No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 407 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night break
The positives were friendly and efficient receptionists and the breakfast was very good. The negatives:
1. Ceiling had suffered a leak which had also gone onto the carpet below.
2. The old wooden windows need replacing desperately as the room was very draughty. I covered the worst draughts with towels. As the room had 6 windows the cold air coming in kept the room cold so we had the heating on all night.
The view from the 4th floor was brilliant and right over Birmingham City Centre.

Reviewed by
Diane A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay at this hotel!!!!
We where attending a function in Birmingham and this was the nearest hotel to the venue.The room cost £95, a little steep (We had stayed in the excellent Jurys Inn Nottingham the week before for £49). but the location was convenient for us. We were a little late arriving, so in a bit of a hurry. At the reception, slovenly staff told us that we had to pay before we would be allowed up to the room. I soon found out why! Walking along a dark, dank, smelly corridor, my wife commented that it was more like a prison. I agreed, saying that a prison would not smell as bad! On entering the room, we were both horrified. The room was filthy and damp. Wallpaper was hanging off the walls and the plaster was crumbling and falling off. Our feet stuck to the threadbare carpet. The shower room (No bath) was that filthy we were unable to use it. The shower was full of grime and hairs and there was dried vomit all around the basin.
We complained at the reception, asking for the room to be changed. We were told in no uncertain terms that it was our fault for arriving late, (18:00?) and had we arrived earlier, we would have had a better room. No refund was available.
In the morning, the reception staff were actually quite pleasant and apologetic, saying they were very used to the complaints.
We were asked if we required breakfast? Was this a joke? Bearing in mind the state of the room, what would the kitchen be like?
Never again!!!
Nigel & Wendy.

Reviewed by
Nigel Mee

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a lot of money spent on it
Wasn't great, very basic.

Reviewed by
S G

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall ok
The room was basic so was good for what we wanted as we only wanted somewhere to sleep.the shower was broke so was hard to use and after one shower there was no hot water. There wasn't a hair dyer in the room which in the winter isn't good. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food however the staff on reception was rude on the Friday night. I'd stay here again as its walking distance to the centre and would only recommend it if people just wanted to put their head down for th night.

Reviewed by
S Green

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation - good location

Reviewed by
Zoltan D

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty
The room was old and seemed dirty, the hall ways did not have much lighting which made me feel uneasy and people had clearly been smoking in the room. There was no hot water in the morning which was not very helpful. The pictures on the website are not correct to the standard of the rooms it feels like they were taken from another hotel ! I would not stay there again!

Reviewed by
D Pearsall

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here.
Room was dirty and the heater didn't work. Pay the extra money, and go to to a travel lodge or the ibis down the road, where you know what you're getting.

Reviewed by
Caroline L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel - over priced and very poor quality
We had booked 2 rooms, a twin and a double, both at the price of £90 per night. The twin room was clean and in reasonable condition although not what you would expect for the price. The double room was shocking!
The shower room was filthy, there was mold growing on the tiles and on the shower curtain. There were broken tiles and rotting wood around the shower and sink with cracking and moldy plaster on the ceiling. There was no switch connected to the shower room light which meant that it was permanentley on. The lighting in the main room was awful. Two small lamps on the wall with dim bulbs and broken lamp shades. The only other light in the room (again with a broken lampshade) had to be plugged into the one and only socket ,meaning that you had to boil the kettle or watch the TV (which didn't work) in the dark!! The ancient electric heater had obviously been re-hung after falling off the wall as the holes in the plaster were visible. The ceiling was also badly cracked and in poor repair.
The bed was placed directly under a draughty window and there were no spare blankets. The curtains were hannging off of the rails and the room was just generally very shabby. All in all a very unpleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Diane M

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

20 minutes walk from Central Birmingham
Not quite what I was expecting and in quite an odd area of industrial units. However it was half the price of other hotels in Central Birmingham and 20 minutes walk from the bull ring end of Central Birmingham
It was probably quite a grand place when it was built. It's very run down now, lots of peeling paint. Room was clean, towels and bedding clean and functional. Mould round the bath and shower was naff for power but plenty of hot water. Breakfast was typical buffet style with plenty of sausages, bacon, etc.
As an overnight stay in Central Birmingham with free parking, it was half the price of Lenny Henry's chain so if keeping hotel costs down and avoiding expensive taxi fares is important, it's worth it.

Reviewed by
Daniel A

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Great value, clean, a little dated but perfect for one night stay to see show

Reviewed by
Nick R

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next