No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.

Please note that though a multimillion pound refurbishment is underway,due care has been taken to ensure that there will be no disturbance to guests whatsoever nor any disruption to our normal services.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 444 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok ish
wouldnt bother staying here again.
staff are abit rude, didnt make me feel welcome.
plus this hotel seems to be a hang out for half of Birminghams taxi drivers who meet outside and talk and crack jokes for 30 mins at 2.30am

Reviewed by
D Ellison

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon
Looks really nice on arrival, but small rooms with thin walls, my kettle was dirty my shower didn't work I asked for a wake up call, only find out there was no phone in the room, also couldn't turn off light above my bed, will never stay there again

Reviewed by
D Bacchus

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
The first room given had rubbish in the waste bin, tissue in the toilet; no water from the hot tap and the room smelt of smoke; received no apology, hardly any acknowledgement at all, when I went back to reception to request a different room. This one still had a smell to it that took an open window a while to clear; it was very run down. Not worth the lowest offer price.

Reviewed by
W E

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room poor service. dissappointed. Every room is different
3rd time staying here and I am very disappointed. Shower was freezing and broken. The room was not very clean. The curtain did not pull across properly letting light in making it difficult to sleep. The light was broken so it was dark and the tv did not work. I went to reception and explained about the tv and the lamp. the engineer gave us an extra lamp but with regards to the tv problem I was told "we have signal problems, some rooms have all the channels, some rooms have none" we had about 3 channels and they said they couldn't do anything. sorry but not good enough. I've stayed here 4 times and had mixed experiences, this being the worst. I could understand if we had booked last minute and got the worst room but we booked in advance. the highlight of the room was the custard cream biscuits on the tea and coffee tray. paragon hotel has let me down.

Reviewed by
K Barnett

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment Not made aware at time of booking
On arrival the Lobby was being re decorated and the lifts were not in use, Two flights of Stairs with asthma. The stairs were not refurbished and were grotty and smelly
Very nice bathroom but shower very slow to drain

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay in my life
I was staying 4 days in that hotels as I already mentioned that I need a quite room but I haven’t got the quite room & was unable to sleep whole night as they allocate me street side room and there is no double glazing windows. when I complain to reception then they moved me another room. when I unlock the room I found the door lock was broken then again I complained about it then they moved me in another room. it seems to me good but when I wake up to go for toilet I found that the toilet seat was broken & water on the floor also no hot water in the toilet also the room carpet was too sticky & smelly. I think I have done a big mistake to stay in your hotel as it’s just not wasting of money but I was am unable to do my work as well & I have no time to find another hotel. there is no attachments where I can attach the real photos inside the room conditions after viewing that picture I am sure no one will go. I complained it to the hotel GM & no action was taken. Unfortunately I forgot my invoice at the time of checkout I asked to the receptionists please email me my invoice. couple of e-mails I send to them but they never respond. The hotel provide zero customer service.

Reviewed by
ATHER S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic, fine for a quick stopover
We've stayed here before and it's fine if you're planning not to spend much time here but we did have a few problems with the room this time. We had no real lights that worked so when it came to get ready to go out had to go to reception to ask for a light. A man came up with a small table lamp in the end which still made it so hard to see what you were doing!! The TV was minuscule and then when we tried to go to bed the dim light above your head of the bed couldn't be switched off! It's cheap and basic for a night out though so didn't worry too much. Shame the price of breakfast has gone up to £10, had to go elsewhere for that. Would prob come back if got a good rate again and just needed a bed to sleep in.

Reviewed by
R Tuck

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first room was horrendous, like a cell, the TV did not work so we were moved.
The second room was bigger and brighter but very grubby, tired and lots of stains on the carpet and base of the bed which was on show.
The entrance hall was lovely, fresh and clean

Reviewed by
s smith

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shockingexperience
Not a place I would stay at again , great reception area, big let down once past that. Maintanance of poor quality .. TV channel coverage took me back to early 90s..

Reviewed by
A Mills

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First room was not suitable, yet customers service representative soon resolved the issue.
After being shown a second room which was a decent size, had newly fitted bathroom, large flat screen TV and comfy bed, the only down side was not booking enough nights. I had best hotel sleep every.

Reviewed by
Bradley g

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next