No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 407 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
This was my worst experience of booking a last minute deal. The room was old and very dusty un hoovered carpet. There was no chair to the dresser, no main light to the room and the room tv was malfunctioning. With no shower I was left with the choice of not washing or going In the dirty old cracked bath. I was very very disapointed and will not be returning at all

Reviewed by
H Grant

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience apart from noise at night
Very loud music being played seemingly from within the hotel woke me at 4 a.m. on the Sunday morning. It continued for a long time making sleep impossible.

Reviewed by
J McGinley

From Hoylake, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic adventure in Birmingham
in Birmingham for the Waterboys at the Moseley Folk Festival. The hotel was lovely if a bit worse for wear. Cozy room with ultra comfy bed. Loved the history of the neighborhood and found an amazing church which welcomed us with its brilliant architecture. Thriving communities and endless energy...fabulous dining in Birmingham and Moseley. Perfect location so we could walk everywhere. Look forward to returning and checking on the restoration process.

Reviewed by
LeslieJo M

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scruffy rooms ...
First room had loose shower and mould marks in the bathroom and in opening the curtains plaster fell from the wall ! We were moved to another room for the second night - although more spacious the bath had a grey ' tide mark ' in it, there was more peeling plaster, and the TV remote, then the TV refused to work . Workmen in the foyer re-tiling the floor. Staff tried hard but overall a dingy atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Trevor R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay ever
This hotel was literally disgusting I stayed on the second floor it looked nice from the outside the main reception area wasn't too bad but the room was beyond hideous worst two nights of my life the shower was filthy there was mould in the shower and the doors and windows creaked all night was not happy in the slighest

Reviewed by
H Javed

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid this place
Hmmmm.... what to say about this place.The hotel building exterior is beautiful however insides are not. Our room was very outdated and nothing like the photographs online... Our coffee cups where dirty, the paint work was chipped, there was constant noise from what I can only think was a generator? The bathroom was dirty and the water was luke warm. The hallway decor was poor, the room keys were not swipe cards, there was trash throughout the floors..... I could go on and on but my best advice is stay everywhere!!

Reviewed by
Victoria A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

House keeping poor, hotel needs updating

Reviewed by
S Trowman

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

got what we wanted
The Hotel has free parking in a covered warehouse next to the hotel . The Hotel was close to where we wanted to be. The hotel looks recently decorated ... the room we had was smallish but adequate.
You get what you pay for and it was excellent value. you would have paid a lot more elsewhere. It was nice to stay in a hotel that had a bit of history about it .

Reviewed by
LEE K

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not A Good Experience.
We booked this hotel due to it's price and proximity to the wedding venue we were attending. And because of this, as were in a hurry, we checked in and simply dropped our bags in the room without giving the room a proper look.
On returning from the wedding in the early hours, we we're appalled by the state of the room.
The room walls & ceiling we're damaged.
The bathroom had a disgusting smell, the floor was one big puddle, the shower was full of mould and to top it off the toilet roll holder simply feel apart when trying to use it.
Breakfast the next morning was of very low quality, the fruit juice & coffee was about all that was acceptable.
In addition the hotel provided a free off road car park (another reason for booking it), though as it appeared to be un-managed I'm not sure my car was any safer here than on the road.
The staff were generally helpful and nice and when we complained the next morning we were refunded £20 by the manager.

Reviewed by
S Grant

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit
Second time at the paragon and had a great stay. Ok so first time I was dubious due to other reviews but you get what you pay for and sometimes more. Both rooms clean (some small mess in lobby not cleared up but I survived). Bed a little lumpy but for a weekend in Birmingham staying in walking distance to the centre with free parking that was a compromise I could live with. Had breakfast this time with good food and no hassle. Breakfast room shows the potential for this place. Staff always helpful and polite. Reading other reviews shows thst if you need help they will try.
Overall great for a weekend in a grsat city, but probably not one for a romantic proposal

Reviewed by
neil g

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next