The Paragon Hotel

3

145 ALCESTER STREET, BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ

Price From 59.30 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (479)

38% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Zeeshan Asghar

  • December 2014

Totally unprofessional attitude

They debited my card without my authorisation which is disgusting.

Smelly room, poor customer service.

  • colin e

  • December 2014

christmas shopping break

good stay, staff were very friendly and helpful .

warm and clean room, very nice breakfast. would we stay again. yes.

  • S Green

  • December 2014

Overall ok

The room was basic so was good for what we wanted as we only wanted somewhere to sleep.the shower was broke so was hard to use and after one shower there was no hot water.

There wasn't a hair dyer in the room which in the winter isn't good. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food however the staff on reception was rude on the Friday night. I'd stay here again as its walking distance to the centre and would only recommend it if people just wanted to put their head down for th night.

  • Zoltan D

  • December 2014

Good accommodation - good location

  • Nigel Mee

  • December 2014

Do not stay at this hotel!!!!

We where attending a function in Birmingham and this was the nearest hotel to the venue.The room cost £95, a little steep (We had stayed in the excellent Jurys Inn Nottingham the week before for £49).

but the location was convenient for us. We were a little late arriving, so in a bit of a hurry. At the reception, slovenly staff told us that we had to pay before we would be allowed up to the room. I soon found out why. Walking along a dark, dank, smelly corridor, my wife commented that it was more like a prison. I agreed, saying that a prison would not smell as bad. On entering the room, we were both horrified. The room was filthy and damp. Wallpaper was hanging off the walls and the plaster was crumbling and falling off. Our feet stuck to the threadbare carpet. The shower room (No bath) was that filthy we were unable to use it. The shower was full of grime and hairs and there was dried vomit all around the basin. We complained at the reception, asking for the room to be changed. We were told in no uncertain terms that it was our fault for arriving late, (18:00?) and had we arrived earlier, we would have had a better room. No refund was available.

In the morning, the reception staff were actually quite pleasant and apologetic, saying they were very used to the complaints.

We were asked if we required breakfast. Was this a joke. Bearing in mind the state of the room, what would the kitchen be like. Never again!!. Nigel & Wendy.

  • Diane A

  • December 2014

One night break

The positives were friendly and efficient receptionists and the breakfast was very good.

The negatives:

1. Ceiling had suffered a leak which had also gone onto the carpet below. 2. The old wooden windows need replacing desperately as the room was very draughty. I covered the worst draughts with towels. As the room had 6 windows the cold air coming in kept the room cold so we had the heating on all night. The view from the 4th floor was brilliant and right over Birmingham City Centre.

  • D Pearsall

  • December 2014

Dirty

The room was old and seemed dirty, the hall ways did not have much lighting which made me feel uneasy and people had clearly been smoking in the room.

There was no hot water in the morning which was not very helpful. The pictures on the website are not correct to the standard of the rooms it feels like they were taken from another hotel . I would not stay there again.

  • S G

  • December 2014

Needs a lot of money spent on it

Wasn't great, very basic.

  • Caroline L

  • December 2014

Don't stay here.

Room was dirty and the heater didn't work.

Pay the extra money, and go to to a travel lodge or the ibis down the road, where you know what you're getting.

  • Nick R

  • December 2014

Great value

Great value, clean, a little dated but perfect for one night stay to see show