No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lynton Cottage Hotel

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Lynton Cottage Hotel, North Walk , Lynton, EX35 6ED
This Grade II listed Georgian hotel has panoramic sea views over the North Devon coast line. Set 500 feet above sea level, this is a stunningly beautiful and tranquil location. The Hotel offers a variety of Superior, Deluxe and Classic rooms, all en suite. Balcony, Four Poster or Ground Floor rooms, are available by request, subject to availability. Located only 100 metres from the village centre of Lynton, in the heart of Exmoor. Surrounded by stunningly beautiful scenery, Exmoor is a major attraction for walkers. The Hotel facilities include Dining Room, Residents Lounge & Bar. FREE WIFI in bedrooms. The author C.S.Lewis visited here in 1925, and stated "The view from the Balcony was beyond everything I have seen".
Dinner - It is necessary to book a table, 24 hours in advance.
Food is available every evening. 6pm - 7.30pm.
Picture of Lynton Cottage Hotel, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfactory standard
The room was clean and well presented, although the sea view boasted from all rooms was only visible from the corner of the room and bending your neck around. The bed was extremely comfortable and the quilt was light and warm. Not recommended for anyone with any mobility problems as we had to climb 3 sets of steep stairs to get to our room. No assistance was offered with luggage which is the reason for the low customer service mark. Tea and coffee facilities were up on a high shelf behind a chest of drawers, very difficult to get to. No outside light after 11pm and a very dark steep entrance down to the hotel, who takes a torch on holiday?

ManagementResponse

The room booked was both the smallest and cheapest, although other, more expensive rooms were available at time of booking. The room is advertised, clearly, as having a "Restricted sea view". The room is further shown from all angles, in photographs on our website. We are adding a Balcony to this room during the winter. We offer Ground floor rooms for Guests with mobility issues, which was not the situation in your case. We do offer assistance with luggage, if Guests are struggling or request assistance. This was not requested. The external car park lighting is on until late in the evening, but not beyond a reasonable time. Thereafter, other security lights are on within the building. This is so as not to interfere with those Guests who come here for the "Dark Skies Reserve" of which Exmoor is the first. Lynton is not a "party" town, and it is unusual for our Guests to be coming back in the early hours of the morning. Our marketing is also tailored to discourage this. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline V

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great View
Staying in room 3 a perfect view of the sea and sea
Comfy Bed and nice room

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
N Cleeve

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Pleasant stay, just didn't like being over the reception area, felt like an added on room a bit, the shower flow could have been stronger, but bathroom very clean. Outstanding beautiful views. Breakfasts were lovely and staff were attentive in the dining room. General criticism which sadly goes with many hotels is UHT milk, really don't like it, hence we did not have a drink in the room, except the hot chocolate which was lovely.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. Fresh milk is available on request. It is not practical for us to store anything other than UHT in the rooms. The room booked was the lowest tariff offered. On your next visit you may wish to opt for one of the Superior grade rooms which are only a modest amount higher. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
Erica P

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly good hotel
This hotel is perfectly adequate, it is clean , everything works, and it has great views over the dramatic coastline. Unfortunately the manager never came out of his cupboard behind reception to engage with the guests ; he gave the impression that he had more important things to do than talk to guests. A bit more enthusiasm from the staff would make such a difference - it can be what seperates a good hotel from a special place to stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. Our marketing philosphy is to provide the best facilities we can, with unobtrusive service. We do not "pester" but are always there if you need us. A swift glance at Trip Advisor, will show that our ratings for staff service are extremely high, and our staff very popular. As a small Family run hotel, I am an Owner / Manager. This gives me the honour, to be always present on Reception. or to be found in the Dining Room at Breakfast and sometimes at Dinner. Since buying the Hotel in June 2013, we have undertaken a large renovation and refurbishment, in order to provide Guests with probably the best facilities in town. This is continuing unobtrusively to the rear of the building at the moment, and we are already in the planning stages for our November project. This drive for improvements to the Hotel, gives me a double job, "self inflicted", and keeps me busy for approximately 80 hours per week, every week. If I gave the wrong impression, this is regrettable, and your comments are contrary to the majority found on Trip Advisor. I am always here for our Guests.

Reviewed by
C Pleasant

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the place to stay!
Check in faultless and professional yet friendly
Accomodation - fab, clean, spacious with every detail covered - perfect
Food: Excellent presented well and very fresh and flavourful
Location - perfect just what the web site says
Parking free and plantiful.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
John Harrison

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
Clean
Cosy
Good food
Fab views
Comfortable rooms

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
Annette S

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at the Lynton Cottage
We very much enjoyed our stay. We were very pleased to get an unexpected upgrade and the views from the lounge and bedroom were superb. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Sally B

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lived up to expectations. Bathroom was larger than expected and exceptional. Bed was very attractive-looking, large and with a very comfortable and firm mattress. Cottage Suite was a very good size. The desk manager could have been a little more customer-friendly.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stepping back in time...
We thoroughly enjoyed the location and were amazed at the of the size of the suite we had with a great expanse of old beams and a wonderful 6ft bed!! The views were amazing and Lynton itself is so beautiful!! Our only real criticism was it was a little tired with regard to the decor particularly in the bathroom but we understand that the hotel is undergoing various stages of upgrade and renewal. We will definately return to this hotel. Loved it!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. This room is the only one in the Hotel currently without a seaview, and is offered at budget prices. It is due to be upgraded to a Suite, now that we have planning permission to change the windows, that will then give the most magnificent views over the Bay. We will take on board your comments reference the decor, and will review this promptly. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will come back later in the year, after the full upgrade. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
Yvette Tyler

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Occasional tripper
This hotel was everything we expected

Reviewed by
Michael Grugan

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next