No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - lion and swan hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lion Swan Hotel, Swan Bank , Congleton, CW12 1AH
The lion and swan is a 14th century grade 1 listed building, full of charm and character.
We have 21 ensuit rooms ranging from single rooms, exec double rooms to family rooms.
We have two function room that can also be hired for weddings, christenings or other events.
We also boast our own restaurant which serves homecooked food, served 12 till 9 every day by our brigade of chefs.
Later meals can be arranged with advance notice.
Picture of lion and swan hotel, Congleton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room facilities
Lovely warm cosy room. In the morning the kettle, television and hairdryer did not work. Apart from one other guest staying in the hotel that evening, there were only myself and husband staying. Don't know why electric went off. Hotel no good if you are disabled.. No lift and steps on stairs are very steep. No one else in hotel and we were sent to the furthest end of hotel for our room. Lots of corridors and steps.

Reviewed by
VALERIE D

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Fantastic customer service, very clean room and all the basic items there. The only niggle I had was that as a vegetarian there was only a food menu choice of about 2 items. That said, the hotel is very central in the town centre.

Reviewed by
Stacey L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good pub/hotel. Friendly staff.
Good pub and hotel. Deceptively large no of rooms. Room was good quality. Food (breakfast) was good quality and prompt.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lion and swan hotel
The room was very comfortable, the staff were very pleasant without being intrusive. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Judith Worthington

From Ruabon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Staff

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service food and comfy bed
excellent value for money and easy parking

Reviewed by
Dot Wright

From HULL, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't turn Right
Nice folk working on at the reception and they were very friendly and helpful. You can hear conversations in the hallways and outside. Ok for what we paid for on a Saturday night. Only health & safety point is that it could do with a "Do not turn right" sign as you leave their car park after a stay. No indication its a one way system until you drive around the bend, especially if you have not been to Congelton before.

Reviewed by
ANTHONY D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice creaky stay
This is a lovely old creaky building steeped in history. Our room was comfortable if not a bit noisy being on the front and hearing the nightlife emptying down the streets followed by the bin men very early! Also, the hotel was too hot. EVery radiator was truned up to the max. The windows were open in order to let the heat out and assist global warming!
The service was good however and the only staff member we dealt with was friendly and polite.
One last thing, in the information booklet in the room it mentions something about the hotel going back centuries.......but the booklet states "century's", with an apostrophe, which is wrong. Just a small observation but it needs mentioning!

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best place in Congleton.
Centrally situated, friendly staff, clean with great food.

Reviewed by
J PERRY

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
nice hotel in town centre. Good size carpark. Bedroom was just what we needed, comfortable bed and queen size too. Plenty of hot water. Would stay again

Reviewed by
l thomas

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next