No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 341 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stuff
What was needed for our trip to birmingham

Reviewed by
M Cusworth

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bogging
although there is a refurbishment programme going on and I get that. the room was a cupboard and the cleanliness of the shower cubicle well I better stop there I think

Reviewed by
ken h

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was dated, old carpet, smelt of burning/ cigarettes, room was not that clean, especially in shower room, shower.valve cover fell off, shower was hot and fast though, most important was room door lock, asked for it to be fixed, was told next day, receptionist was polite and was trying to sort it out but we left before it was fixed, wouldn't have taken much to bust door ooen. Bed was sprung and very uncomfortable. General decor and feel of the place was drab, It was cheap but never again

Reviewed by
alan rastall

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My worst hotel in recent years
Hotel impressive on the outside, but bad on the inside.
Not really the hotel fault, but in a run down part of Birmingham
Bad Things: 1. The bed hard and uncomfortable. The springs could be felt in my back. 2. The bed only had a summer duvet on (in early April) and together with the gaps around the windows, I had an extremely cold night. Availability of a blanket or two would have been useful. 3. Most serious was that I was unable to get any hot water at all, neither in the sink, or the shower. 4. I just wanted to leave in the morning, and left at 7.30, not wanting to risk a breakfast. When I handed in my key no one seemed interested in asking if I had a good stay. So I just left.

Reviewed by
Mike Byrne

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and bathroom clean. Hotel has saw better days.

Reviewed by
malcolm s

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't do it
If getting woken by people shouting at each other and threatening to stab one another is your bag, book away. The breakfast was extortionate for two slices of white toast an our original room was the size of a cell.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms are being refurbished but no kettle, iron box, heating not efficient.
The carpets in the common area need to be changed.

Reviewed by
MANJUNATH K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap that's all i can say, don't think this hotel has had a face lift since the 1940's, truly dreadful hotel. I've stayed in a hotel with a covered slaughter house for a shower before and it rated higher in my expectations than this hotel.

Reviewed by
i adams

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uttery Disgusted!
I booked this hotel for 2 nights off this site the rooms looked really lovely and when we arrived I was utterly disgusted its more like a dungeon when you get into your room the windows were held shut with tissue paper and the latches had broken on them so anyone could get in from the outside, the shower had broken so I squirted water everywhere and there was no more hot water after one shower so much so my other half had to shower in another room , I was told I would be moved rooms by the time I was back from my day out for the 2nd night ( I was not moved and was fobbed off saying the shower was fixed). I was not happy with my stay and would not recommend I have emailed them and have not heard anything back I also have pictures of the windows.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon

Reviewed by
JASON JAMES

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next