No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bayhouse

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9 Esplanade Rd , , , Scarborough, YO11 2AS
Easy to stay with, and easy on your pocket, Bay House offers superior accommodation at great prices.Bay House offers you a warm and friendly welcome, comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms with Egyptian cotton bedding and a really great service so you feel relaxed and free to enjoy your stay. A real haven of peace and tranquillity in what is a really convenient and beautiful part of Scarborough. There are fridges provided in the family rooms and glasses will be provided for guests wishing to bring their own alcohol. Check in time is 2 pm, check out 10 am. Bay House puts you in the heart of Scarborough's attractions, easy access to the Spa and beach, a short walk to town and Scarborough's vibrant night-life. Bay House aims to provide you with a home from home, tea and coffee making facilities in your room, en-suite, multi-channel flat screen TV's and free wireless access. A hearty breakfast is served in our beautiful first floor dining room with sea views. Scarborough offers many attractions for guests to enjoy, called the "Queen of the Yorkshire Coast" Scarborough offers many attractions for all the family to enjoy including Europe's largest outdoor theatre. North Yorkshire is England's largest rural county, where you will discover the natural landscape of The North Yorkshire Moors and the rugged beauty of the coastline. You will fall in love with Bay House and Scarborough, and want to return, time and time again. Bay house is situated two minutes walk away from the Esplanade and cliff lift and is also convenient for the railway station which provides a rail link to York, a fantastic historical city which is home to the largest Gothic Cathedral in Northern Europe, The York Minster. We are situated in the 'South Bay' which offers a fantastic beach and harbour complete with tourist shops and funfair.
Picture of Bayhouse, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'm sorry but I was very dissapointed , and not valued !!
I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed . I am a business user , and would like to think that I am fairly rational and reasonable in my expectations . I have read reviews in the past and always see certain reviews that are negative , disproportionate and unreasonable .
I booked for four nights on the strength of previous reviews , on the first night I wished I had not done so , but did not wish to break my booking as I am aware small businesses are dependant upon peak trading income .
On arrival I had to wait approx 7 minutes before the door was answered , although I had already advised of my arrival time on two previous occasions . I rang the bell 3 times in this period .
I was greeted by the lady , I gave my name , she did not give hers but proceeded to take me to my room . I like dogs however....... as I attempted to climb the stairs to the top floor ( about 6 flights of stairs) her small dog was at my legs . I was trying to lump up my heavy case and a bag without tripping at the time ....this was far from ideal , as I was concerned of not only hurting the dog but also tripping myself .
I informed the lady that I would not be able to have breakfast as I was up very early , although I did not ask for any reduction this also was not offered , it was not until the second day that she said I could have some fruit juice . When I paid for my room in cash , although I did need a receipt , none was offered , even though the lady knew I was a business user .
I booked for a single room which could take twin beds , but I was put into a room which could only take one . This was room 8 , this was not the booking I made and was put into a smaller room than the one which I had made the booking and paid for . I had booked this room for a little bit more space .
The booking stated that it would be for a shared bathroom . Although this was not ideal , I understood when I made the booking , however had I known that the bathroom was 2 flights of stairs lower than my bedroom , I would have not booked at this establishment . The lady also did not show me my room nor the bathroom .
The bathroom top window was clear , an adjacent higher bedroom, 4 foot away , had a clear view into the bathroom . This was not good , as a male it was not ideal , as a woman it would have been completely unacceptable ! The shower cubicle was a makeshift caravan type , gaps at either side with a wooden floor , with debris and broken floor .
My bedroom had an older sash window , which had single glazed windows . There were 2 reasonable large cracks in the window panes .
There was one visible , usable socket in the room which had a number of electrical and extension leads to be powered from . I was given a complimentary pack of biscuits , replaced on one occasion throughout the stay . I was given 2 small complimentary shower shampoo and gels , never replaced after first use . Bin was emptied once . Although door request for room to be serviced on the third night...........used towels were re hung over radiator , bedding unchanged , and room never vacuumed , on the second night I attempted to use kettle only to find that there was some water in it complete with floating particles , with something dark which resembled a small fly ....................I don't expect too much , but I do think that that this was not acceptable for a paying customer .
I was on business . I booked and paid for four days . With my job I will be staying in Scarborough on a permanent basis between 12 to 14 nights per month on a permanent basis indefinitely . I will be spending between three to three and a half thousand pounds of my own money per year . This guest house had the potential opportunity of a guaranteed substantial income in a very difficult , competitive seasonal market .
It had the opportunity , it blew the opportunity!!!


ManagementResponse

I am so sorry you had such a bad experience. Taking your points one by one: Sometimes, if I am at the top of the house, it does take me some time and if I was in the laundry room I don't hear the bell so apologies for keeping you waiting. My puppy Bella follows me everywhere and I realise its not a good idea to let her on the stairs but thank you for pointing it out. Number 8 was booked in your name and it has always been a single but I have contacted late rooms to see if it can be made clearer. You can check this yourself with them. We did a a major renovation and refurbishment last year and had to strip out all the old showers except for the communal shower room (we had to leave some jobs for this year and in October it is being made into a wet room. I do realise that it is not ideal and that is why we have kept the price low at £30 per night for bed and full English breakfast. We did install a new shower though and I must say that you are the first person to complain. I think you misunderstood me offering you just juice, I explained, if you remember, that the key would be in the kitchen door and you could help yourself to cereals etc and even use the hotel fridge. Remember, I explained where the key would be if it was not in the door.I say this to everyone who has to leave very early. I would have given you a receipt if you had asked, not very many people do but I have them ready in case. So sorry about the kettle, I have looked and it just needed a descale, it was like everything else in the guest house, new last year. It is not policy to change towels or bedding on a daily basis. I do not know any hotel or guest house where it is. If we somehow missed your room, i apologise, being so full errors are sometimes made but it would have been addressed and a discount given if you had told me. I also apologise for failing to introduce my self. At no time during your stay did you let me know your concerns and I wish you had in order that i could have sorted it out. In fact, I thought you seemed very pleased when I offered you the opportunity to help yourself to breakfast at a very early hour. I will gladly speak to you about your stay if you wish to contact me directly.

Reviewed by
B Quinn

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two day retreat
Had a very enjoyable two day stay, staff were very friendly and welcoming, the twin room was very spacious with comfortable beds, was very clean and nicely presented, the area was gorgeous. A lovely hotel, we would stay again

Reviewed by
Christine T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time well spent
I found the staff very helpful, polite and friendly. The guesthouse was well situated to access the town and the Spa Complex. The guesthouse suited all my needs for my stay at Scarborough

Reviewed by
Steve Lewer

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, very friendly staff. Good choice of food for breakfast.
Our stay was very relaxed. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Michaela Adams

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing to much trouble
Having booked a family room we needed another family room due to a family crisis and Linda made this happen which gave us one less thing to worry about, the bay house is lovely with a very relaxed atmosphere and very accommodating to children. Wee home from home kind of place. A gem in scarbrough can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
alma montgomery

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely breakfast
The full English was cooked very nicely with plenty of food for both myself and my husband.There were plenty of other options with cereals and fruit. We especially liked the range of toast accompaniments. The accomodation was very comfy and quiet. The shower was just right although larger towels would have been helpful. More towels could be asked for, but just having them ready in the room would have been nicer. It was about a 15-20 min leisurely walk into Scarborough, so I would use this accomomdation for people wanting a quieter stay. Scarborough itself is quite noisy with the seagulls so this worked out well.

Reviewed by
ALEX P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, comfortable and well equipped B&B in good location
The Bayhouse is perfectly positioned on the south shore with a lovely view from the front. It is just a couple of minutes walk to the lift down to the spa and into the main part of town. We sampled the nearby pub (The Highlander) and the Italian restaurant (Tuscany Too) which were both fab.
The staff at Bayhouse were very friendly and accomodating and our twin room was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Michelle F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired, in need of updating. & overpriced for what style of rooms you get. Food was good. Conference was at 0800, but not willing to serve breakfast too to get to the start. Repairs had to vf made to access to room, leaving belongings insecure

ManagementResponse

How on earth could you say this guest house is in any way 'tired'!!The whole building was totally renovated and re-furbished last year during a 5 month closure. Every room was stripped including the en-suites, new carpet was laid and everywhere totally redecorated, new beds, new furniture, the dining room was moved onto the first floor from the basement as was the hotel kitchen, new showers were installed and floor coverings. Also the outside was renovated including the roof, pointing and decorating, new boilers installed for better transmission of heat and hot water, new bedding purchased and doors taken off and replaced. That was the problem as the new locks have had to be replaced one by one as they were a mistake. The refurbishment was carried out using high quality materials and the total cos was over £100,000 and was less than 12 months ago. I apologised profusely that your lock was broken and offered to look after anything for you until the locksmith could come and you said it was fine as you doubted anyone in the group would be dishonest. I also arranged an earlier breakfast for everyone and everyone else was fine with the time and had ample time to get to the spa which is 5 minutes away. I also find it more than surprising that you find £34 per person (for bed and full English breakfast (with farm supplied free range eggs, and their bacon and sausage) poor value for money!! Very unfair and unjustified.

Reviewed by
Melanie B

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed in room one
Our host was friendly and helpful, we had no problem with her dog. We were not aware it was a dog friendly hotel, or we would not have booked. We did not realise there was a bar of some description, until we were kept awake on our second night's stay, very noisy and banging of front door until approx. 1am we could not sleep at all until they had decided to go to bed. There was also a dog barking for a while earlier in the evening. Toilet seat and pan were loose, drawers did not fit correctly and it took away from our original impression of our room, needs sorting as is a four star establishment.

ManagementResponse

Very sorry about the noise, we had a private family gathering and did not realise that you would hear us two floors up. I always provide details for guests to contact me with any problems and I am sorry you did not do this as of course we would have kept any noise down (it was a very special occasion). It does say on our website that we are dog friendly and I am surprised you did not realise. If you had told me you do not like dogs I would have refunded you and arranged alternative accommodation. We have a little Jack Russell puppy and she is very quiet. Apologies for the wobbly loo seat which has now been repaired so thank you for letting me know. Also the base of the chest of drawers has been repaired so thanks again for informing me. If you had told me at the time it would have been dealt with.

Reviewed by
beverley r

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent
Very hospitab le, very clean. Owner went out of her way to please. Would stay again. Altogether a pleasent stay.

Reviewed by
john tickle

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next