNFORTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
The homestead is a really beautiful house, Kev and Maria made us feel very welcome and they were so friendly. The rooms were comfortable, and spacious. The local area was stunning, Kevin was kind enough to drive us to a local restaurant and we enjoyed a quick pint with him afterwards. Having missed breakfast the next day (maybe that last pint should have been a half), Maria wrapped our (Spanish) breakfast up for us to take away. I couldn't recommend this place enough, it's just amazing.

Reviewed by
Ricky Jackson

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutelty Beautiful
We had a lovely stay at Homestead. We only stayed one night but will definitely consider staying there again. Homestead is stunning, the rooms are beautiful. Owners couldnt do enough for us. Kev drove us too and back from Kirkby Lonsdale for our dinner. Nothing negative at all to say. Lovely lovely luxurious place to stay.

Reviewed by
christopher blackburn

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Stay
My wife found this B&B while searching for a place to stay to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. We arrived in the lovely village and were greeted at the door by the owner Kevin, who directed me where to park the car. We were then met by his wife Marie who made us a drink of tea and given some homemade cake (very nice). We were told about the extensive renovation work that has been done to this beautiful home and the features were wonderful. We were shown to our room and may I say what a surprise. It was to the highest standard and very comfortable. My wife welcomed the roll top bath in the fantastic bathroom. The owner Kevin had made contact with me immediately after taking my booking and arranged a booking at a local restaurant (The Fenwick). Kevin was so kind to take us to and from the restaurant, which was a first for us on any other hotel stays we have made and the food was very good. The choice for breakfast was excellent and we opted for the Spanish style breakfast. A wonderful new experience. For a weekend stay I would very highly recommend this high luxury B&B.

Reviewed by
Philip V

From Morley Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stunning
What a lovely place . And lovely people .Thank you Kevin and Maria for making our break so rememberal. Definitely going to come back .

Reviewed by
David Fowler

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful house and excellent hosts
Sat nav got us to the wrong place but a quick phone call to Kevin the owner and we were soon back on track. Lovely welcome from Kev and Maria kettle was put straight on and we were made to feel like visiting friends rather than paying guests. As previously arranged Kev had booked us a table at a nearby restaurant which he drove us to and from at no charge. Room beautiful as was the spotlessly clean bathroom. Good choice of breakfast beautifully served up by Maria. We honestly could not fault anything

Reviewed by
John Tench

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this b&b at last min for birthday break. What a warm welcome we received. Rooms we spotless .Luxury bathroom. Kev and Maria couldnt do enough for us even offering us a lift to and from our meal booked a few miles away. We will highly recommend The Homestead to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Angela Holdsworth

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Just a quick note to say how great our stay was. The room was very nice and the bed comfortable but the main reason for this feedback is to thank Kev and Maria as they are truly a lovely genuine couple, who can't do enough for you! Maria, the breakfast was lovely and I may just take you up on your offer of a traditional Spanish breakfast next time!

Reviewed by
Craig C

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury B&B and Excellent Service at the Homestead Homestead
The Accommodation was 1st Class. The room was full of character with stylish furniture and a very comfortable bed. The Bathroom had full facilities with shower, bath and accessories done in a period style to a very high Standard. All of our requirements were met in full.
Kev and Maria were extremely good hosts. On arrival we were offered tea/coffee together with cake. We had booked an evening meal in a nearby restaurant and Kev took us there and picked us up as part of the service. Full English Breakfast was cooked fresh and to a high standard.

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strongly recommended
The Homestead is a stunning house, perfectly maintained by Maria. Kev is a friendly bloke, and they will both go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay. Besides this, they live in an area of amazing beauty. Definitely worth saving up for.

Reviewed by
J Barrow

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dales visit
Lovely place run by a lovely , friendly couple.
Would have been nice to have our own key so we could have had a little more independence i.e pop outside in the middle of the night for a cigarette

Reviewed by
David Budgen

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next