No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 363 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of a refurbishment.
The hotel is very dated in decor, and certainly needs some modernisation. The rooms are of poor standard and have a strange smell to them although all three rooms our party stayed in were relatively clean. The communal areas such as corridors, lifts, reception etc were rather dirty. I couldn't fault the service, staff were extremely helpful day and night.

Reviewed by
Louise H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon, nice on the outside.....
The hotel looks lovely on the outside, but I wasn't aware that the hotel was actually more like a tired, slightly musty hostel serving mainly immigrants and asylum seekers. I'm not against that, but you could let your paying guests know the score before they decide to book there for a nights stay. The photographs you put on the website for the hotel room does not match what you actually get. The bedding and towels were all clean, but the room felt more like an old university dormitory. I didn't know what I expected for £38 for the night but apparently the normal price of a nights stay is nearer £120?! I would have been very annoyed to pay that to stay in a run down hostel. Breakfast was basic, poor quality spread of food and more like a canteen.

Reviewed by
Colin G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reality
I've stayed at the Paragon Hotel and I'm not going to again. I had my room changed 3 times! The carpet was wet, then the next room had an appalling smell and the third room had plumbing issues. The staff are friendly and they informed me that they are going through changes at the moment. It's still un acceptable. I left my room in the morning and came back at 4pm to find that my room had not been cleaned!! It's dull and even the " new and refurbished " rooms were not quite up to par. The lights didn't work nor did the heating and these are the new room!!
My advice is try another hotel!! The Paragon used to be a hostel and I think it still is.

Reviewed by
S Khanom

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

paragon birmingham
Room was clean , it was on as a special offer and therefor was a good price but still I was shocked by the standard, the hallways were very dirty with cigarette butts on the floor , a good point was the receptionists were pleasant and helpful

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Las palmas, Spain
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very frendly and helpful but the hotel was very old. They are working very hard to refurbish but it's going to take a long time. If they get it right it will be a very grand hotel.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was more like a hostel. And a bad one at that. Disgusting

Reviewed by
Kim G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap Hotel
Huge old Victorian building that was originally built to house Irish workers. A labyrinth of corridors with hundreds of bedrooms. Very tired, cheaply 'tarted up' with dark brown paint to cover a multitude of sins! The corridor and room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. Room nothing like the photographs used to advertise the hotel, ancient, battered furniture and not well prepared. There is a covered carpark nearby but in all honesty I would not really feel comfortable walking around outside after dark. Overall...it's cheap for a reason! I wouldn't stay there again but it was a last minute booking.

Reviewed by
Gavin B

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
When ever I come to the Digbeth area of Birmingham the Paragon Hotel is always my first choice. 24 Hr onsite parking (plus free on street parking beside the building), plus a bar and walking distance to Digbeth and the Bullring gives it the perfect location.
You can't beat the value for money you get with this hotel, the rooms aren't massive but more than enough room for 2 people in a twin/double room. Has a TV, wardrobe/hanging area and decent bathrooms.

Reviewed by
Sam R

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for money
Thinking about the money that I paid I would say it was one of the best hotels I ever went to and I do go hotel quite a lot!

Reviewed by
Parham C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be Improved
The staff at this hotel were very friendly which is the only positive thing I can say about it really. This hotel has taught me to read reviews. I spent the night worried about my car in the hotel car park which isn't fair really. The room as a whole needs a lot of work but just a spring clean as a start would be an improvement. Not at all what I would expect and Laterooms should investigate !!!!

Reviewed by
Danny Bates

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next