Reviews - Tollemache Arms


Tollemache Arms Chester Road, Tarporley, CW69JE

Price From 178.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • alan R

  • October 2015

small room but had what we needed

Have eaten at Tollemache a number of times and always a friendly welcome and good food.

First time stay overnight. Room was VERY small with little room to move, and small but functional en suite. Up quite a steep flight of stairs so not suitable for elderly or those with mobility problems. We only needed somewhere to sleep for one night, so it was fine, but could not have managed more than one night. Breakfast was a little disorganised but I believe chef was ill so understandable. Food quality and quantity very good . Excellent dog friendly place

  • Christopher M

  • September 2015

Tollemache Arms

Very clean and comfortable, great value.

  • caroline blackburn

  • August 2015

Wonderful hosts small rooms

Hi, We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival, and offers of arranging for a Chinese takeaway to be ordered in as we were too late for food from the kitchen.

the bed was the best I have ever slept in away from home. I am not sure how to rate the breakfast other than outstanding!. We would return to the Tollemache just for the hospitality we received. The only let down is the size of the room - quite small, and some small maintenance jobs needed in the bathroom ( loo roll holder coming away, tape under glass shelf etc) This would then qualify the room rate.

  • Lorraine Hartley

  • June 2015

Brilliant stay at the tollemache

Me and my husband and sister and her husband had a lovely stay nothing was to much trouble for the staff .

the food was absolutely excellent and the rooms beautiful would defenetly stay again lovely place .

  • C Garrett

  • June 2015

The room did not reflect the price.

It was far too small to be classed as a double. It was not particularly clean, but the towels in the bathroom were of a decent size. On the plus side breakfast was lovely & the chef couldn't do enough for us. We probably wouldn't stay again - sorry

  • Pamela H

  • March 2015

Overnight stay for wedding at Peckforton Castle

Very warm welcome, hosts could not have been more accommodating even driving us to Peckforton when we couldn't get a taxi.

Had a late afternoon snack there and the food and service was superb and the breakfast the next day was excellent. The room was a bit small but perfectly clean and functional for the night and had some nice touches that you may not get for your money in other places like tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water, toiletries in the shower room and a chocolate on your pillow. Would highly recommend as a venue for nearby attractions etc

  • Karin E

  • December 2014

First time stay in December 2014

Very friendly reception.

Food was excellent. Comfortable bed. Large full English breakfast. The landlord could not have been more helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Janet S

  • December 2014

Outstanding customer service!

We stayed here for two nights, as we were up from Sussex for our friends' wedding in Peckforton Castle, which is only a 10 minute drive away.

On arrival we were shown into a room that smelled of raw sewerage, so not a good start. However, we were immediately taken to another room which was clean and comfortable, if a tad on the small side. There was a problem with the heating on our first night, but this was resolved by our second night.The landlord, Eric, has only recently taken on the pub and he was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. The full English breakfast was spot on and set us up nicely for each day!

  • Paul Hutchison

  • November 2014

We stayed one night after a wedding at Peckforton castle.

Tollemache Arms was very nearby - 5 miles. Very friendly and helpful staff who made us a very nice picnic for the way home. Lovely view out of room window on a sunny, frosty November morning.

  • Sarah Glithero

  • November 2014

Overnight stay

Despite being under new management for only 2 weeks we were given a warm & friendly welcome.

The room was as described (compact twin) perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. It was clean with pleasant furnishings. Our evening meal & full English breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.