No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown And Cushion

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
84 High street, , , Eton, SL4 6AF
The Crown and Cushion is a delightful pub with 8 en-suite rooms. It is pleasantly situated in Eton high street, which is a stones throw from Windsor. Situated in the picturesque setting of Eton High Street we are surrounded by history. Dating back to the 1600’s, The Crown and Cushion has been an Inn since 1753. Just minutes walk from Windsor Castle and Eton College and a short drive away from various attractions including Legoland, Royal Ascot Racecourse and Cliveden House. Having recently been refurbished, The Crown and Cushion offers you good food and good accommodation at reasonable prices. We have eight en-suite rooms: 2 Kings, 4 Doubles and 2 singles. Put up beds and / or a travel cot can be added if needed at no extra cost. Continental Breakfast is included. The building is full of character and is very quirky in places. Allegedly built from old ships timbers some of the floors are wonky and lots of the floorboards are creaky – but that is what makes it charming! The rooms are situated over two floors so if you require a first floor room please mention at the time of booking and we will do our best. We have an unusual American theme and our aim is to make you feel as relaxed as possible and send you off happy whether you have just had a drink, meal or a whole night’s stay. There is an outside patio should you wish to eat or drink outside. All our food is available for takeaway if you don’t have time to stop or you want to eat at home. For our staying guests, parking is available on site but this is not unlimited and we therefore request that parking is allocated to one car per booking. We will try and accommodate any reasonable request from any of our customers so if you do have any special requirements then please just ask. *June 2013 – Please be aware that whilst our rooms are refurbished we are in the final phase of finishing the bathrooms some redecoration work may be in progress we will try and keep any disruption to a minimum.
Picture of The Crown And Cushion, Eton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place with character, nice distance to walk into Windsor over the bridge. Weather wise - had a very hot weekend, so could have done with a fan in the room. Our room was a little small but to be fair was the only one available for our stay. Pleasant and helpful staff, food excellent.

Reviewed by
Michael K

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Stayed one night whilst visiting the area, Windsor is just short walk over the bridge. There was parking at the back of the pub and we left the car there to save parking in Windsor. Room was small and the stairs up to it a bit uneven but it was fine for our stay. Had food in the evening which was excellent, large portions and very hot. Breakfast was basic continental, fine for what we wanted. The staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cruise
Very friendly staff, room and breakfast very nice.
Only negative thing is that in the room where we stayed there was not shaver point but maybe there is in the other rooms.
Would recommend

Reviewed by
M Lee

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly
Happy to help

Reviewed by
Dawn M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful little gem in a lovely village
Very warm welcome, friendly and quaint. Room was very clean, bed comfy and suited our needs for a one night stay. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Angela W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location/room and service
We stayed at The Crown and Cushion for one night mid-week. The room we had was lovely, spacious and quirky (floor boards uneven), I love this as the place has so much character, but obvioulsy this is not everyone's taste. It was quite noisey at times, but when you are staying in a pub, this is only to be expected. The landlord and staff were extremely helpful and friendly and breakfast in the morning was great. The location of the pub was great as it is right next to the bridge where you can walk over to Windsor. Thus giving loads of choice for meals/nights out. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
C Waterfield

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pub with rooms,lovely old pub in heart of Eton, room was very basic with no rail to hang clothes but clean and tidy, the bathroom facilities were very good and modern.Needs to fine tune the finish in the room but I think there was still ongoing work.

Reviewed by
IAN J

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and quirky
This is in an excellent location, handy for the theatre, shops and restaurants and all things touristy. The accommodation is quaint and quirky and the uneven floors and stairs add to its charm. The food (both evening meals and breakfast) is first class, as is the selection of ales and we will definitely be making a return visit.

Reviewed by
April H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

as others have said quirky but great fun staff friendly and very helpful
in prime location lot cheaper than accomodation in windsor would recommend to friends

Reviewed by
r walton

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely break
Great location, fantastically helpful staff. Shower was a bit iffy and the wifi was at first but the staff did everything they could to try to fix those things. The included breakfast.was plentiful and the room well heated.

Reviewed by
Paula W

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next