No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay

Not Classified  Guest House Ratings explained
23, Fort Crescent , Margate, CT9 1HX
The Bay guest house is in a beautiful seafront position opposite the Winter Gardens in Cliftonville, Margate and enjoys picturesque views.

We are located close to central Margate for conveinience and just a few minutes walk to beaches, ammusements, restaurants, shops and a number of other attractions. Shell Grotto, Tudor House, Droit House and the Turner Centre.

15 miles from historic Canterbury and its cathedral, and Broadstairs with its Dickens heritage, Ramsgate with its yacht marina the Bay Guest House is in an ideal position.

We provide Bed & Breakfast in clean & comfortable, well decorated rooms, four of which are en-suite. It is our wish to make your stay in Margate a comforable, happy and memorable one.
Picture of The Bay, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, great location
Situated a few hundred metres up from the Turner gallery, this is just a short walk to the centre of Margate. We stayed in the (larger) family room (with sea view) which was comfortable and roomy. Cooked breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Little disappointed the room wasn't serviced after first night of two night stay and the decoration / fittings could benefit from some "sprucing-up" (our bathroom extractor fan did not appear to be working.) But these did not significantly detract from what is an excellent value B&B. We would stay there again and happily recommend it.

Reviewed by
A Whitmarsh

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming surprise
We were expecting a traditional B&B with cramped rooms and faded wallpaper. Instead we found a spacious and well-furnished room with a sea view. The most memorable aspect was the friendliness and helpfulness of the lady who welcomed us, showed us the room and cooked a superb English breakfast the next morning. The place was quiet and we had a very good night's sleep.
We have already booked for another overnight stay in a couple of weeks

Reviewed by
Anthony Rabin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome, ideal for those on a budget
I stayed at The Bay prior to a job interview the next day. It was easy to find from the train station - just follow the coastline around towards the Winter Gardens.
On arrival I received a warm welcome and was shown to my room (#8, ensuite double). The room was pleasantly decorated, there were 2 comfortable chairs, space to hang clothes and a tea tray (no option for non tea/coffee drinkers, but not a real issue considering the price of the room). Sheets and towels were good quality and smelled fresh.
The bathroom was nice enough, but could be improved by the removal or painting of the slightly rusty shelves by the sink, and by installing an electric shower - I found it took a long time for hot water to arrive and the power was somewhat lacklustre.
After a decent night's sleep (bed slightly on the soft side for me but I'm very picky), breakfast was served in the light and airy front room, with cheerful background music. Upon hearing that I didn't want tea or coffee, I was offered more juice or some squash, which was nice. Breakfast was a plate of fresh and tinned fruit follow by a cooked option.
When I came to leave I was given an unexpected discount on the room rate as I was staying alone, which was very kind and much appreciated.
Overall, The Bay is good value for money and I felt very welcome.

Reviewed by
Lydia M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
just stayed for one night , very friendly , nice food, ideal for winter gardens ,going back next year, will recommend to friends

Reviewed by
GARY BLACKMAN

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect venue for the Winter Gardens!
Lovely little guest house right opposite the Winter Gardens so perfect if you have tickets for a show and don't want to travel home afterwards like us! The service was fabulous. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Anne A

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, charming and quirky, great location
We were warmly welcomed to The Bay, the owner couple are very sweet and accommodating. The rooms are carefully decorated in a boutique-style on a budget, which was charming and quirky, and the cooked breakfast was generous and very good.
The Bay overlooks the sea, is situated just opposite the Winter Garden, and next to the old town and the Turner contemporary. Its perfect for artist's and those who enjoy an individual atmosphere without too much fuss. A winter arts and crafts fair was on at the Winter Gardens during our stay. It was such a find, we bought beautiful wooden hand-turned bowls and many presents and shared great Margate stories with the locals. The Lifeboat was great for hot cider too. Highly recommended, great fun!

Reviewed by
M Olofsson

From Sweden
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, happy to help where ever required, brilliant service received
Wouldn't hesitate in staying again

Reviewed by
J Hurley

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in a huge room with the most stunning sea views!
It was a beautiful period room with huge windows looking over the sea with enough room for our double bed, a single bed for our son, a table with chairs to relax in and an en-suite shower room, which made for a very relaxing stay. It was very well situated with lots to do and see in the vicinity and our hosts were very generous and went out of their way to make us welcome and cater to our dietary needs. Some people may prefer a slicker level of decor, but we were so delighted to be in such an amazing building so close to the sea with such stunning views. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Melissa T

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comment as follows
The whole place needs some re-decoration. Hotel walls are very busy. Bedroom had broken sink, tv in it. Shower worked only dribble. Heating was on high all night. Carpets need a good clean. As a lone traveller, there were chains on the bedroom doors and had 2 entrance doors one which was blocked by the bed.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments we will utilise them to improve our business. I am pleased you scored highly for customer service. Sorry that you were not happy on all aspects of your one night at the Bay. I understand your points and I am pleased to confirm the decoration programme has begun and the room you stayed in has undergone further redesign to increase the size and comfort of the room for our guests. The Bay is a period property undergoing careful change.

Reviewed by
L McDonagh

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice freindly people, shame about the rooms
After reading good reviews on Trip advisor, we were quite disappointed in the room; although clean, the room was not thought out properly. Nothing matched, the shower was very poor, toilet needed two flushes to get rid of paper. We had a TV but had to watch through bars (like prison) which was the end of the bed.
The couple who run the guest house are friendly people, but they need to spend money to bring the rooms up to standard.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking time to leave comments about the Bay we will use them and take advantage of them to improve our business. There are some learning points from your comments. I am taking action on the position of the television and repositioning. The room is due for redecoration after a busy summer period and I am taking the opportunity to commissioning a complete room upgrade. I will publish my pictures when complete.   Again thank you for your comments.

Reviewed by
Christine Bradley

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next