No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Braes Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
The Braes Guest House, Tirindrish, , Spean Bridge, PH34 4EU
Magnificent Views, a Genuinely Warm Welcome and Excellent Breakfasts – what more could you want? If you're looking for bed and breakfast in the Scottish Highlands, look no further than 'The Braes', just 10 miles north of Fort William on the edge of the village of Spean Bridge. We are especially well known for our superb breakfasts, offering a wide choice to suit all tastes and appetites. With peaceful gardens, spectacular views and a genuinely warm welcome, you've come to the right place! Highland hospitality at its best ... All our bedrooms (2 double bedded, one double/triple, one single and one twin) have en-suite facilities or private bathroom. Relax in our comfortable lounge with a book or magazine from our varied selection, challenge one other to a board game or simply enjoy the wonderful views of Aonach Mor & The Grey Corries. The perfect base to tour the Highlands of Scotland ... Why spend your precious holiday time packing and unpacking? We are located at the 'Crossroads of the Highlands', just 15 minutes from Ben Nevis and Fort William, with Skye, Glencoe, Oban, The Road to the Isles, Inverness, Dalwhinnie, The Cairngorms and more, all less than 2 hours away. 'The Braes' is the ideal base for those who enjoy the many outdoor pursuits for which the area is famous. We have excellent drying facilities, lock-up storage for bicycles and will gladly provide an early continental breakfast and packed lunches.
Picture of The Braes Guest House, Spean Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful and pleasant
The proprietor was very helpful and co-operative about our late arrival and in finding us fuel late at night. Comfy bed, good shower, very tasty breakfast. All good.

Reviewed by
Oliver M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Braes family run guest house
The Braes is a family run guest house and on arrival was greeted and welcomed by (Philippe) who was a very polite and informative person' who not only helped in settling me into my accommodation but was also able to give me sound and good advice on activities within the surrounding areas; my room was a single room situated at the rear of the premise overlooking a wooded area and was very clean and tidy and had recently been redecorated (perfect for the single traveller) all the services you would expect from a lager hotel were provided for " Tea, Coffee, Biscuits, Kettle, laundered bedclothes, towels and en-suite" which were cleaned changed and replenished on a daily basis.
The Braes is situated a short distance from the starting point to the climb of Ben Nevis (approximately a 10 – 15 minute drive) along a straight and single road which was perfect for me as I wanted to be close' but not too close to be affected by the likely increase in cost and influx of people who you would expect been too close to Ben Nevis.
So all I can say really is a big thank you to "Teresa & Philippe" for their hospitality and first class service and “The Braes is a first class Guest House ideally situated for access to Ben Nevis, the short trip to Loch-ness and Urquhart Castle and other great surrounding features and would most defiantly recommend and look forward to staying with them again”

Reviewed by
Paul E

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room with panaromic view and clean interior.
A joyful experience! Great hosts and attentive assistance.definitely recommended for any
Visitor in the Nevis range area.

Reviewed by
J Loh

From Canada
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better experience than a hotel in my opinion
Really great value for money, and very friendly/helpful hosts. Conveniently close to the Nevis range. I was in a single room, which was clean and comfortable, if a little small. Not sure what the other rooms are like. There are no TV's in the rooms, but there is a pleasant lounge where residents can relax (which I prefer). The host sometimes pops in to chat and is very good at providing information on the locality. Will definitely go back if I plan more walking in the area.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

(Mini) Tour of Scotland
A wonderful guest house to stay at, very friendly atmosphere, great food and biker friendly. My good lady and I arrived on our motorbikes on a glorious sunny Thursday afternoon after a ride up from Campbeltown and a quick explore of Neptune's Staircase and the Glenfinnan monument. Lovely comfortable room with spectacular views of the Nevis range, a great breakfast and wonderful hospitality. A 10 minute walk into Spean Bridge for all the local amenities and restaurants (Russell's is amazing but book in advance). Catch the service train to Mallaig, a great day out weather permitting. Highly recommended, we will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Iain Wilson

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, friendly staff.
The full breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly and provided great local tips on restaurants, hikes, etc.

Reviewed by
R Hogan

From USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recomened
Ideal place for exploring the Highlands around Fort William. I had a very pleasant stay at The Braes Guest House. Nice friendly husband and wife team who made very welcome. I would be very happy to there again.

Reviewed by
Andrew Lilley

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
The accommodation was excellent but best of all was the friendliness and helpfulness of the host and hostess. It felt like a home from home!

Reviewed by
Sara L

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place we will be back !
Excellent place to stay . I couldn't have been more pleased . We are already planning a return visit !

Reviewed by
Denise S

From Isle of Arran, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, Friendly service, and a GREAT view from the window
We stayed here as our base for our highland holiday.
The views from the room of the Nevis Range were simply stunning.
The hosts have an attitude of going the extra mile and really make you feel welcome.
The breakfasts were great and set you up for the day
The hosts do not do evening meals, but with local restaurants nearby it's not an issue.
We will be returning here for our next holiday again using it as a base and can thoroughly recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Trevor Wilson

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next