No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Old Quarter

Warmoesstraat 20-22 , Amsterdam, 1012 JD
This hotel is situated in the centre of Amsterdam and features a 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi and cosy bar with darts. Old Quarter is only 550 metres from Dam Square.
Hotel Old Quarter offers simple rooms with TV, a telephone and shared or private bathroom facilities. Guests can start the day with a breakfast including bacon and eggs plus warm drink. Breakfast is charged at an extra cost.
Amsterdam Central Railway Station is 300 metres away and offers tram, metro and bus connections all over the city. Old Quarter Hotel is also a 10-minute walk from both the Rembrandthuis and the Kalverstraat shopping area.
The restaurant features traditional décor with wooden beams and serves a menu of simple Dutch dishes with desserts including home-made apple cake. A selection of soups, omelettes and baguettes are available at lunchtime.
Picture of Hotel Old Quarter, Amsterdam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Myself and my partner booked a room as it was advertised as a standard double on laterooms, however on arrival it was definitely not what we expected. It was a tiny twin room with separate toilet and shower, not the romantic ideal we hoped for. However, this said, the man on reception were very helpful and polite and transferred us to a different hotel which was much closer to what we had expected, a bigger room yet still a twin but the best he could do which we appreciated. The location is good, in the centre and near centraal station, so ideal if you are coming from the airport.

Reviewed by
Jennifer H

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy little room
TV was tiny and didn't work, room was to small and to close to the red light

Reviewed by
Callum J

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the money
The best thing about the hotel is the location, it is in the heart of Amsterdam and in walking distance to and from Centraal station. As you come out of the hotel everything you need is pretty much on the same strip.
When we arrived the hotel staff let us check in half an hour earlier as the room was avaliable which was helpful as we left our luggage and headed out into the city.
The room was basic but two large windows was handy as there was no air condition which wasn't a big problem. Bathroom again was basic but decent enough for the 4 nights.
The cleaning service was poor, we had clean towels changed every day but sheets and covers were possible changed once out of the whole duration of our stay.

Reviewed by
E Grayson-Davies

From Y Barri, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect base for our trip

Reviewed by
Lee S

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to pay 10Euro more for private bathroom which wasn't agreed upon booking and no mention of it at booking. Regardless, the bathroom was unclean and horrible. Meant to have paid online, had to pay when we got there. Seemed more expensive then what we was quoted. No darts as described either and right near the police station, no sound proofing, could hear sirens all night and the people in rooms around us. Cleaner tried walking in couple of times unannounced with a key. This was particularly frustrating when we were trying to dress in the morning, way before check out time.

Reviewed by
c davies

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I’ve ever experienced
Untidy, dirty, disgusting. No elevator, narrow spiral staircases.

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel
I found this is a budget hotel at a budget price, there was a bit of damp in the bathroom as when you have a shower it basically turns into a wet room, the stairs down to our room were basically vertical so not good for older guests, the beds are not comfy, the rooms can get a bit noisy with guests coming in late and unless you kept the portable heater on all night the room was freezing.
However, with paying £180 pound for 4 nights what could you really expect, for the money the hotel is exceptable, when we got there we didn't realise we had paid for a room with a shared bathroom (be sure to check this when booking) but when we asked he upgraded us free of charge, our room was very spacious with a view overlooking the canal on the Main Street, the staff are one of the friendliness people I have ever met and although you have to leave your key with reception when you leave the security of the hotel is high so you don't worry. We did eat there a few times and did have a problem on the first night when the burger was uncooked however they quickly changed it and we received free drinks so we didn't mind. The location cannot get any better, directly beside hunters coffee shop and in the next street to the red light district, you can't really asked for a more central location.
I would highly highly recommend this hotel for anyone just wanting a bed for the night as it's cheap and does the job!

Reviewed by
Lee M

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ajax V Celtic
Was staying one night for the football. Hotel had a great central location with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are basic but fine for a short stay, you only get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Gerald L

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

don't stay here. The most accurate reviews of this hotel are the most scathing
The staff are pleasant. The location is central. The rooms are not worth the money paid. Previously looked at the reviews for this hotel before I booked it. I think pople have been very generous to say the least. Our first room was noisy, door hanging on by one hinge, lamp broken. The carpet was so dirty we didn't want to take our shoes off. The matress was poor condition, if you haven't got a bad back before you stay here, you will have by the time you leave. We asked for a different room which they did provide (room 33) cleaner and quiter than room 5. The only reason we didn't demand our money back was because we knew amsterdam was pretty much fully booked and we would have ended up sleeping in schipol airport. This hotel is better than sleeping on the streets but not much. Before we arrived, we hoped for a clean, comfortable room. Once we'd seen the room, we just hoped we wouldn't bring home bed bugs - thankfully we didn't.

Reviewed by
Theresa K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is situation in an excellent location and the managers made our stay
The hotel was very basic but right in the heart of the city. There were no tea/coffee facilities in our room but we paid extra for an ensuite shower and toilet my nephew and son who travelled with us used the communal showers toilets. It is in bad need of redocorating and expected a better quality for how much we paid. However the managers made us welcome and informative which made our stay in Amsterdam more enjoyable, we would stay in The Old Quarter again but only because of the managers.

Reviewed by
m orwin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next