No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Halifax Hall

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Halifax Hall, Endcliffe Vale Road , Sheffield, S10 3ER
A beautiful period mansion in Sheffield. Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence, transformed into an outstanding and individual boutique hotel. Located in the middle of a conservation area on the edge of the University’s Endcliffe Village, boasting 38 en-suite bedrooms including three suites and deluxe conferencing facilities, ideal for conferences, events, weddings and leisure breaks.

We have partnered and worked closely with Sheffield based companies to deliver the highest standard of hotel comfort and guest satisfaction. From coffee selections, to bed linens we promise to exceed every expectation you have of our beautiful new hotel.

Picture of Halifax Hall, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfactory about the room but breakfast needs improvment.
Room was bit small but looks brand new, very modern decorated inclusive toilet is big as well. Facility is great. According to the room I am very happy about this hotel but only issue with breakfast. Before order cooked breakfast you can have some little amount of selection to start with. For juice I have asked the glass for 3 times and then after 15 minutes they provided the glass. Bread for toast was finished so we have to wait again 15 minutes for bread arrival. Cooked breakfast menu said we can order fried eggs in our own way and choice so I have said that I need egg to be fried with onion, chilli and salt so waiter said he will mention it when he place order to kitchen. Our food arrived in 10 minutes time but egg was just plain fried and waiter didn't have any manner to say- "sorry that they couldn't manage to make the egg in your way." Overall food wise I am not happy at all. Thanks

Reviewed by
ANJUM SHARHAN

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value ever
Would have been happy to £150!

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel or not a hotel?
On Sheffield University campus and clearly makes a lot of its money from university conferences etc. Rooms are fine - except that mine was rather small and no bath. Excellent toiletries. Full of elegant touches which don't quite come off. And strange things - like complicated card entrance to corridors and low ceilinged reception area half elegant and half college-utilitarian. My big grouse was breakfast - Contintental included cheese platter, home made rolls, fruit compote and home-made granola. None present - except one big slab of indifferent cheese, plastic bags full of sliced bread to toast yourself, and cereal comprising wheetabix and cornflakes. When I queried, was told they'd had a busy weekend (this was Monday) and deliveries had not yet arrived. If home-made, what's with the deliveres? And as the weekend was a wedding, they must have known well in advance they'd be busy.
so, a bit of an amateur air at times and getting away with things a hotel forced to make its way in the world could not. Price wise, I got a fantasitc deal with this site. For full price this would be not great value for money. But Sheffield Alumni get a special rate and I wonder whether anyone actually gets charged full price.

Reviewed by
Alison N

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Halifax Hall
We had a very comfortable stay here. The rooms are quite small, but well-appointed and extremely clean. The bathroom was particularly good. Staff were friendly and courteous. A good find. Don't be put off by its proximity to student halls!

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little hotel, quiet, free parking, nice coffee and home made cookies!
A great little hotel, quiet, free parking, nice coffee and home made cookies.
It is in the middle of a student village but not a sound could be heard from the room. Breakfast was nice and included in the price.
Great value and friendly, helpful staff, what more could you ask for?

Reviewed by
A Langton

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Room a little on the small side but it was perfectly adequate. Bathroom on the larger side. WiFi easy to connect to. Water from shower could have been hotter as could the coffee. No limits to quantity of coffee but really didn't fancy walking down corridor in my PJ's either late in evening or early in morning! Either way though it was a pleasant stay for money and staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
rebecca p

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent rooms and friendly staff.
A very well appointed room and en suite shower room. I left too early to get breakfast but the facilities looked very good. Coffee machines in the corridors was an unusual feature.
The only negative was the smell of paint as the hotel has been newly converted from student halls.

Reviewed by
William B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stopover
Although room wasn't very big it was exceptionally clean with everything we needed.
Hotel recently refurbished so fresh and pleasant decor.
Staff were most helpful
Although building set amongst uni accommodation we never heard any noise. Surprisingly quiet for being so close to city.

Reviewed by
Gillian W

From Glos, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop
This was excellent for a one night stop. The staff were extremely helpful and professional. Our room was a comfortable size and the bathroom was big. The hotel has recently been painted and all fittings looked new. Very comfortable, big beds!
Obviously we knew the hotel was next to student accommodation so at certain times of year it might be noisy but we had no problems.
Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice!

Reviewed by
m curtis

From Casnewydd, Wales
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oasis in the city
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff; excellent, well equipped room; wide range of choice and high quality of breakfast; pleasant leafy surroundings.

Reviewed by
Hugh A

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next