No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 383 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Considering the price we paid it was acceptable, after asking for the carpet to be hoovered as it was filthy. I would have been disgusted had I paid the full price.
Very basic twin room.
WARNING, the top of the hanging rail over the case shelf has a very sharp corner as my husband found out as he stood up after getting something out his case. the gash in his head was still bleeding several hours later.

Reviewed by
jean s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt extremely intimidated as a single woman in this hotel. I feel this hotel is not suitable for people in Birmingham on buisness or people holdiaying in Birmingham. I got the impression this hotel is used for temporary accommodation!

Reviewed by
Sally D

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant surprise
Stayed here twice now and think its fab. Rooms are dated but gives the place a lovely character. If you're the type of person who spends £35 on a room and then sulks when its not the Ritz then you'll probably leave with a face like a chicken laying razors, but personally think this place is a little gem

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only book if they is nowhere else but even then sleep in the street
Absolutely appalled at state of the hotel I do know the hotel is getting renovated but the room that I was staying in was poor their was grease stains on the wall not enough socket to plug in to and the location of the hotel is in industrial state and when leaving the hotel I felt unsafe .PS In the corridors they were flys evewhere

Reviewed by
chris morton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was given wrong room as wasn't very clean
Only got a last minute cheap deal for a night out. So paid £40 for 2 of us. We discovered next day given then wrong room, should of have twin beds. There was a wet towel left in the shower and bathroom looked a bit grim. Walls are paper thin could hear about "Kevin's wedding" for 45mins in through the wall in the morning. The lights were dim so couldnt apply make up very well as we arrived when dark. I want to say get what ou pay for but clean shower and decent lighting wouldn't go a miss. Would stay again but wouldn't be first day, like to think this was a "one off"

Reviewed by
D Scott

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible ! Mould in bathroom and overall clenliness was shocking.
Apon arrival we found the parking was just ab old warehouse that was no longer managed - it was run down and several people in there were smoking weed etc.. In the hotel itself the receptionist was lovely but the room we payed for was horrible. Mould in the bathroom around the corners, shower fitting was broken and the floor looked and felt as if it hadn't been washed for god knows how long, the main part of the bedroom was also dirty - the floor had definitely not been hoovered the entire side where the kettle sat was sticky, the curtains were filthy and the bed could have done with a new mattress - overall it was a terrible nights stay and I don't recommend the hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
S Kelley

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very nice room
Blood on the curtains, room door handle falling off.
Bathroom was disgusting, and that's a nice word.

Reviewed by
e s

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, and good value for the price we got it (it was on offer). Not far from the bullring, and good Internet access :).

Reviewed by
Zoe B

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel!
I really enjoyed the hotels cleanliness, customer service and other things that it was provided. We had a problem but it was sorted soon as possible. Overal I will recommend it to others and i will visit it myself.

Reviewed by
Sanaz Abdolahi

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible mattress
Room 212 had a terrible mattress! I challenge the manager the to get a minutes sleep on this bed!

Reviewed by
M Bourne

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next