Reviews - The Paragon Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (367)

32% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Jones

  • February 2015

The room was fine - bathroom was a good size and new - however the standrd of the bathroom was disappointing - there was a tile missing grout which made it very sharp - the shower drain backed up and nearly flooded the room - the overall rooom was not very clean - very dusty the walls had marks from drinks - the bed was very uncomfortable as I think the mattress was old.

  • r bentley

  • February 2015

Cheep and cheerful

Staff were very friendly and helpful on check in.

Room was very basic and needed updating, especially the bathroom. The double bed was positioned so you could only get out of it on one side (you couldnt walk along the bottom of the bed because it was too close to the wall). This resulted in my boyfriend having to get out of bed every time I needed the toilet. However, it was cheap and cheerful and suited our needs (we only needed to get out head down for the night). The hotel in general needed updating tbh and the grounds and carpark could do with the rubbish being picked up.

  • Margaret H

  • February 2015

The Paragon Hotel

staff very friendly & helpful, clean & tidy.

food though served in the bar was very good and quick. I have no complates.

  • Jessica H

  • February 2015

The Paragon Hotel

Cheap and uncheerful.

Bed was clean, shower was hot and TV worked - for £32 I didn't expect a lot and that was exactly what we got, not a lot. The car park was the worst I've ever seen in my life and walls are covered in damp. Don't stay here alone.

  • T James

  • February 2015

The Paragon Hotel

Bed was comfy, room was too dark, curtains were burnt from the electric heater under them.

Bathroom floor was not particularly clean and the shower curtain had to be in an exact position to stop water going all over the floor. I understand that the hotel is undergoing renovation but the room did not feel as though it had been finished before it was put in to use.

  • C Wright

  • February 2015

Very nice

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very nice and have a lot of character, totally impressed with my stay

  • L Hackshall

  • February 2015

Very poor accommodation

The hotel whilst looking impressive did not live up to the website marketing.

The car park had 'dodgy' men in it, there was dog muck on all pavements around the hotel and young smokers took up the lobby area. There was a long queue to check in with only one girl trying to do her best, unsupported by a man who looked out of the office then closed the door. The room was dark, very small and dirty. Stains on the quilt could seen through the cover, the stool was very grubby and had graffiti on and the shower was mouldy. I did not stay longer than 10 mins as I called around and found a much cleaner, nicer 2 star hotel about 5 minutes away. I contacted the hotel with no reply.

  • Darren C

  • February 2015


The hotel is in serious need of upgrade.

The room was cold when we entered but managed to get the heater working. Only one plug socket in the room to which the tv was plugged in, couldn't have the tv and kettle on at the same time. The rooms need more lighting too as we're very dimly lit at night.

  • Clayton S

  • February 2015


There was no customer service at all during our stay.

Upon arrival we were handed the key with very little interaction from the receptionist. Our TV could not maintain a decent picture due to lack of signal. When we approached reception and reported the fault. Response was we can't do anything about it...its a technical issue. The room was small but it was clean and the bathroom was too. At breakfast we were greeted by a lady who appeared not to enjoy her job. Handed us a photocopied menu and told us we could order cooked breakfast. The problem was they did not have everything available on the list. The continental selection also had little choice. Parking was inadequate. The car parks itself was opposite the hotel. It was dilapidated and unsecured. However my car remained in one piece. No WiFi available in the building accept in the freezing cold lobby. But you had to ask for the password...reception probably would not be able to help you as it was a technical issue. The only positive comment was the building itself was amazing. Full of features and had a very Gothic atmosphere. The lobby was massive, the halls were long and could have been from a film set.

  • M Ablett

  • February 2015


Great location and very friendly staff.

However the first two rooms we were allocated seemingly had no working plug sockets, and the third had a dodgy leaking shower. By this time we just couldn't be bothered to complain again and be moved to another room with another fault. So whilst the staff were very friendly, the hotel standards were not so great, and we will not be returning.