No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maiden Motel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Low Heworth lane, Heworth, Gateshead, NE10 0YJ
This pub offers en suite accommodation in the Heworth area of Gateshead. It has free Wi-Fi, free parking on site, and is a 5-minute walk from Heworth Rail Station.

Rooms at The Maiden Motel are modern, with a flat-screen TV for guests to enjoy. Each also offers facilities for making tea and coffee.

A range of drinks are available in the bar, and the pub also shows all major sporting events. There is frequent entertainment to enjoy, including karaoke on Fridays and a DJ on Saturdays.

Central Gateshead is 3 miles from the building, and Newcastle city centre is 4 miles away. A discounted taxi service is also available to guests.
Picture of Maiden Motel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad was one night
Booked this hotel as it was quite near family we were visiting. Upon arrival a very friendly lady behind the bar got our key and directed us outside to back of pub. We were then on our own!!! Room very basic but quite clean, if not bit scruffy. No directions how to check out etc so just left key in down. Awful bed..got hardly any sleep. Back door scruffy and very dark. Bit scary to be honest. Will never stay again

Reviewed by
A Niblett

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it s not really bad
I have read some bad review about this motel and about some noisy and disturbed man at the night. I came on Thursday and this problem didnot happen but it did on Friday night when the pub was opened late. The advantage is that the owner is so friendly and because the trouble on Friday so that on Saturday the pub should be opened late and loud of course, but we complained about the noise and trouble last night so the sound from the pub was reduced. I am so appreciated that. Generaly, it s not a bad one. Quitely close to station, room is okie, lack of some stuffs (I think the owner doesnot have experience on motel working) but they are inproving I think because there are some stuff that I have read there was not on previous review but I would be when I were there. You cannot expect too much for the cheap price motel. It s fine

Reviewed by
P Pham

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lot better than expected
After reading a lot of bad reviews I was very anxious about staying here. The staff were useful and friendly. The rooms were a lot nicer than expected. Although the bathroom is shared it remained clean and tidy. Even had a nice 32" tv in the room. Yes there was only one cup for 3 people but staff were friendly enough to assist. Only thing is we couldn't find any staff the next day to check out with so just left key by door. Cheap and just what we needed for a night out, somewhere to get changed and drunk and a bed to crash in. Taco to town was only Bout £7 so also very cheap.

Reviewed by
Sophie M

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic... But you get what you pay for
Greeted in the bar by the owner, was told had to pay cash even though this is not stated on the website. You have to go round the back to go up to your room, stairs steep, no light on staircase so be careful on a night. Awful smell of mold and damp walking up the stairs. Room was basic, lovely bathro but no soap or anything. Divan beds were dirty at the bottom. Carpet not the cleanest, no curtains, chips out the walls, tea coffee and sugar with cups provided. 40" plasma in room but no control. Beds really comfy. Music played down stairs till 12am do not ideal for a family with small children. The entry door down stairs to the rooms isn't locked or closed so it's left open all night. We had a drunken man knocking on our door at 11.30pm asking where room 5 was even though there isn't a room 5, he persisted to stand outside of room one claiming his wife had locked him out. We later found that the room was occupied by 4 young girls so he obviously had the wrong room and the wrong hotel maybe? Don't know what he was doing there! Not a bad place, loads of bad reviews but it's just basic, you get what you pay for, okay for somewhere to kip after a night out. Personally I wouldn't go back I would pay a little extra for something nicer, it's close to the town about 4 miles away, £8 in a taxi to town after 12am. It's livable, it's a room with a bed. Not that bad.

Reviewed by
Gemma Myers

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money!
I appreciate this motel is fairly budget however for £60 a room I do not expect to arrive and have to go out to buy towels as none have been provided. There was no shower curtain either so the bathroom was soaked once we washed. For £60 you merely got a hard bed with springs poking into your body, a toilet and a bath. That is it. I have stayed in hotels for £5 more a night which have been a thousand times better. The value for money was poor.
As soon as we arrived we were demanded to pay cash, and if we didn't have it we would have to go get it before we were allowed access to the room. I was told this was outlined on my booking but I hadn't seen anything about this and I had provided my card details.

Reviewed by
A Green

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
dead bugs in bathroom lights staff not helpful nothing Like it was described in the website didn't do food same bed sheets all weekend wouldn't recommend it

Reviewed by
c duffy

From LIVINGSTON, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for!
The room was very basic but clean enough. The shower head leaked which flooded the floor when switched on as there was no shower curtain. There are no hooks in the bathroom. The room accommodated myself and two daughters but we were only provided with two towels. There were two short flights up to the rooms. The first flight had no lighting and there was loose carpet on the stairs, an accident waiting to happen. Business is conducted from the busy bar. Music from the bar area pounded for most of the evening and could be heard very clearly from the bedrooms. It continued until midnight. Whilst this may be fine for some, we had travelled 300 miles from Kent arriving around 20:30 hours, We really didn't expect to be sleeping above a disco! I think potential customers should be warned about this.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The lady working behind the bar was really helpful, welcoming and friendly. Would definitely come again as it was really good value!

Reviewed by
Joel C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a pleasant little place. Cosy rooms. Value for money, although there was no toilet roll in any bathroom

Reviewed by
A Bell

From Compton Martin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking!!
We could put up with the banging music noise until midnight as we were prepared for that and the music was actually quite good. What we weren't prepared for were the stains on the bed sheets, the lack of refreshments and toiletries in the room considering the price and the sick all over the exit when we left on our final morning. The proprietors couldn't be blamed for the door banging, rowdy, noisy visitors all through the Saturday night. They can be blamed for the lumpy poor quality mattress and the cheap bed coverings. We realised why there was a huge TV in the room when we couldn't sleep during the night, there was nothing else to do (despite the obvious but we couldn't keep that going all night!!!).

Reviewed by
Scott W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next