No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Market House Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Market House Inn, 12-14 Magdalene Street, , Glastonbury, BA6 9EH
The Market House Inn, Glastonbury's newest restaurant and lounge bar. Situated opposite the Abbey in the very heart of town. A great place to meet friends and socialise in our modern contemporary surroundings or eat alfresco in our summer garden. We have six amazing en suite bedrooms newly fitted with comfort in mind, with some overlooking both the Abbey and the Tor, unique to Glastonbury. With our own free private parking. Whether it's a business break or a family holiday we look forward to welcoming you to The Market House We have 6 rooms available at the moment, these are 2 family rooms that sleep 4 for £90.00 per night. 2 are double, twin or single, a double or twin and are £85.00 per night and the single is £70.00 per night. PLEASE NOTE . CECK IN MONDAY TO SATURDAY MUST BE BEFORE 21.00 HOURS AS WE ARE NOT A 24HOUR SERVICE. SUNDAY CHECK IN MUST BE BEFORE 1630 AS THE RESTAURANT IS CLOSED AFTER THIS TIME . All rooms have either en-suite or private bathrooms.ROOM 6 HAS ITS OWN BATHROOM BUT IT IS THE NEXT ROOM ALONG Why not view our Virtual Tour and see for yourself its at www.glastonburystour.com/markethouse
Picture of The Market House Inn, Glastonbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and friendly staff, lovely place to stay
I can't praise the staff highly enough for their care during my all-too-brief stay in Glastonbury at the weekend. I was offered help to bring my (considerable) amount of kit in and free parking not just for the night that I stayed, but for the whole of the next day too.

Reviewed by
Katie Rourke Dowding

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shortbreak holiday
Blind in room hard to go up and down. Nowhere to hang towels. Staff were very friendly when we did see them.. Our main complaint was the breakfast. It was lukewarm, soggy toast and the tomatoes and mushrooms were ice cold as if they had come out of a fridge. They had been cooked so hard to understand why. Staff doing breakfast seemed inexperienced and once we had been served we did not see them again. Even when we came down with our case and left the key there was still no one to speak to. Our almost full breakfast plates were still on the table.

Reviewed by
Doreen S

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely

Reviewed by
A Paszto

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Experience
We stayed in the Market House Inn and travelled to the Glastonbury Festival each day. We were not the only people in the hotel who were attending the festival. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The Food was excellent. The rooms were OK, but a million times better than a muddy field. Our room didn't have a proper shower, which I would have preferred, but we coped. Our room faced the main rod and the car park where the Glastonbury coaches picked up and dropped off. The people coming back later than us from the festival were very noisy, we could here every word. Nevertheless the hotel was a great experience and I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Karen E

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would recommend or stay again
The Market House Inn is a bar/restaurant with a few rooms above. I think it has recently been taken over, certainly the staff and owner were very present and keen to make sure everything went well.
The room itself was large and fairly well laid out, with a comfy bed, though it was a shame that only one side of the bed had a bedside table. The bathroom and shower were fine. The only mirror was in the bathroom and was obscured by the door when it was open so could only be used when the door was shut - a mirror was needed in the bedroom.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which is Italian and room guests get a discount. My husband had an excellent risotto, but my pizza was a disappointment, it was very soggy and I had asked for an extra topping which was forgotten. The staff were very apologetic and apparently the usual chef was off and they had a stand-in so they were struggling a bit. Breakfast was great though.
All very minor issues that can easily be sorted and are presumably all part of the change in management. Something to bear in mind is that the the bar is very popular and so rooms that overlook the outside seating area may not be suitable for anyone wanting an early night.
I would definitely stay again and I would expect that all the niggles will be fixed soon.

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 1
Small room, lacking a few normal hotel/b&b fittings.
TV only clearly visible from one bed.
Duvet too thick for summer so very hot at night.
Staff very friendly on arrival.
Hate having to state what you require for breakfast the following morning within moments of arriving!
Excellent location.

Reviewed by
Ian F

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice for visiting Glastonbury
Second stay for us at this small town centre hotel & restaurant with on-site parking. Rooms a little "tired", but clean, comfortable and great value for money. Staff were helpful and friendly and the cooked breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two days in Glastonbury.
Hotel welcome was good and friendly. All the staff were helpful and happy to chat. Had evening meal and breakfast there. They catered for our dietary requirements . Quality of food was good. Happy to have afternoon drink on the terrace on the second day and use hotel as our base. Room was clean and comfortable. Enjoy regular visits to Glastonbury and the hotel staff added to our enjoyment of our stay.

Reviewed by
David P

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Italian in Avalon
I was somewhat surprised on arrival at The Market House Inn in Glastonbury. I was expecting a re-furbished Inn with an air of the spirit of Glastonbury. Instead I walked into a contemporary furnished Italian bar and restaurant..
On arrival I was given the key to the wrong room much to the surprise of the occupant who was laying in bed as I opened the door! Having said that, the staff had changed my room in an effort to be helpful because of certain disabilities I have.
The bedroom was furnished simply but modern and was clean warm and comfortable. The only problems I found were being close to a fire exit door was noisy, the TV placed on top of the wardrobe was a little too high for me to watch without getting neck strain, and the only mirror was the small one over the sink. So pack a full length mirror if you want to see what you look like before going out!
I did find booking a set time for my breakfast was quite stressful a time slot is more acceptable; and as I was late the first morning (the music from the previous night vibrating from the bar had kept me awake) it was a bit overcooked and rather crispy!
I was the only one in a large restaurant and it was far too quiet no background music, no atmosphere and had a cold unwelcoming feel about it.
The second morning was a Sunday (The Market Inn closes all day on Sunday.) I did get my full English breakfast and made sure I was dead on time as didn't fancy another dried up meal.
I didn't eat any other meals at The Market House Inn as the whole Italian feel didn't appeal to me as it was out of place in the surroundings.
In short, the staff were helpful, the establishment was clean, but Italian in Avalon is not for me.

Reviewed by
sandra pye-coombs

From Tintagel, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully presented accomodation, centrally located.
Everyone was really friendly, nothing was too much trouble. My room was lovely and I felt very safe (important as a female travelling alone). I had a lovely time and will be back.

Reviewed by
Michelann B

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next