Reviews - The Paragon Hotel



Price From 135.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (425)

36% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sheena H

  • October 2015

Dirty, unsafe and unfit to be a hotel!

I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel.

It took 3 attempts to find a remotely habitable room, and even that had smelly carpets, stained furnishings and black mould growing up the walls of the shower. No restaurant for dinner, had to go out on my own. very dark side streets, advised by reception to get a taxi if returning after 10pm. Do not go there!

  • Jordan G

  • October 2015

Not like the picture

When booking this hotel it seemed a really nice hotel.

However when we got there the room lights didn't work and room looked dirty and cramp. the reception looked lovely and the staff were really nice. I just feel the quality of room let them down was definitely not worth £65.

  • F Kenrick

  • October 2015

comfy convenient corner

The no-fuss experience of a stay in The Paragon Hotel is one I would reccomend for the business or academic person.

Besides that it clearly has a lot to offer those who need a venue for big events and family functions on a large scale.

  • Jemma J

  • October 2015

Avoid unless you're partying!

I stayed here for a night out and it did the job.

Our room was very small and I'll start with the good - beds clean, had a decent nights sleep (Didn't get in til 7am and rather tipsy though so this may have helped!), surprisingly quiet - again the time I slept may have helped, towels clean, FREE parking, easy to find, quick check in, close to the venue, late checkout although only to 1pm and £20 extra.

The bad - shower head pole was broken completely off the wall, shower tray was mouldy, shower curtain dirty, SO HOT in the room despite having no heating on, thermostat and TV buttons missing, carpet seen better days, car park covered in broken glass (the first thing I did on arrival was nearly cut my foot), some of the lights didn't work/room dark. The worst thing though - the kettle didn't work. After 5 hours sleep and needing to drive home this was a disaster for me lol. Thank god for Maccy D's drive thru. On a better note, the room our friends had on the same floor but across the other side of the building was much better, nicely decorated and lovely bathroom with modern shower cubicle.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to get your head down after an all nighter then it does the job, but you could get better accommodation for cheaper elsewhere (only 8 mins walk to HMV Institute though). If you're booking a city break then avoid at all costs!

  • Marcus N

  • October 2015

At least the towels were clean!

This hotel is nothing like described or pictured on their website.

Rooms were disgustingly filthy, smelled of smoke and you would have got out of the shower dirtier than you got in to it. On the upside the towels were clean. A most bizarre place. Feel really sorry for the poor girl on reception as she was barraged by complaining customers and really not her fault. Would rather sleep in my car than go there again!

  • Robert S

  • September 2015

This hotel may have refurbished rooms , but most seemed to be in poor condition.

Not worth £75. The beds, bedding and towels were clean . They really need wet room instead of showers because it looks like some folk flood the bathroom which then causes damp on the ceiling below. No idea of general tidiness around the hotel, the simple things that make it pleasing to the eye. I did not eat in, but never heard a complaint in the bar from those that did eat. The hotel is in a really rough area yet not far from the Bullring, I would not have been comfortable been on the streets nearby after dark. People sleeping in doorways in the morning and the area is covered in litter, broken bottles etc.

  • Steven S

  • September 2015

Terrible hotel. One to avoid

I have never given a negative review before as I generally like to give the benefit of the doubt that I had a one off bad experience but this place is truly awful.

I paid for a double room, but my bed took up 2/3 of the room, including pretty much the full width. The room was mouldy, the heater was literally falling off the wall with exposed screws. The screws were coming out of the door handle, the shower was falling apart and to top it off I had no hot water. I asked reception about the hot water and was told it would be sorted when maintenance got off their break. An hour later, still no hot water and I got the distinct impression the receptionist really didn't care. Long story short after further complaints, the following day I was given the key to another room to take a shower which was also mouldy and the shower was again falling off the wall. On checkout there was no apology just a "bye" as I handed my key over. A very unpleasant experience all round.

  • Richard Emra

  • September 2015

Staying at the Paragon Hotel

Okay for the price!

  • Paul S

  • September 2015

Terrible Room.Environmental Health need to visit!

This was a last minute booking and I arrived to a stressed out receptionist whom hadn't had a break for 6 hours and said on the phone "I'm having a break I don't care if they sack me".One of the lifts couldn't be called as button was missing on ground floor.

The room was large,bedding was clean however their appeared to be mould on the wall and the decor was poor. I wouldn't stay ever again!

  • A Reed

  • August 2015

Bad bad bad!! Stay away! Do not book

Do not book to stay here.

We arrived at 10.45pm on Friday 21st, after waiting to be checked in at reception for 25mins we were given room 301. 3rd floor passed 10's of empty open rooms all in need of attention. On first impressions, in the dark, the room looked ok, how wrong was I. The electric in the room was not working, the throw over the bed was dirty and the room was in over all poor condition. Coming out of the room to try and get the electric to work I can hear running water, the cupboard next to room 301 was open, to my dismay water was coming from the ceiling on to an electric fuse box (see pictures) Finding this I went to reception to get things sorted. I would have got more sense out of talking to the marble floor in reception. Finally offered a room change, 302, next to our existing room, back up I go, only to find the ceiling in this room has fallen down, the whole ceiling in the bathroom was on the floor (see pictures). When I alerted the girl on reception she was unaware that the ceiling had collapsed and came up to the 3rd floor to investigate. She was shocked at the state of the room and also I made her aware of the cupboard with dripping water. Feeling really unsafe at this point I decided the hotel was not for me, after further discussion I was given room 429. 4th floor across a discussing carpet, fit only for the bin the lock was hanging from the door!. Not a great start. By this point I just wanted to sleep. Next morning I start the search looking for a new hotel but due to having to be at a wedding in less that 3 hours, and having to pick up my suit from the city, this was an impossible task with no 3G or Wifi in the room. Being out of the hotel most of the day and late into the night Saturday, I had no choice but to stay. Before heading out I jump in the shower, looks great with two shower heads, its not great. The smell from the drain once the shower runs for a few minutes was unbearable and due to the very slim line shower tray, water cascades over the top. Quick shower and I want to get out. Stood in front of the wardrobe naked the door opens wide, the chambermaid has decided she wants to clean my room. Embarrassed she closes the door, no apology, nothing. Sunday morning can not come quick enough. On waking up and and need a drink I head to reception, via the lift, only to fall badly and cut my arm. The chrome wall mounted bar handle in the lift gave way and I fell, this exposing a large metal screw to which I fell on. (see pics) This was the final straw, I just had to leave. I was given £45 as 'a gesture of goodwill' on checking out although this does not compensate for this disgusting hotel. On checking out I was one of 4 couples complaining at reception, with another guest referring to the hotel as hell, which I can only agree with. The service can only be described as shocking with staff seeming to not know what to do, nor did the girl on reception have any clue over to the legalities of the role she was trying to carry out. This really is the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. I have posted this same review along with the pictures to trip adviser.