Reviews - The Duke's Head Hotel

3

Front Street, ,, Armathwaite, CA4 9PB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • doreen s

  • July 2015

Holiday Stopover

This was a really nice place to stay.

Evening meals were very nice and breakfast was lovely. It is in a very nice area and we enjoyed walking by the river that is just a minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Sophie C

  • June 2015

Lovely weekend break !

Staff were lovely , always very friendly and willing to help however they could.

Only downside was that you needed to drive everywhere. But very beautiful places to see. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Chris B

  • April 2015

warm welcome and room spotlessly clean.

Food well cooked and prices reasonable. Top service provided on departure as needed to be away as 8.15 (which I informed them of on arrival) and the breakfast was ready and well cooked the second I sat down at 8.00am. would stay again.

  • A Whitehead

  • February 2015

A pub with potential

We booked The Duke's Head as we needed a last minute place to stay and thought a pub would be preferable to a services motel.

However I was quite disappointed. The welcome wasn't especially welcoming and the evening food was nothing special. The en-suite was tired with a shower that had no pressure. We had been camping in Scotland and really wanted a decent bath or shower. Breakfast was tasty and the setting was beautiful, but I felt like we interrupted the owners from running a locals pub.

  • Brian Mason

  • September 2014

This hotel is 1st class

  • david Waugh

  • August 2014

Right by the river

Lovely small town in the country right on the river.

Spare some time & talk a walk about. Close enough to the M6 for a stop over

  • Stephen M

  • August 2014

Nice pub with great food

  • P Holden

  • August 2014

Stobart Weekend

On arrival we were made very welcome even though the restaurant was very busy and a table was reserved for us.

We were asked what time we woud like breakfast and this did impress me.

The owners and the staff made us feel very special we had a great stay.

  • Ian F

  • July 2014

Lone traveller

Relatively low cost (£60) but room was tired and in need of an update, very old c1940s furniture and 1980s shower suite.

Food very good and well presented. Not ba for an older characterful pub/restaurant.

  • Ray T

  • October 2013

Good comfortable stay

Great room and good food.

The only down side was the loud music and bar noise which kept us away for a while.