The Paragon Hotel

3

145 ALCESTER STREET, BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ

Price From 56.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (462)

39% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • F Vasanwala

  • December 2014

The Paragon Hotel

Reasonably priced but the facilities are slightly decrepit esp.

the toilets, but with renovation on board, it may be better in the future hopefully.

  • D walker

  • December 2014

What a shambles!

The room was dirty with the bath surround being black and porcelain chipped off, bed was lumpy and the corridor was creepy and smelly!

  • elizabeth g

  • December 2014

Not worth the money

  • B Aston

  • December 2014

The Paragon Hotel

Appreciate the hotel is under refurbishment.

Therefore my comments reflect the hotel as it is now.

  • D Maguire

  • December 2014

The Paragon Hotel

Very bad if it was in Ireland it would be closed down the only thing it has going for it is the staff it is not good

  • Alan H

  • November 2014

Dreadful

Not nice

  • A Paterson

  • November 2014

Not bad at all

I booked a 1 night stay at the hotel before I read the reviews that had been left previously and was quite worried initially.

However when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. Both of our rooms were newly furnished, with new carpets and brand new en suite shower rooms. All very clean , if a little on the small side, but hey if you pay around £50 for a double room in Birmingham with free parking, you don't expectin a Ritz Suite.

The customer service was very good, the staff friendly and helpful. The only thing that really could have been better was the food. Although saying that it was okay for the price we paid.

Overall a very positive experience. I would definitely stay again.

  • C Ash

  • November 2014

Not again

Not sure where they get the photos on their website but not reflected in my room.

First room had dangerously broken power socket. To be fair, I was upgraded. The room was warm but the lighting almost non-existent. Mould along skirting due to a leaking basin; mould in the tile grouting in the bathroom although the water pressure was high and it was hot. With a limited bar menu (no restaurant); the nearest restaurant was not in walking distance. The website apologies for the improvement work continuing into 2014 (yes 2014); there was no evidence of improvement work and that comment must have come from 2013.

  • R Raven

  • November 2014

Not what was advertised at all

Paid £44 pounds for a room that was apparently discounted from over £100.

Photo looked excellent was really looking forward to it after a long day. What I actually got was a room that was small, cold, covered in damp and very noisy. In the morning, I was pleasantly surprised to get in the shower (which was clean) as it was warm and powerful - until the hot water ran out after about 2 minutes. Do not believe the photo - do not believe the discount, this hotel is a long way from reasonable and Travelodge do a far better job of hitting the basics. I will never stay at this hotel again, and it damages the reputation of Laterooms who provide the photo of the room you will not get.

  • James C

  • November 2014

A terrible experience

The greeting I received was pleasant and I have no complaints about that part of my stay.

When I entered the room and switched the light on nothing happened, and yes the key-card was in the card switch. When I got the table lamp on i could then see how dirty the room was. The photograph attached is the floor at the side of the bed. The walls have marks over them where drinks have been splashed onto them, this can also be seen in the photo. The desk had people’s names etched into it, see the second photograph attached. The bathroom smelt of musty damp and there was a hair in the bath. The TV had no remote control and the buttons on it had a sticky substance on them that I had to wash off, which was disgusting. I went down to reception and asked to be allocated a different room and explained that the room was dirty and also that it was a disabled room, which I wasn’t made aware of at the time of booking as with other hotels. I was advised that the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing they could do. The young girl was very apologetic. So it would seem that the negative reviews I read were mostly true. The music, which had a constant loud drumming beat, continued to past 3am and this kept me awake most of the night. I left the hotel at 7:30 and left my key on the reception desk. I also asked the receptionist for the nearest place that I could grab a burger and chips, I explained that I did not want top eat in the hotel bar. She directed me to the Bullring (Handmade Burger Company), but as I left the hotel I found the fast food place within 50 yards of the hotel. This I should have been made aware of. I paid £128.00 for my room and feel that the quality of the stay was far below what I would expect for this.