No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kersbrook Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Kersbrook Hotel, Pound Road, , Lyme Regis, DT7 3HX
The Kersbrook is a beautiful thatched, eighteenth century Grade II listed building (1780) set in its own picturesque mature gardens just off the town centre with views across Lyme Regis. Family run, this guest accommodation business has 14 traditionally decorated guest rooms, a licensed bar and guest lounge with private secure on site parking just beyond the walled garden. The Kersbrook is situated within 250m easy walking distance of Lyme Regis town centre, its beaches and the ancient Cobb Harbour. (Lyme Regis has historical links with the Duke of Monmouth and of course, John Fowles' 'French Lieutenant's Woman.') The family offer traditional hospitality combined with modern comforts and a member of the family or staff is always available to meet and greet you on arrival and look after you during your stay. Whether you need local information, a map, a cup of tea or a chat we are here to help and make sure you enjoy your time at the Kersbrook.
Picture of Kersbrook Hotel, Lyme Regis at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, owner was very helpful with luggage and in explaining the area. The breakfast was very good with a varied choice and well cooked and served with a smile. A very well run family establishment.

Reviewed by
R Quick

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had room 11--quite spacious and with a window seat over-looking the garden. The en-suite could do with a couple of towel rails / rings either side of the basin but otherwise fine. Breakfasts were very good -local produce used- even got the well cooked (nearly burnt ) bacon I requested- tasted great. Lounge area for guests very comfortable-good place to sit and chat. Car parking tight but on-site a bonus. A good place to stay with a handy bus-service-saves walking up the steep hills all the time !

Reviewed by
c green

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Enjoyable
I stayed in room 4 which is a small single room to the back on the ground floor, with the hot weather worked well as the room remained cool. The only downside is that the bathroom is next door (not ensuite) but they kindly provided a robe so it really wasn't an issue. Breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection to choose from. Property is a little dated but it is clean and the family are absolutely lovely and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
K Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kersbrook Hotel
A very friendly welcome. Note had been taken of our special request for a double room and we were offered the chance to view both rooms and make our own choice. The room we chose was very pleasant but a little dated. Tea and coffee facilities were good.The breakfast was very good. We were impressed with the idea of the Honesty Bar. A steep walk to the beach! Overall good.

Reviewed by
C Kirk

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay in lyme regis
Stayed here for 2 nights in June.We were greeted by friendly staff and gave us some local information for places to eat and some details on the costal path. only a 5 -10 minute walk down to the sea front.

Reviewed by
Martin E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wash Basin separate from Shower room
The wash basin was at one end of the room diametrically opposite the ensuite shower room and only one small soap was supplied which meant transporting the bit soap from one end of the room to the other - we really think that two bars of soap should be a feature! The room was also looking rather tired and, while clean, on one bed the linen had scorch/burn marks. The room could do with freshening by applying a coat of new paint.
The breakfast was adequate but we would suggest that the brand of coffee used needs reconsidering!

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 days stay here more than enough
We arrived at 2.15 room not ready, waited in nice gardens so okay at that point, we had to pay prior to viewing the room . The room was tiny, it said we had a private courtyard, a door opened onto a tiny piece of land with a filthy white plastic chair on it, there was quite a lot of cobwebs, the bed was terrible to sleep on. The bathroom area was better and breakfast was lovely. The rest of the house was olde worldly with nice antiques but our room was a disaster and we had been charged 194 for 2 nights, I have paid much less for a more superior room. I should have made a complaint, I have never reviewed a hotel or guest house before but feel so strongly about the poor quality of our room where there wasn't room to swing a cat I had to write this, am I able to get backing from late rooms to complain.

Reviewed by
N Henry

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant four night stay at the Kersbrook after receiving a very warm welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable and had the luxury of a sea view. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and courteous. However we would mention that this hotel is not really suitable for anyone with walking difficulties due to its location. Car parking could also become a problem if the hotel was full. We returned to the hotel on three separate occasions to find there were no parking spaces available. We were eventually found a space when the problem was brought to the attention of the owners. The cost of the room was high for early June.

Reviewed by
T Cassidy

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tidy Premises
A tidy hotel with an excellent location - just be careful on the hill on the way back from town!

Reviewed by
L Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay, great staff and lovely old-worldy charm!
We really enjoyed our stay at Kersbrook. It had a lovely feel to the place. It's an old home, and as such felt like we were staying with friends and family and less like staying in a hotel - which we like and prefer! The house is old fashioned, but again - this is something we like. The bed was very comfortable. The only thing I would say about our room (we had a front facing, sea view room) is that I did find it hard to sleep because it was so bright at night with the lights blaring from the nursing home across the road and also being directly under a street light. Black out curtains would help, except on warm nights when you want a breeze in. Also, although the hotel is not far from the centre of town, it would be nice to warn guests who don't know the area that the hotel is at the top of a steep hill. Obviously it didn't kill us and we welcomed the exercise - however did plan our days around not having to come up the hill more than once. I would say this would affect elderly and the less-abled more than it did us.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and super helpful. We weren't bothered by other guests coming and going and it was lovely and peaceful.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next