No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.

Please note that though a multimillion pound refurbishment is underway,due care has been taken to ensure that there will be no disturbance to guests whatsoever nor any disruption to our normal services.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 424 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is currently being refurbished, the ground floor is quite nice however the rooms although reasonably clean had damp on the walls. Also they currently have a large number of refugees staying at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel for the price
Hotel a little further from station than implied by site, but a good building, which on the side we were on looked out into the city and an attractive park.
All basics provided, save for a television remote control (not that we really needed it).
Decor pretty dated and limited lighting in the room but overall a very comfortable place to stay, and a good deal for the price.
No experience of the food as the provided no vegetarian options on the nights we stayed so opted to eat in town.

Reviewed by
Luke R

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!
Stayed at the Paragon in Digbeth last Friday as my Husband and I were attending a surprise Birthday party in the area. I'll get to the point, the front of the hotel was full of about 6 guys on their mobile phones and from the roadside looking up to the top of the building were lit up windows with naked women in! I was in shock but dumped my bags and went to my friends surprise party. The reception was ok, bit rough round the edges but receptionist busy but pleasant. The hall way to the room was grotty, old and dirty. The room wasn't much better with plaster hanging off the wall, curtains half burnt and the carpets were filthy. Once upon a time it must have been renovated as the fixtures looked modern but were knackerd. Got back to the hotel at midnight and it was utter carnage! Drunken people running around the corridors, almost every room on our floor was having 'a party' the walls were very thin and I could hear every but of 'business activity' going on in this hotel. Ladies were knocking on our door all night, drunks also knocking on every door they walked past, it was quite intimidating and I couldn't wait to get out of there! We talked to the receptionist in the morning and he said we should have called him and he could have 'dealt' with the noisy customers but I told him I got the impression the whole hotel was like this! For a last minute £35 room only deal I wasn't expecting much but I certainly wasn't expecting is to be this bad. I don't normally bother to write reviews but this was just so awful that I felt compelled to share the experience with anyone even considering a night in this hell hole.

Reviewed by
Robyn Myers

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for the money
the room was small but adequate, very clean with teat coffee and a packet of biscuits for the morning. free parking is a bonus for Birmingham.
The bed was very comfortable.
The only draw back was that other people staying were loud throughout the night and the walls a little thin.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again! The room was tiny and the bathroom was awful. The plastic casing of the shower box was broken, the hot water worked for no more than approx 15 minutes, the tiles were covered in dirt, there were spiders in the bedroom and bathroom, our room didnt get cleaned during our two night stay despite us leaving a card hanging outside our door requesting this...our room was located near the corridor double doors and we could hear them being slammed all night; the room windows were thin so the noise of the traffic outside also kept us awake. At around 8am, we were woken up by the hammering of workmen (maintenance work was being carried out at the hotel) and the cleaners were crashing around with their trolleys. I know understand why this hotel is located on a road called Cheapside. Just terrible!

Reviewed by
Rohima B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprising quality
The Paragon Hotel is a surprisingly good quality hotel near central Birmingham, charging very reasonable prices.

Reviewed by
justin Lavender

From Thames Ditton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
J Tuck

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate for a single night arriving late and leaving early, wouldn't want to stay longer or hang around in the evening. The room was clean and comfortable, the water hot and there was a kettle. Dreary part of town but easy walk into the centre for breskfast. Not sure it was worth the price, especially undiscounted.

Reviewed by
E H

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I didn't feel safe in the hotel. My room didn't have a proper lock or a chain on the door as lone young woman I did not feel safe at all. I would not stay again and would not recommend you.
Reception were very polite and the staff at breakfast were exceptionally friendly. That was the only plus of my stay.

Reviewed by
E Lloyd Davies

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad experience
This is quite the worst hotel I have stayed in for some time. If you are going to refurbish close the place and reopen. Do not try to refurb while serving guests. Décor in corridors and rooms was a very low standard, plumbing was bad, breakfast appalling (only had it once), service and staff pretty poor apart from the girls on the desk.

Reviewed by
Hugh Colver

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next