No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chimney House Hotel and Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Congleton Road Sandbach, Crewe, Cheshire, CW11 4ST
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 meters from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.

Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort.

Perfect for both business and leisure, each of the 50 en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings.

The welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience whilst the bar serves a delightful range of speciality drinks and a full lounge menu.

Just a 20 minute drive from Stoke-on-Trent and 40 minutes from Manchester, it is the perfect base from which to explore the area. The many nearby attractions include Alton Towers, Chester Zoo, the Peak District, Tatton Park and the cities of Crewe and Chester.
Picture of Chimney House Hotel and Restaurant, Crewe, Cheshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but issue with hot water
This is a nice hotel, but could do with some up keep in some places.
I did have a problem with the hot water or the lack of it. I did tell reception as I went for my evening mail and she said someone would look in to it. I was running the water for a good 5 minutes and it only just started to change for ice cold to cold.
Come the morning I had to boil the kettle to get hot water. I turned the shower on as I got a shave to to pre warm the water. I had to have it on the hottest setting which reduce the water flow and it was only just getting warm.
On check out I told them about the water again and all I got was sorry it's one of out better room too !

Reviewed by
D Fox

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chimney House Hotel and Restaurant
Excellent food, clean bedding and towels. Polite, friendly and helpful staff. The heating was not working well, but a heater was brought to us as soon as we asked. The landline phone didn't work. Very good evening meal and serve yourself breakfast hot and cold.

Reviewed by
J Harris

From Bromyard, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay which was somewhat disrupted by traffic gridlock over 24 hrs,however the staff were
Staff were very helpful and cheerful unfortunately the breakfasts were expensive despite the web site offering a hot breakfast for £5. 99(reasonable) unfortunately the manager was either unaware or unwilling to give this offer. But overall a good experience.

Reviewed by
David H

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
Excellent, would stay again

Reviewed by
John S

From Crewe, England
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good experience
the room is very clear, customer service is good.

Reviewed by
Y Liu

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The positive of this accommodation was the bed was comfortable and we asked for a quiet room which it was. However as soon as we walked into the room we felt the cold and asked immediately for a heater as the radiator was behind the torn curtains which were covering a very draughty window. The member of staff was very quick however with the heater.
We were tired so we waited till the morning for a shower which had no pressure just a trickle, on telephoning reception it was mentioned to me that perhaps I would like a bath instead! which was not acceptable as I wanted to wash my hair, they did get back to us on the phone offering to move us to another floor where there would be better pressure as apparantly that end of the hotel had less! by this time we had struggled on. At one point a member of staff walked into the room without knocking to take the heater, luckily I had just gone into the bathroom otherwise it would have been very embarrassing. There were no hairdryer in the room so again we had to make another phone call. The female receptionist I felt was dismissive of the errors and just stared at us when I mentioned the member of staff barging in unannounced. No apology which would have at least felt we were more than a number!

Reviewed by
Robin T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The staff were very friendly, the room really well designed, very spacious. Very clean, the bed very comfortable.
Absolutely nothing you could possibly complain about. We will definately return while visiting Cheshire...

Reviewed by
P Gibson

From Burnt wood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were poor
Staff were poor. The bed was lovely, room was okay, but the wall paper coming off, and any mention of upgrade would be an understatement.

Reviewed by
anthony c

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A neat well presented hotel and pleasant staff
The staff were pleasant and the room was clean and well presented. The breakfast was value for the amount of money I paid but as it was self service the cooked food looked tired and had been prepared some time previously

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended (nearly)
Stayed in an Executive room which was absolutely superb. Tiny bit of black around the shower seal, otherwise spotless. Staff were extremely helpful, particularly the concierge. Only let down for a romantic night away was the restaurant. It is open to the reception area and lacks a bit a of atmosphere - some low music would have helped enormously. If you stay here for pleasure consider finding a nicer restaurant in town. On business it'd brilliant. Only serious negative was a small trench between a foot path and a lawn. The wife slipped in the edge in the dark and wound up falling on the lawn. An older person or some one falling on the path may well have been hurt. But I did tell them and this may well be fixed.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next