Tollemache Arms

4

Tollemache Arms Chester Road, Tarporley, CW69JE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Pamela H

  • March 2015

Overnight stay for wedding at Peckforton Castle

Very warm welcome, hosts could not have been more accommodating even driving us to Peckforton when we couldn't get a taxi.

Had a late afternoon snack there and the food and service was superb and the breakfast the next day was excellent. The room was a bit small but perfectly clean and functional for the night and had some nice touches that you may not get for your money in other places like tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water, toiletries in the shower room and a chocolate on your pillow. Would highly recommend as a venue for nearby attractions etc

  • Karin E

  • December 2014

First time stay in December 2014

Very friendly reception.

Food was excellent. Comfortable bed. Large full English breakfast. The landlord could not have been more helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Janet S

  • December 2014

Outstanding customer service!

We stayed here for two nights, as we were up from Sussex for our friends' wedding in Peckforton Castle, which is only a 10 minute drive away.

On arrival we were shown into a room that smelled of raw sewerage, so not a good start. However, we were immediately taken to another room which was clean and comfortable, if a tad on the small side. There was a problem with the heating on our first night, but this was resolved by our second night.The landlord, Eric, has only recently taken on the pub and he was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. The full English breakfast was spot on and set us up nicely for each day!

  • Paul Hutchison

  • November 2014

We stayed one night after a wedding at Peckforton castle.

Tollemache Arms was very nearby - 5 miles. Very friendly and helpful staff who made us a very nice picnic for the way home. Lovely view out of room window on a sunny, frosty November morning.

  • Sarah Glithero

  • November 2014

Overnight stay

Despite being under new management for only 2 weeks we were given a warm & friendly welcome.

The room was as described (compact twin) perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. It was clean with pleasant furnishings. Our evening meal & full English breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

  • J Funston

  • August 2014

Disapointed

The first night we had to listen to a rock band playing down below room 1, we asked to be moved to quieter room then we were put into room 4, we were told music would stop at 11pm it on till after midnight, then the noise outside was very loud, then the guests came up to room beside us and talked and talked till after 2.30am, we went down to breakfast at 8.30am and waiter gave us £20 after we had paid £170 cash Friday night, we were told as we had booked with Late Rooms we weren't told about the music.

On Saturday night all was quiet had a good night sleep, when we went down Sunday morning all was locked up no-one to be seen. We left hungry and very disappointed. I had emailed them with all details of what happened and also telephoned 15th and spoke to a waitress who told me the landlord hadn't been in to read the emails. We had stayed there 2 years ago and had a great time that's the reason why we went back.

  • b nichols

  • July 2014

The only downside was the size of room.

Food was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast

  • PAUL T

  • July 2014

could have been much better

The room was very small,although it had some nice features such as the exposed beams,however,the toilet was very small,i'm 6" 1' and did hit my head on the ceiling,also you then had to go into the shower room to wash your hands,which didn't have a towel rail.The clothes hanging facilities were poor with a lack of decent hangers.The pillows were uncomfortable and the duvet was very heavy,also no top sheet.We had to move the kettle onto the floor because the cable wouldn't reach the socket,which was a bit dangerous.

  • Katrina H

  • June 2014

June stay

The room is described as compact and that it certainly is.

Smallest room ive ever seen and I would be lying if I said I wasn't disappointed. We couldnt walk passed each other and had to clamber over our bags the whole time as there was literally nowhere to put anything. The bathroom had a damp smell, the lighting was poor and we had a lovely view of fellow guests room. We payed £85 a night and I was expecting a lot more. If I had paid say £50-£60 this review would be very different. Sorry to say we won't be retrning. Shame as the pub below was lovely as was the garden and staff particularly the bar man (didn't catch his name)

  • H Roberts

  • June 2014

Couldn't fault accommodation.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was really good; room was small but comfortable and clean with complimentary chocolate bars. Would recommend.