No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Skeldale House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Main Street, Askrigg, Askrigg, DL8 3HG
Skeldale House is a unique boutique style B&B situated in a wonderful Victorian three storey building in the quaint village of Askrigg, which itself is surrounded by the outstanding, breathtaking scenery of Wensleydale in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales.

It has undergone a full restoration program and many original features remain including the very famous front door and railings, an impressive staircase, original fireplaces, beautiful moulded plasterwork and very high ceilings.

All the rooms offer luxury accommodation where old and new is combined to give each room a completely individual, stylish feel. Antique furniture is mixed with modern features including king sized beds in all but the twin, large flat screen televisions and top of the range white Egyptian cotton bedding. The rooms are large and contain lounge areas where you can relax, watch tv, read or take in the wonderful surrounding views. Separate dressing rooms and ensuite bath or shower rooms give you an added feeling of space.
Picture of Skeldale House, Askrigg at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

skeldale house best in the business !
Lovely bed and breakfast , great hosts , great food , and lovely room too .Would definitely go there again !

Reviewed by
J YOUNG

From Choppington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good quality
Our bedroom was very large with a seperate dressing room amd ensuite. Decor looked as fresh as if it it had only recently been completed with a good quality to all the furniture and carpets, etc.
Breakfasts very good. Would stay again if visiting the Wensleydale area

Reviewed by
Ann S

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week escape
Had a great 1 night stay. Lovely friendly welcome from Keith who showed us to our room and gave us info on places to eat and checked that the radiators were coming on in the room. Room was spacious with a separate dressing area. Plenty of drinks and biscuits provided and very comfy bed. Met Lisa at breakfast who was very attentive and made sure everyone had what they needed. Had evening meal at the kings Arms across the road. Food and service excellent and there was a voucher in the room for a free bottle of wine which was a nice touch. Both Keith and Lisa are great hosts and take a genuine interest in their guests. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
a plews

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an excellent accommodation, and my wife and I would highly recommend this B&B. Lovely owners, high-quality rooms and great breakfast options.

Reviewed by
J Milnes

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place to Stay
The village is a perfect base for a trip to the Dales. Lots of lovely places to visit nearby and no need to drive anywhere in the evening as the village has a few pubs and they offer some nice food too. The B&B was perfect, huge room with a dressing area and Lisa was the perfect hostess.

Reviewed by
Emma B

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend
Skeldale hose is a lovely small B'&B, the owners where very friendly and welcoming. It's been recently refurbished to a high standard. The room we stayed in was a good size with a veiw over the main street. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it, it's a good job there is lots of lovely walks close by. Askrigg itself is very quiet, which is just what we wanted, the pub across the road did very nice evening meals, but you need to book and unless you have a very large appetite you will only manage 2 courses. If you are looking for a quiet location to go walking and unwind then I would recommend here.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect B&B
A shame that we only stayed one night. The rooms, welcome and service were of the highest class and the place is beautifully (and thoughtfully) decorated throughout. We can't recommend this highly enough.

Reviewed by
Matthew M

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.