No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - lion and swan hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lion Swan Hotel, Swan Bank , Congleton, CW12 1AH
The lion and swan is a 14th century grade 1 listed building, full of charm and character.
We have 21 ensuit rooms ranging from single rooms, exec double rooms to family rooms.
We have two function room that can also be hired for weddings, christenings or other events.
We also boast our own restaurant which serves homecooked food, served 12 till 9 every day by our brigade of chefs.
Later meals can be arranged with advance notice.
Picture of lion and swan hotel, Congleton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Staff

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service food and comfy bed
excellent value for money and easy parking

Reviewed by
Dot Wright

From HULL, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't turn Right
Nice folk working on at the reception and they were very friendly and helpful. You can hear conversations in the hallways and outside. Ok for what we paid for on a Saturday night. Only health & safety point is that it could do with a "Do not turn right" sign as you leave their car park after a stay. No indication its a one way system until you drive around the bend, especially if you have not been to Congelton before.

Reviewed by
ANTHONY D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice creaky stay
This is a lovely old creaky building steeped in history. Our room was comfortable if not a bit noisy being on the front and hearing the nightlife emptying down the streets followed by the bin men very early! Also, the hotel was too hot. EVery radiator was truned up to the max. The windows were open in order to let the heat out and assist global warming!
The service was good however and the only staff member we dealt with was friendly and polite.
One last thing, in the information booklet in the room it mentions something about the hotel going back centuries.......but the booklet states "century's", with an apostrophe, which is wrong. Just a small observation but it needs mentioning!

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best place in Congleton.
Centrally situated, friendly staff, clean with great food.

Reviewed by
J PERRY

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
nice hotel in town centre. Good size carpark. Bedroom was just what we needed, comfortable bed and queen size too. Plenty of hot water. Would stay again

Reviewed by
l thomas

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy but nice
Beautiful and very interesting pub, staff were very friendly and the room was spacious, well decorated and clean. However didn't get much sleep due to the night life so it was a bit like sleeping on top of a speaker also I didn't realise the hotel has ghost tours so spent most of the night awake hiding under my duvet on a very hot summers night.

Reviewed by
P Holt

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful hotel in delightful town
Very pleasant welcoming hotel and restaurant staff.
Very hot night...fan was good but the duvet abit over the top

Reviewed by
Richard F

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed linen good but the duvet needs to be replaced, it was very heavy and did not fit the cover. The bed was small most hotels have two singles or king size beds.
The bathroom was large but as the sun came in through the very large window (and the toilet faced the window so was overlooked by the houses on the other side) this requires a blind.
The shelf above the basin is in the wrong place as your head hits the shelf when bending down to have a wash.

Reviewed by
J Richardson

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel lion and swan
Me and my partner were attending a wedding at a hotel just outside congelton we had booked a 1 night stay threw laterooms and then decided we wanted to stay a extra night as well as it was my Birthday we rang the hotel and they were very nice and booked is in
Wjen we arrived the hotel was stunning our room was fantastic had loads of space bed was comfy bathroom was amazing all the staff we met were very friendly breakfast was lovely I would defo recomend this hotel and would return again very pleased

Reviewed by
Gemma M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next