No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chimney House Hotel and Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Congleton Road Sandbach, Crewe, Cheshire, CW11 4ST
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 meters from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.

Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort.

Perfect for both business and leisure, each of the 50 en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings.

The welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience whilst the bar serves a delightful range of speciality drinks and a full lounge menu.

Just a 20 minute drive from Stoke-on-Trent and 40 minutes from Manchester, it is the perfect base from which to explore the area. The many nearby attractions include Alton Towers, Chester Zoo, the Peak District, Tatton Park and the cities of Crewe and Chester.
Picture of Chimney House Hotel and Restaurant, Crewe, Cheshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay!
Very close to the M6 so very good if you are travelling. Had everything you would want at a good price.

Reviewed by
Clive A

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a lovely stay at the Chimney House in a lovely setting and a very nice welcoming hotel. The room we stayed in was overlooking the gardens, was very clean and we had a good sleep in a very comfortable bed, having said that, it was a little tired and could of done with a bit of painting. The bar area, restaurant and lounge were very nice, bright and airy and i would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Comfortable hotel , the reception staff were excellent , made me feel very welcome.
Food in the restuarant was really nice
Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Anne B

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely friendly hotel. As a family of 5 we were told the family room would too small & advised to book Executive Room, which we it. It was huge. Room was clean & had really comfy beds. Had a small problem with our shower but staff quickly sorted it & gave us another room to shower in.
Excellent value for money. We'll definitely be back

Reviewed by
J Molyneux

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Very friendly and well organised. Breakfast is diy full English which was OK but could be sat in warming pans for a while. Room standard and comfy.

Reviewed by
D Cameron

From Pewsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Tired
Reception - very helpful and Friendly
General areas - in desperate need of redecorating
Room - wall paper starting to peel, windows lacked double glazing and frames looking in desperate need of repair / replacement
Bed - clean and very, very firm, I had a poor nights sleep
Shower - constantly had to step away from the water as the hot water pressure varied
Breakfast - cooked looked fine, I had cereal, Orange juice tasted like UHT
Overall in dire need of investment - a potentially lovely hotel is going in the wrong direction and needs a change in its management approach

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A potentially nice hotel let down by attention to detail.
The hotel is attractive and although set near a major quarry this was not at all noticeable or a problem in any way. The M6 is very nearby, less than 500m (as advertised) and the hotel windows are quite old, not very well fitting and single glazed. Luckily for us the wind was not from the M6 direction or else it is likely the motorway noise would have been quite intrusive!
Food in the bar was tasty although like many hotels which have no very near alternative eating options a little expensive for what you get.
The rooms seem a fair size and ours was clean if a little Spartan. Surprisingly there was no Hotel guide in the room, so nothing about the facilities of the hotel, how to use the phone, how to use the WiFi, how to switch on the lights etc (more about that later). When mentioned at reception the answer was that there is info on the back of the key card holder, but this really only covers restaurants opening times etc, so is hardly comprehensive.
Switching on the room lights turned into a major investigative exercise as using the normal light switches did not seem to work. After much searching it transpired that in addition to the normal light switches there are small individual switches very low down on the walls, as well as rather concealed switches on each lamp standard, all of which were switched off! (One would have thought that when the rooms were prepared these would have been switched on as if it had been totally dark when we arrived we would never have been able to find all the necessary switches). To make matters even more confusing one of the bulbs in was actually blown (the one we tried to switch on first) which added to the confusion and gave the impression of a lack of though room preparation. This feeling was compounded when we could not also get the TV remote control to work properly – a trip to reception to get a set of new batteries solved this problem.
Showering was also a problem with the water flow rate so low that it could barely be called a ‘shower’, more like a drizzle!
The room rate we paid was quite good, so if it were not for these glitches the hotel rating could well have been higher.

Reviewed by
keith m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business overnight stay
Great value for money hotel is good for business if you want a clean room with no fuss no thrills but friendly helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable just above basic so you get what you pay for but I would recommend if you just want a reasonable place to put your head down for the night.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont get married in a travel lodge
This place is a glorified travel lodge. Over priced and once you are there you have nothing to entertain you or engage you. Unless that is you enjoy sitting at the bar watching people get walked in the front lobby of the hotel by there respective fathers, to be married. After paying £70 for standard budget accommodation, I don't expect to come down to the lobby and have to whisper to my girlfriend whilst we wait for a taxi. This happen on both the Saturday afternoon once we had checked in and again on the Sunday. This hotel is not worth staying at for anything more than a motorway stop over on a long trip as access to the motorway is perfect.

Reviewed by
A Fletcher

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A noisey stay at chimney Hotel
When we arrived there receptionists didn't know which of the two rooms I had booked was the single and which was the double. The room was tired in appearance. A wedding in the hotel Saturday night called to reception at 2.30am when the singing started which sounded like it was out side the room they said sorry but we have a wedding going on. Finally got to sleep when noise subsided at about 3.45 apparently they stopped drinking in the bar at 6am. Reception didn't realise we were there on business but it was stated on the booking.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next