No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 315 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At £64 for a REALLY small room it was overpriced, especially as I could have stayed at a Premier Inn for just £2 more. I stayed here because I had used it in January but would have to think about it in future depending on the price. Food and service good but I would pay more attention to the price in future

Reviewed by
Ian Rance

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Experiance
I had a pleasant stay at the Paragon. On arrival there was no heating and no airel for the TV. But a quick phone call to the front desk soon put that right. The room was very nice. Clean and very comfortable. Although i only stayed there one night -i would deffinatly stay there again.

Reviewed by
June H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon delight
For my first stay in birminham it was a delight..

Reviewed by
A Campbell

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The Paragon has some lovely bedrooms. I know this because I have seen their website. Sadly those rooms seem to be reserved for photo-shoots as the rooms provided are not of that standard or even close. The bathroom was so small that the door bangs into the toilet bowl when opened and it is quite a complicated move to actually get to it.
The shower came with a sign that advised that "extended use" may use up all the hot water which will take 30 mins to replenish. I found that extended use of the shower came to 30-45 seconds(?). I had booked this room as it was near the venue for a careers event, so being unable to properly clean in the morning was not ideal. Also there was an area of exposed bare plaster around the lamp over the bathroom mirror. This theme of damaged walls and poor patching up is a recurring theme throughout the upper floors where the rooms are.
The room comes with an old style CRT television with 5 channels (I didn't even know it was possible to only have 5 channels any more). and due to the unusual location of the power sockets, one has a choice between using the television or the kettle (can not have both plugged in at once). Also, the hotel has a strange system whereby in order to activate the power to any plugs or lights, you need to insert your keyfob into a small box by the door. Whilst this may save the hotel some money, it also makes things like leaving a camera/phone/tablet charging impossible unless you remain in the room at all times with it! (I understand from other reviewers that even when more than one person stays only one key per room is provided).
I would not call the hotel "unclean" as some have done, the staff seemed to work hard and put in effort to keep it clean. However, there is only so much they can do. When you compare the outside and the majority of the inside it is clear that this was once quite a nice hotel which has fallen down the rankings a bit. I suspect from my travels around the immediate area that this part of Birmingham in general has seen better days, as there was a lot of graffiti etc.
The staff themselves were nice and polite at all times, but overall this hotel is nowhere near as nice as some of the photos make it look (I believe they are undergoing a refurb currently so this review may be outdated later in 2014 hopefully). I did see a few groups of people who just seemed to be in the hotel for somewhere to crash after a night out on the town in Birmingham (I also heard them again at 4am). For that sort of thing I would guess this was fine, but I would not suggest for anyone looking for a nice place to stay for more than a night or two.

Reviewed by
Matthew R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. Not located in the best of areas but only a 10 minute walk from the city centre or a short taxi ride.

Reviewed by
A Dobson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Fairly Disappointing Return
This is the second time that my partner and I have visited The Paragon..we have been looking forward to celebrating our anniversary here as we stayed here a year ago and had a thoroughly enjoyable time..unfortunately our room was not serviced during our stay and when this was mentioned at reception it fell on deaf ears, we were rather disappointed but love the hotel and really want to give the benefit of the doubt and stay again.

Reviewed by
Lindsay Bainbridge

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon Stay
Very small room. Couldn't even open my luggage properly. Small single bed. Bad bed quality, where the springs are pushing into your body.
Worst stay I had in a hotel after many years of hotel experience. If it would have been for the normal price of £100, I would have complained to get reimbursed. Even £30 is way too much.
Student accommodations are even better than the room they gave me in Paragon hotel.

Reviewed by
T Denis

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon Hotel
Rooms dated and need modernising, hotel currently having this done. Food and staff excellent, I had single bed room which was adequate for one night, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hot water, comfy bed, black out curtains, location of hotel is in a untidy area with rubbish strewn about and boarded up buildings, Hotel not well signed from outside. 15 min walk from city centre. Overall competively priced against other hotels nearby. Would I use again-yes.

Reviewed by
s biscoe

From sudbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lateroom.com
Very nice hotel whould stay there again

Reviewed by
richard l

From birminghqm, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay in this hotel... The pictures are very deceiving... It's a shabby old hotel if be surprised if it's not haunted spend the whole night awake.. Floors creaking.. Radiators clanking.. The size of the room was a size of a shoe box I wouldn't stay in that room even if it get offered me it for free... The shower was overflowing why I took a shower the bathroom was a size of a cubicle of a public toilet... Staff wasn't helpful at all.. When I asked for reconditioned room they dismissed me.. And u have to go reception for the remote because their telephone don't work..I stay in a lot of hotel this has to be my worst experience !!

Reviewed by
P Yasmin

From West Midlands , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.