No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 318 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gave them a second chance but I won't be giving them a third
I had booked two separate stays in advance due to work commitments. Unfortunately, because the booking was non-refundable, I elected to try the hotel one more time, rather than pay again and find another place to stay for the second night. So, I went to the first room allocated but the key did not fit the door. They gave me a new room, but the room had very dim main lights, 3 other lights in the room were not working and the remote control was not working either. Staff kindly came up to sort it out and offered me another room instead. This had working lights (yippee!) but the remote control probably needed new batteries. Hoiwever, by this point, I was too tired to care and went to sleep. Bed linen was clean this time thankfully. Shower was intact but still not much power. The corridors overall upstairs are a really cheerless grey. I think hotel renovation is in progress but I am not planning to return and see the outcome.
Overall, I have to say the reception staff are great but they are being let down by poor room maintenance.

Reviewed by
Ambreen K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is currently being refurbished and appears a little tatty. But the room was clean, and the staff unfailingly helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
B Giddens

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
My main reason for booking this hotel was it's location (closest to edgbaston), it's dark, dingy, out of date and noisy at night.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unpleasant stay
Hotel was in an unpleasant location next to large council estates and didn't feel safe at night. The room was small, dirty and only had a lamp, no real lighting. Decor was dated. Parking was free but didn't feel secure. Staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
Tim H

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More upfront info required
Although there is a note to say that there is refurbishment being carried out at the hotel in the info on line and a notice by the lift, there was little evidence of any refurbishment on show. My room was clean, adequate for my simple requirements and the bed was clean and comfortable. When I checked in and I asked about food, I was directed to the bar meals and sandwiches available, yet there is an on site restaurant, obviously it wasn't open on a Saturday night. It also says that it is a 10 minute (6.5mile) taxi journey from the Airport. I think they need to check that again, it cost me "£25 and took 20 minutes and that was on a Sunday afternoon

Reviewed by
S McDonald

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Message: This was our second visit to the Paragon the previous one being 2 years ago. What an eye opener and not in a good way, where the breakfast/restaurant area was clean and very nicely decorated the bedrooms were abismal. We were in room 210 the mould/damp in the room was disgusting, also shower area was mouldy. I know you have refurbishments going on but the rooms we were in should not have been used for letting out. Such a shame when staff were friendly and the breakfast was one of the best I''ve had in a long time.. I have taken photographs of the problem areas if you wish to view these

Reviewed by
R Gillett

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms clean and comfortable.friendly bar staff.the breakfast was great,lovely breakfast room.

Reviewed by
Helen L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff, nice hotel, very easy location to reach from the station. Fairly basic room but just what we needed.

Reviewed by
Lauren D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing and not at all like the pictures
I was not impressed. Despite a grand-looking exterior, the hotel itself seemed rather shabby. My allocated room did not have working lights. The staff kindly gave me another room on request. The replacement room was much larger and had working lights. However, the mattress was effectively a foam sponge, the bed-linen was not clean, the shower handle was broken and the shower had little power (making hair washing a chore). I know the room was cheap but the website implied this was a very much reduced rate as a special offer. With this in mind, I did expect a much better standard than that obtained.

Reviewed by
Ambreen K

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon

Reviewed by
JASON JAMES

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next