No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Redwood Hotel & Leisure

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Beggar Brush Lane Bristol, Somerset, Bristol, BS8 3TG
Set in 16 acres of tranquil woodland, just 10 minutes from Bristol, this stylish Hotel offers extensive leisure and spa facilities, a 130-seat cinema, free Wi-Fi and parking.

Whether business or pleasure, it is the ideal country retreat with a dizzying array of on-site facilities and recreational activities.

Each en-suite room is comfortable and well-appointed, boasting traditionally designed interiors with many also featuring scenic views of the grounds.

The historic Summer House Restaurant offers fine dining with a modern twist, or there’s private dining in the beautiful Oak Room or Panelled Room. The Hotel’s Leisure Club offers a 130-seat cinema, an indoor pool, two outdoor pools, an extensive gymnasium, sauna, steam room, 5 tennis courts and 7 squash courts.

The Hotel is just 5 miles from the M5 and 7 miles from Bristol Airport. It’s the perfect base for visitors to such attractions as Cabot Circus, SS Great Britain, Bristol Zoo, At-Bristol Science Centre, Cheddar Gorge, Cheltenham and Weston-super-Mare.

If you wish for the Sofa bed to made up in the Classic Double Room please contact the hotel prior to arrival.
Picture of Redwood Hotel & Leisure, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but worn
Great hotel, good value for money for around Bristol, extremely friendly and very helpful staff. Quiet at night so good night's sleep. Leisure complex attached. Large spreading hotel, furniture and décor a little tired in places. Need to know O2 reception virtually non-existent and Wi-Fi can be intermittent. Only one paper available in the morning.

Reviewed by
David W

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend trip to Redwood hotel Bristol
stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Bristol. The hotel is in a central location easily accessed by taxi to the city centre roughly 10/15 minutes away. Breakfast was wonderful. The staff very friendly and attentive making sure we had everything that we needed. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
ray baldock

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
We were staying at the Redwood as it was in close proximity of the 80's music festival. the staff at reception very kindly allowed us to check in early and they alwasy gave us very useful instructions to the festival venue. The only negative with the hotel, is that it is a bit dated and the walls are quite thin, so every little noise can be heard

Reviewed by
K Flowers

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good facilities
Has a very good gym

Reviewed by
C Spencer

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return if in area
Not as expected, but good food and service. Telephone signal non existent for O2 customers. Wifi free but slow. Evening restaurant service slow, but food good. Breakfast is a buffet but excellent quality. Loads of car parking spaces

Reviewed by
adrian y

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely pleased with accommodation and locality
Hotel very good - rooms very clean - decoration a little tired but nevertheless very acceptable - pleasant workers and great breakfast - lovely grounds - would recommend

Reviewed by
Patricia G

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay - value for money

Reviewed by
Tracey C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful but the hotel and leisure facilities are a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment. Despite this, it was good value and would use for business purposes again.

Reviewed by
C Blair

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a pleasant stay
Leisure club not open. Shower was not a shower and more like a leaking tap. Decor tired. Asked to pay for a pint of cider after the barrel ran out and only had three quarters of a pint. In fairness after I was asked about my stay and conveyed the above they offered money off another stay but we're not able to offer anything for this stay. I declined. Oh and apparently the shower does work if you put the hot tap in the sink for two minutes before a shower. The plug in the basin leaked so much I had to leave the tap on to have a shave. Avoid at all cost I would say!

Reviewed by
Richard B

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a big disappointment
I was really looking forward to staying here on the basis of the promotional material and felt very let down by the experience.
Whilst the quality of the room was ok, it wasn't as nice as I had expected it to be. The room was heated by a tiny little electric heater which blasted out unendurable heat close by but didn't really heat up the room properly.
It was surprisingly noisy and this carried on well past midnight, with lots of to-ing and fro-ing and poor sound insulation, it was difficult to get to sleep on the first night.
When I tried to order room service I discovered my room phone was broken so had to go out and order it. I was told that my phone would be repaired but no one came to do anything about it. The food (Chicken Caesar Salad) priced around £13 was inedible as it was absolutely drenched in a very harsh dressing so I had to leave most of it.
No effort was made to recompense in any way when these matters were raised at the point of checking out, when I discovered that they had even charged me an extra £2.50 for the privilege of room service - a fact which had not been on the room service menu.
Overall, thoroughly disappointed and will definitely never go there again. I'm just thankful I didn't pay the full price!

Reviewed by
M duff

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next