Reviews - The Paragon Hotel



Price From 73.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (364)

32% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Cutting

  • March 2015

The Paragon Hotel

Upon arrival,all seemed well,the lobby looked good,however,when we got out of the lift,things looked

a little less so,i opened the door,and to say i was disappointed,would be a huge understatement,the room was terrible,nothing like the pictures on your website,i was going to ask for a refund,it was that bad,i was fuming,my partner,then tried to shower,water was cold,we rang reception,a man came up,told us the boiler,had tripped,and he'd reset it,hot water would be 20 mins he said,half hour later,still cold,called desk again,and was told to wait longer,45 mins later still cold,went to desk,they then gave us a refurbished room,quite nice,though the heating,nor TV worked,lovely bathroom though,what really annoyed me, was why we weren't put in that room,in the first place,we had to cancel a restaurant table because of the hot water fiasco,and we did not even get a sorry from reception,i have taken some photos of the original room we we given,which i can send you if you wish.

  • Jason Riley

  • March 2015

It wasn't good

Truly couldn't believe how bad the rooms where in this hotel.

A wonderful building, a great reception area... then... the rooms . I was moved three times in 2 days as the shower, then the electricity then the shower didn't work. Was relieved the manager upgraded me after me asking, so points gained there, but the quality of the rooms was so poor I wouldn't consider re-visiting this hotel. Ever.

  • Peter E

  • March 2015

An experience not to be repeated!

This hotel is truly dreadful and had it not been for the help of the Receptionist I would have walked out immediately after my arrival.

The room I was given was very poor, and all the furniture and fittings well past their sell by date. The heating did not work, the bed looked like a left over from a workhouse and the key that activates the light switch was too big to turn on the light. I complained to the Receptionist, who to her credit upgraded me to a refurbished room, which was ok other than the heater did not work. The impression I got is that the majority of the rooms in this hotel are like the first one I was given and I would therefore not recommend this place to anyone.

  • emma price

  • March 2015

not satisfied

I stayed at this hotel last friday and i wasnt very happy..

the room was cold and there wasnt any hot water..very disappointed!!!!!

  • C Dang

  • March 2015

Not up to expectations

The room was overly small and there was a strong odour at the corridor when we first entered our room.

According to receptionist, there is no wifi in the room because "the signal is unable to reach to the 3rd floor". Will not choose to stay in this hotel during my next trip.

  • J Ahamed thahir

  • March 2015

Dissatisfied and disappointed

Upon arrival we were well treated by the staff at the reception.

The room was really small and the so called wardrobe was nothing except a couple of hangers and just a small space hardly sufficient for any clothing. When we switched on the heater it started smoking hence we turned it off immediately. While showering the shower stand which was attached to the wall fell on my partner's head. The tab had couple of moulded spot which was extremely surprising. On the same evening we reported the incident to the receptionist and she asked us to leave the key so she would get the maintenance guy to see it and when we got back nothing happened. Next day after repeatedly explaining the situation to each and every staff at the reception they managed to get the maintenance guy to fix it. And apparently when we enter the room, there were some sort of short circuit and the maintenance guy rudely asked what did you use. As far we remembered we left the room early in the morning and came at late night. He checked the heater and gave us an assuring statement its a real old heater but safe to use and fixed the shower stand.

It's a really old hotel with very poor maintenance. And throughout my stay I was really worried because my wife is pregnant and it seemed nothing to safe according to our experience. I wouldn't stay in the same hotel again.

  • Nia P

  • March 2015

Not the best... Wouldn't revisit!

Room was freezing, bathroom was very dirty and shower fitting was broken.

Car park is not secured and I contemplated parking on the road outside as it seemed safer and there are no parking restrictions.

  • L Mcnaughton

  • March 2015


We went to this hotel on Saturday 28th february and the room wasn't worth paying for because firstly the lamp wasn't working, secondly the window wouldn't close.

there was a constant cold draft coming in. The hotel towels had stains on and the ceiling made me feel sick. it was that bad that when i had a shower the plastering off the ceiling was coming off and the other part to it was coming off aswell. honestly i wouldn't recommend booking that hotel for £65 it was not worth it at all. i was really disappointed with the room and I wouldn't go back there.

  • Martin B

  • March 2015

Double room was clean albeit in need of decoration.

i was met by courteous staff and my room was nice and warm after a hard days work in the cold, all facilities were available and working and my bed was cumfy.

I would stay again.

  • Richard I

  • March 2015

Some major issues that they need resolve!!!

This hotel has some major issues that they should look into.

The first thing we saw was the car park. This is in desperate need of attention and is clearly neglected by all. There was broken glass on the floor, lots of old mattresses dumped in the corners and even used condoms littered around. I have no idea what goes on in that car park but it certainly isn't managed or maintained. The reception staff were fine, they did there jobs but just seemed a bit bored working there. Nothing exceptional, just average.The main part of the room was fine, beds were acceptable for a nights kip and it was tidy. The issue was the bathroom. Damp in the shower probably due to the poor extractor, and when we ran the shower there was a strange smell to the water. The toilet seat was broken as was the loo roll holder that was just a bolt threaded through two holes and no nut on the end. I understand that you get what you pay for but having paid £50 for the night i wouldn't expect to have a bathroom like we got. I was glad that the room was just a base for a night out in the city so that i didn't have to spend any longer in it than i had to. I did go into my friends double room and it was far bigger and the bathroom looked fine...maybe its just bad luck on my part. On the plus side the parking was free, which in a city like Birmingham where city center parking can cost quite a lot was good, but i don't think you could charge anything for the condition it was in. It wouldn't take too much to improve the hotel, but i think it will be ignored and the hotel will remain in a state of limbo, nothing special.....just about passable.