No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lorna Doone Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street, , , Porlock, TA24 8PS
Take a tour of the picturesque village of Porlock, travel through the narrow streets with its interesting shops and boutiques. Porlocks origins can be traced back to the 12th century and has some lovely old thatched buildings, an ancient parish church. Have a ride up the famous Porlock hill into the surrounding countryside and see the breath-taking views of Exmoor, Porlock and Porlock Weir. All our bedrooms are en-suite, individually furnished and each named after a character from the Lorna Doone story. Enjoy superb local fare in our restaurant. Relax with coffee in our cosy residents lounge or perhaps a drink at the bar. All our facilities will go towards assuring you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. Toni and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel. We can assure you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. So if your looking for the perfect Romantic Getaway, a family retreat, or you are interested in retracing the steps of Lorna Doone - a story based on real people and real places, then the proprietors of the Hotel Toni and Dick look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel.
Picture of The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet get away
We had a lovely time at the Lorna Doone Hotel, we were made to feel very welcome from the start. The service was brilliant and the meals lovely....will definatly be staying there again.

Reviewed by
L Schnur

From Cullompton, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed laid back stay
Landlady was welcoming & friendly . Small double room had everything you need for short stay , even more than some much larger hotels ! Breakfast was served at a reasonable hour 8- 10 & again with a smile ! Easy to find on high street & with in easy reach of a few bars & restaurants.
Only disappointment was bar hours were unclear & returned one night 11.15 to bar being closed ?
On the whole would definatly reccomend & stay gain.

Reviewed by
c hodges

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely weekend in somerset hotel good , location ideal for touring area

Reviewed by
david j

From pembroke dock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in Porlock
We received a very friendly welcome. We might stay there again.But for some this would not be their ideal choice. By modern standards the room was small, with shower but no bath. There are no lifts., There is some parking but often you would have to park in a nearby Car Park, where the meter would have to be 'fed' (parking charges after 9.00am). Breakfast was adequate. 'Cooked' was well cooked, with a choice. You made your own toast which is both an advantage (my wife hates cold toast) and a disadvantage. We dined in two out of four nights. On both occasions service was slow, but it was well worth waiting for. It represented good value for money (£260 B & B for the two of us for four nights). The other point of recommendation is the town itself. Porlock has lots of interesting buildings, and for its size it has an amazing range of shops. (We needed both a camera shop, a chemists and the Post Office,which also has a very good 'walking gear' outlet). This is pony/horse riding country and a room on the road side would give you endless entertainment seeing them go past and slowing down the traffic. No one seemed to mind! Overall we had a good experience and this family-run hotel represented good value for money.

Reviewed by
david coulton

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
We had quite a small double room and tiny bathroom, all of which needed up dating, but quite clean. I wouldn't stay here again, but it was okay for a couple of nights. The staff were friendly, and the location was very nice.

Reviewed by
B Linfield

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Very quaint hotel but with all you need, clean with a bath and shower, breakfast very good with a help yourself to as much toast juice etc. Free WiFi in lounge area and up to date TV in room, if you are looking for a lovely oldy world break and not a modern hotel you won't be disappointed here, parking a very short distance and a lovely host

Reviewed by
p fowkes

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was very poor, shower didn't work very well and room was very old and tried with a lot of cleaning to be done

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr and Mrs, or Miss and Mr, Thank you for your review, very heartwarming that you say nothing to the owner or staff....but decide to just 'put it out there for all the world to see' Do pop in for a cuppa should you be passing again. Regards, Mo

Reviewed by
Tracey A

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable friendly hotel

Reviewed by
lynne f

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
my wife and I spent a lovely couple of days here great place breakfast and food in the evening excellent

Reviewed by
r hodgson-reed

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a friendly hotel and village
Mo was really welcoming and the room was well prepared. The hotel is showing its age but the price and other reviews had lead us to expect that. Porlock is a beautiful place with friendly shops and people (especially Eric who works tirelessly to make the village look it's best for residents and visitors). The Visitor Centre and the Museum were really well presented and very interesting. Toni cooked us a wonderful breakfast on both mornings and Mo was perfect as "front of house". There are plenty of fantastic walks around and outside the village, with stunning views everywhere. A truly relaxing weekend. Thank you so much Toni and Mo.

Reviewed by
David L

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next