No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 335 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
Saturday night at 8pm I made the mistake of wanting a shower. As I stood there behind the filthy shower curtain looking at the mould while soaping up instead of the water getting hotter it got colder and colder. I had to use a wet towel to try and get the shower get off. After a call to reception I was told my neighbour had used all the hot water. At 9pm the water was still cold and the manageress was refusing to give me any sort of refund.
It is supposed to be a non smoking hotel and yet the entire second floor stunk of cannabis smoking.
Previously this hotel was already going down hill... I think it may have reached rock bottom now.
If you can stay elsewhere then I would strongly recommend you do just that. This hotel will only leave you disappointed.

Reviewed by
Gary G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Building
Our stay was enjoyable , the room was quite small but was clean and had a tv and shower as well as a kettle and tea and coffee. Unfortunately the hotel is being refurbished at the moment which led to workmen and equipment along with the smell of paint. In general a nice stay and a really lovely old building.

Reviewed by
Ian Richards

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrid
booked a hotel - on the pictures looked really nice. got there reception staff friendly
bar staff seemed very busy. room was shocking. lights next to bed not working so room very bright with only one main light. had to complain about tv remote not working. complained about lights and was told couldnt do anything for that time at night
ordered food at bar . waited 45 mins to be very disappointed with price and quality infact it was disgusting complained to reception and took the price of meal off the bill. i could of got a better hotel for the money .plus was a taxi ride into town

Reviewed by
r simmonds

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awfull
My experience at the Paragon hotel was shocking, I would describe it as a hostel NOT a hotel!
The car parking facility was derelict, full of rubbish, broken glass all over, some of it obviously from car break ins, needless to say I parked on the road where I felt was a better option.
I complained about our room which was extremely run down,dirty carpets( all over the hotel), smelled of urine and very bad mould around the shower. They changed our room without question to a recently refurbished one, this was adequate and smelled fresher, the bedding was clean and fresh in its favour, although the shower leaked through the seal and flooded the bathroom.
I'm fed up of complaining now, late rooms should not be associated with such a hotel and the description of it on the web is very misleading in my experience!

Reviewed by
aileen morley

From stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stuff
What was needed for our trip to birmingham

Reviewed by
M Cusworth

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bogging
although there is a refurbishment programme going on and I get that. the room was a cupboard and the cleanliness of the shower cubicle well I better stop there I think

Reviewed by
ken h

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was dated, old carpet, smelt of burning/ cigarettes, room was not that clean, especially in shower room, shower.valve cover fell off, shower was hot and fast though, most important was room door lock, asked for it to be fixed, was told next day, receptionist was polite and was trying to sort it out but we left before it was fixed, wouldn't have taken much to bust door ooen. Bed was sprung and very uncomfortable. General decor and feel of the place was drab, It was cheap but never again

Reviewed by
alan rastall

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My worst hotel in recent years
Hotel impressive on the outside, but bad on the inside.
Not really the hotel fault, but in a run down part of Birmingham
Bad Things: 1. The bed hard and uncomfortable. The springs could be felt in my back. 2. The bed only had a summer duvet on (in early April) and together with the gaps around the windows, I had an extremely cold night. Availability of a blanket or two would have been useful. 3. Most serious was that I was unable to get any hot water at all, neither in the sink, or the shower. 4. I just wanted to leave in the morning, and left at 7.30, not wanting to risk a breakfast. When I handed in my key no one seemed interested in asking if I had a good stay. So I just left.

Reviewed by
Mike Byrne

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and bathroom clean. Hotel has saw better days.

Reviewed by
malcolm s

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't do it
If getting woken by people shouting at each other and threatening to stab one another is your bag, book away. The breakfast was extortionate for two slices of white toast an our original room was the size of a cell.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next