No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Homestead

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
EDMUNDSON HOUSE/The Homestead Main Street, Melling with Wrayton, CARNFORTH, LA6 2RA
Welcome to the Homestead Luxury Bed & Breakfast in the heart of the Lune Valley ...

The Homestead Bed & Breakfast accommodation is located approximately 4 miles from the stunningly beautiful town of KIRKBY LONSDALE. It is set amidst spectacular views of the Lune Valley and its surrounding hills. Our friendly B & B venue makes an excellent base for exploring the Lune Valley and the surrounding area from a tranquil, stress-free environment.

The Homestead (built in 1560) offers; luxury, elegance, space, peace and quiet reminiscent of a bygone age. We are situated very close to two of the most stunning National Parks in the UK, namely, The Lake District and The Yorkshire Dales. The Trough of Bowland, an area of outstanding natural beauty, AONB, is only a short drive away. This true Jewel in the English Crown has many outdoor activities to suit all tastes and picturesque villages with welcoming pubs serving great food.

Our beautiful guest rooms are very tastefully and sympathetically decorated, having period furniture with en-suite or private bathroom facilities. Please take advantage of a complimentary drink, slice of delicious cake or chocolates upon arrival! Enjoy a hearty Full English, Continental or Spanish breakfast to set you up for the day.

Whatever the season or your reason for visiting; Romantic weekend, sightseeing, walking, riding, chilling out or shopping, The Homestead is the perfect base to explore; The Lake District, Yorkshire dales, Trough of Bowland and the surrounding areas.

Popular local interests include fishing, shooting, golf, walking, bird-watching and cycling. For those wanting to indulge in a spot of retail therapy, look no further than; Lancaster, Kendal, Kirkby lonsdale or Hawes with local markets, antique shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and many well known high street outlets mingling with local speciality stores offering the very best local produce.

Maria and Kevin warmly welcome you to our home in the beautiful Lune Valley, we look forward to seeing you and taking care of you during your stay.



Picture of The Homestead, CARNFORTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this b&b at last min for birthday break. What a warm welcome we received. Rooms we spotless .Luxury bathroom. Kev and Maria couldnt do enough for us even offering us a lift to and from our meal booked a few miles away. We will highly recommend The Homestead to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Angela Holdsworth

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Just a quick note to say how great our stay was. The room was very nice and the bed comfortable but the main reason for this feedback is to thank Kev and Maria as they are truly a lovely genuine couple, who can't do enough for you! Maria, the breakfast was lovely and I may just take you up on your offer of a traditional Spanish breakfast next time!

Reviewed by
Craig C

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury B&B and Excellent Service at the Homestead Homestead
The Accommodation was 1st Class. The room was full of character with stylish furniture and a very comfortable bed. The Bathroom had full facilities with shower, bath and accessories done in a period style to a very high Standard. All of our requirements were met in full.
Kev and Maria were extremely good hosts. On arrival we were offered tea/coffee together with cake. We had booked an evening meal in a nearby restaurant and Kev took us there and picked us up as part of the service. Full English Breakfast was cooked fresh and to a high standard.

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strongly recommended
The Homestead is a stunning house, perfectly maintained by Maria. Kev is a friendly bloke, and they will both go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay. Besides this, they live in an area of amazing beauty. Definitely worth saving up for.

Reviewed by
J Barrow

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dales visit
Lovely place run by a lovely , friendly couple.
Would have been nice to have our own key so we could have had a little more independence i.e pop outside in the middle of the night for a cigarette

Reviewed by
David Budgen

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unusual accomodation with great hosts.
we had a great short break in this very interesting accommodation. kevin and marie are great hosts, very friendly and very helpful, they make time for you to describe the house, and give information on the surrounding area. marie is Spanish, and convinced me to try a Spanish breakfast on the second morning ,which again was unusual but equally as enjoyable as the first mornings English breakfast. all in all a great stay in a great place.

Reviewed by
t leece

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic! Don't go anywhere else!!
The Homestead is easily one of the nicest, friendliest places we have ever stayed. Kevin and Maria are wonderful hosts, treat you like family and would do anything to make your stay with them more pleasurable. Kevin will even chauffeur you to and from your restaurant so you don't need to worry about taxis! Exemplary customer service. The Spanish breakfast made to order is delicious and the communal areas beautiful. The bedrooms are large, beautifully decorated, spacious and luxurious.
We wholeheartedly recommend anyone to stay here and we will most definitely be returning in the future. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Reviewed by
Joanne M

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a brief encounter
great people and a very warm welcome with tea and biscuits, nothing was too much trouble for kevin and maria. would definitely stay again and will recommend the homestead.

Reviewed by
john m

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to detail amazing
Excellent quality of room and furnishings, owners couldn't have done more to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Would just recommend that, if you're fussy about your pillow like I am, that you take your own as it was too hard for me, but that's just a very minor issue. Lovely area, lots to do and Kirkby Lonsdale was full of excellent eating places. Great walks all around the area.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luxury accomodation
What a superb guesthouse.Rooms are excellent and superbly appointed and decorated with quality furniture. The beds are excellent and very comfortable,the bathrooms are superb and Kevin and Mariah are great hosts,very friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble.Kevin booked a table at a local restaurant,dropped us off and picked us up later.This is service way above the norm and would recommend it to anyone,in fact we have booked in again!

Reviewed by
david b

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next