No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Adderbury , , Banbury, OX17 3LS
The Bell Inn is a charming traditional inn located in the peaceful village of Adderbury, Oxfordshire. The Bell In offers excellent food and drink and Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the heart of the village.We have one double / family room with an en-suite bathroom, and one twin room with adjoining bathroom. Well behaved dogs always welcome Adderbury is located approximately three miles south of Banbury. It is divided into two by the Sor Brook. It has had several changes of spelling in its history – appearing as ‘Eadburg’ in the Domesday Book. There are many honeycoloured Horton stone cottages in the olderparts of the village, and historic buildings of outstanding architecture. The village also features an excellent range of pubs and restaurants from which to enjoy a drink and relaxing meal. The Adderbury Lakes are a special feature of the village and a designated nature reserve, because of their environmental beauty From the varied rural landscape of Oxfordshire, excellent for cyclists and walkers, to a cultural getaway in Oxford, renowned for its history and heritage. Whether you are a culture vulture visiting our historical Oxford attractions such as Britain's greatest palace - Blenheim Palace, Christ Church college or the Ashmolean Museum or indulging in a spot of retail therapy at Bicester Village - we can provide an array of activities for all year round.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
Used as as a last minute stop over enrolee from Southampton to Birmingham city centre, very convenient as close to motorway. A very homely and traditional village pub in an attractive location. Nice atmosphere, friendly locals who are vert proud of how their local is developing. It was music night with a live folk group and this added to atmosphere. Good food and this was good value for money.
Accommodation was clean and comfortable rather than luxurious - the family room is excellent value for a young family seeking to explore the area.

Reviewed by
Eric J

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Simple village pub with rooms above. Very pleasant owner who was helpfull. Enjoyed the evening
meal and had first class Full English breakfast. Large confortable room. Clean and well cared for.
Very good value for money. Good location with easy link to Motorway. Will stop over again when next in the area.

Reviewed by
P Hutchins

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bell inn Banbury
I picked this accommodation by the fact it was nearest to Banbury and arrived later than I hoped .
Then I discovered that they didn't have sky sports but straight away Chris the owner offered me his ipad to watch my team play . Also his wife offered me a sandwich even rethought the food was all but closed for the evening that really impressed me nothing was a problem to them and even when I struggled to get in the door later in the eve Chris was superb
I wish them both the best of luck as its a new venture for them and thank them both for their hospitality.

Reviewed by
Ian Cross

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic bell in - Adderbury!
I enjoyed my 4 nights at the Bell Inn in Adderbury, and would highly recommend to others. The owners were fabulous and made me very welcome, the room was lovely, and they ensured that I was provided with gluten-free food for breakfast during my stay with them. I cannot praise them highly enough, and will definitely stay again in the future. I enjoyed my stay at the Bell Inn more than other bigger Hotels in the area! I would not hesitate to recommend the Bell Inn to other people. It is a lovely village and the people are extremely friendly and welcoming.
Thank you to the proprietors of the Bell Inn for your amazing hospitality and welcome - you scored 100% in all areas.
Mr Peter Maguire - Monday 15th September 2014

Reviewed by
Peter MAGUIRE

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great pub
The Bell is under new management and Chris and Sandra were very welcoming and helpful. We immediately felt at home and comfortable.
The beer and the food and the room were all high quality and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be returning in the near future so I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone. A great weekend.

Reviewed by
c farmer

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bell Inn, Adderbury, Nr Banbury.
The welcome was warm, the room was comfortable as were the beds. The bedding was fresh white and immaculate and the facilities more than adequate. The bathroom had pure white fluffy towels. Shower gel, shampoo and bath essence were a welcome bonus and the water was piping hot immediately
The breakfast was presented nicely and was a freshly cooked full English (to die for). We were offered more if required, but it was substantial initially.
We wish the recently new owners all the best. They deserve to do well because we were very, very pleased with it all.

Reviewed by
M Rowen

From Kilgetty, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great experience at all.
Made me pay cash. Did not provide receipt (although I got one eventually). Breakfast was too late to be of any use. Could not get outside first thing in the morning as everywhere was locked up. Bed was uncomfortable. Other than all of that I guess it was okay.

Reviewed by
Charles M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly I felt like one of the locals!

Reviewed by
mark r

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic village pub with quality food and very welcoming staff
The landlord and his staff were very helpful and friendly, great accomodation and the food was superb. A lovely village pub to spend the eveing!

Reviewed by
Simon G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bell Inn
A very pleasant stay, friendly owners made for a very nice evening, I arrived quite late but was served a very nice Thai curry washed down with a few pints of cask ales!
Would definitely visit again if in the area!

Reviewed by
c roost

From Haverfordwest, England
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.