No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 362 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit run down
This hotel could be really nice after a massive refurbishment - stained carpets and mouldy showers need addressing. The room was very dark - only 2 small bed lamps so after the sun goes down its hard to see anything. Very small TV and no remote control although it might have been so dark I just could not find it!

Reviewed by
Jessica C

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money stay
We got one nights accomodation in the centre of Birmingham with breakfast and free overnight parking for just over £50each, what a bargain! The hotel is going through refurbishment, i didnt get a refurbished room and mine was in desperate need of updating but it had everything i needed, including a hair dryer. You could say the hotel was run down and it wasn't somewhere i'd go for a weekend with my wife, but it did what it needed to do and was clean. The two highlights were the breakfast which was very good and the bed. I'm not a good sleeper in hotels but i probably had the best nights sleep ever in any hotel i've stayed at, the bed was excellent. Overall a basic hotel which was clean and served a good breakfast. Highly recommended, so long as your expectations are realistic.

Reviewed by
james w

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
New rooms look great can't wait to stay again!

Reviewed by
Kate W

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Soul stopover WRAC
All staff fantastic, very helpful. Hotel was ok, small rooms and a bit claustrophobic, but did its job.
Was some people smoking in corridor. Think it's graded correctly and price could have been better but was basic and adequate.

Reviewed by
S Entwistle

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
When ever I come to the Digbeth area of Birmingham the Paragon Hotel is always my first choice. 24 Hr onsite parking (plus free on street parking beside the building), plus a bar and walking distance to Digbeth and the Bullring gives it the perfect location.
You can't beat the value for money you get with this hotel, the rooms aren't massive but more than enough room for 2 people in a twin/double room. Has a TV, wardrobe/hanging area and decent bathrooms.

Reviewed by
Sam R

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horrible experience
I heard about laterooms from my friends they told me that layerooms are the best but when I enter in my room the tolit floor was dirty not proper clean room chair is broken when I sit I fell down I got skrach on my back there was no iron in room that was horrible experience to book rooms with laterooms now I prefer booking. Com

Reviewed by
ayaz ali

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst Hotel in Birmingham
Quite simply, The Paragon Hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life. I was told that despite the hotel being under renovation, I would be given a renovated room. If that was the case, I dread to think what it was like before renovation. The curtains were hanging off, the carpet tatty, the table lamp didn't work, the shower point didn't work, lights in the bathroom didn't work. Housekeeping was a joke and the Hotel was populated by violent, drug taking and other low life people.

Reviewed by
F Ritchie

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
Saturday night at 8pm I made the mistake of wanting a shower. As I stood there behind the filthy shower curtain looking at the mould while soaping up instead of the water getting hotter it got colder and colder. I had to use a wet towel to try and get the shower get off. After a call to reception I was told my neighbour had used all the hot water. At 9pm the water was still cold and the manageress was refusing to give me any sort of refund.
It is supposed to be a non smoking hotel and yet the entire second floor stunk of cannabis smoking.
Previously this hotel was already going down hill... I think it may have reached rock bottom now.
If you can stay elsewhere then I would strongly recommend you do just that. This hotel will only leave you disappointed.

Reviewed by
Gary G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Building
Our stay was enjoyable , the room was quite small but was clean and had a tv and shower as well as a kettle and tea and coffee. Unfortunately the hotel is being refurbished at the moment which led to workmen and equipment along with the smell of paint. In general a nice stay and a really lovely old building.

Reviewed by
Ian Richards

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrid
booked a hotel - on the pictures looked really nice. got there reception staff friendly
bar staff seemed very busy. room was shocking. lights next to bed not working so room very bright with only one main light. had to complain about tv remote not working. complained about lights and was told couldnt do anything for that time at night
ordered food at bar . waited 45 mins to be very disappointed with price and quality infact it was disgusting complained to reception and took the price of meal off the bill. i could of got a better hotel for the money .plus was a taxi ride into town

Reviewed by
r simmonds

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.