No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 328 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, dingy and dirty
Possibly the worst hotel I've ever seen. The room was tiny with about a foot of space around the sides of the bed. The decor was dingy (dark brown walls) and depressing and the bathroom was basic to say the least. The single lightbulb above the basin in the bathroom was totally inadequate to even see in the mirror directly below it. I almost missed the tiny shower that was hidden behind the bathroom door. It was like a prison cell. The hotel lounge/ reception was dirty and smelly. It was altogether a very poor experience. We walked in and walked out without a second glance and stayed elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Liz H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon

Reviewed by
JASON JAMES

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Room had damp walls felt like a block of old scruffy flats looked nothing like photos refused to stay there and got a refund.

Reviewed by
Natalie L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful
wouldn't stay here again. faulty room and bathroom, smelt awful

Reviewed by
E Troughton

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

terrible , dont waste your time
Awful , run down , dirty , untidy . Worst stay in a hotel I've experienced

Reviewed by
j ludgate

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel not the cleanest, very basic.. Would not stay again

Reviewed by
Simon C

From BFPO 58, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
customer service was great thumbs up for the young girl on reception she gave me an upgrade

Reviewed by
t riley

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pictures on the website are not like the reality.
Very tired rooms needing a lot of TLC! Clean but not like the pictures on the website at all....or at least the room I was given.
Parking was free and covered/secure. A bonus

Reviewed by
Matt T

From Tonbridge, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent price, great location, great service.
Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help, rooms were clean and tidy (We actually saw both the older and the newer refurbished rooms and I was perfectly happy with the standard of both).
The building itself is lovely- the corridors are a little dated but what difference does that make?
The carpark was easy to find and actually felt a little more secure than if it had been open air (I accidently left my car unlocked one night... no problems though!)
My friends room was unfortunately right next to a squeaky fire door that was in use all night, however she asked to be moved in the morning and they happily accommodated even though they were really busy.
All in all a great experience- you can't go wrong for the price, especially five minutes walk from the Bullring.
I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jenay L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware !
This was a last minute booking and I really wish I had done my research. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, and certainly not the cheapest! On arrival, we were met by a helpful receptionist but that was the end of the positivity. Walking past the restaurant, dirty plates and food on the floor. Every floor had a different odour, some making me retch! The walls were stained and plaster falling off in places. When I reached my room, there was no overhead light! I couldn't make the place feel illuminated. I could hear entire conversations (and other interactions) of the rooms next to me, and this carried on late into the night. There was mould in the shower and a note saying that 'if there was no hot water, wait 30 minutes for the boiler to refresh'. There were 3 working TV channels, no locks on the windows and no wifi above the 1st floor. I booked 2 nights and can see why you pay on arrival. I would have gone elsewhere otherwise.

Reviewed by
B Hayes

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next