No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church Street Townhouse

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
16, Church Street , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 6HB
The Church Street Townhouse is a small, town centre boutique hotel with an all-day bar and brasserie and 12 luxury ensuite bedrooms. Housed in a 400 year old Grade II Listed building and located directly opposite Shakespeare’s school, it is the perfect base to soak up the history, culture and entertainment that our wonderful town offers.

The gorgeous en-suite bedrooms all feature a super-king bed, luxurious velvet headboard, crisp cotton sheets and fluffy feather pillows. Each room has a flat-screen TV with DVD player, an ipod dock, a hair-dryer, ceramic straighteners and free WiFi. A selection of complimentary refreshments; luxury tea and coffee with fresh milk, bottled mineral water, a mini decanter of port and a pack of hand-made shortbread. The rooms vary a little in size; some have views of the Old Town whilst others have roof top views and may be a little quieter. All room rates include all taxes and delicious à la carte breakfasts.

Our bustling neighbourhood bistro is open all day so whether you fancy a light lunch, a delicious afternoon tea, a speedy pre-theatre supper or a relaxed dinner, we are ready for you with great food and smiley staff. We have two charming bars offering a great selection of wines, beers, Champagnes, soft drinks and a menu of tasty, fast bar snacks. The piano in the Blue Bar is played at 5.30pm during the week and our famous Champagne happy hour starts promptly at 5pm on Fridays!

We can't wait to welcome you!
Picture of Church Street Townhouse, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Experience
Very friendly staff with an atmosphere to suit everyone. Relaxing library bar and a lively bar with music. Breakfast was lovely, a great stay.

Reviewed by
C Rowlatt

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in the centre of things
A last minute decision to add Stratford to our trip and I'm glad we did. This small hotel is an absolute gem. The girl on reception was very friendly and helpful. Our room was surprisingly large with super king size bed and although we were right next to the rant/bar on the ground floor the room was well soundproofed(even though there was a party going on). Nice touches such as the decanter of port and bundle of shortbread and the toiletries were of high quality which included toothbrushes and shaving kit. We did not eat dinner in the dining room but enjoyed a hearty breakfast. Just a note that there was not much choice if you did not want a cooked breakfast, no cereal or fres fuit. All in all a great stay and great value. Now if only the weather would have cooperated.

Reviewed by
M Jeffries

From Port Moody, Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room condition
We stayed this time in room 11 on an exceptionally hot weekend.
This room is not air-conditioned as room 4 is and was extremely hot. There hasd been provision made by a fan and a 'Refrigerated' fan, the latter was of no use whatever and did not even reduce the temperature.
The top of the Hotel is a very hot area and we could feel the temperature rising as we ascended the stairs, so were sure our room would be even hotter.
needless to say we did no sleep at all well.
When I mentioned this to reception I was told that as the building is listed they are not able to add air-conditioning? Room 4 does have a form of air conditioning?
Little disappointed this time, though the food in the evening and at breakfast second to none.

Reviewed by
Tony Crabtree

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service. Downstairs was beautiful but bedrooms were very small for a couple. Food was average. Little bit over priced at £110 per night. Situated in centre of Stratford so very convenient for sightseeing. Port and shortbread in room was a nice touch. Overall good but could be cheaper.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Townhouse
Stayed in quite a few hotels over last 20 years in Stratford and must say the Townhouse is excellent. Great customer service, lovely rooms and an excellent breakfast which is served until 11 for residents. Will stay again!

Reviewed by
John T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay in a well run hotel
Staff were attentive without being intrusive and next time we go to see a play in Stratford we will definitely stay here again
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Lee F

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel, staff, location. No negatives!
Fabulous hotel with professional but non-starchy atmosphere and staff. Perfection location with provision for cheap parking. Every attention to detail (even hair straighteners!!). We couldn't speak highly enough of this hotel, the staff, the location and the food. Well done Church Street Town House! Would definitely recommend to a friend and would definitely go back

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stratford bolt hole
Excellent Hotel and a pleasure to visit, however not if you are allocated room 4.
The window is frosted and unable to be opened, so no outside view or means of obtaining fresh air.
The air conditioning is by no means a substitute.

Reviewed by
Tony Crabtree

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal stay in the middle of Startford upon Avon
Staff were very efficient and helpful. Great duet singing in the bar when I turned up. Lovely room and breakfast. Ideal place for a romantic weekend away and exploring Stratford.

Reviewed by
A Griffiths

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem in the heart of Stratford
Excellent location and great value for money. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
The room was delightful with lots of nice little touches. I would have liked tea and coffee facilities but that was my only minor gripe. The restaurant food is simply excellent as was the breakfasts and there was lots of choice. I would happily stay again but next time I will stay for two nights and not just the one.

Reviewed by
Clare Q

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next