No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 383 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse place I've ever had the misfortune to book a room
I'd only booked the room in The Paragon for a night and after my experience I will never stay there again. It was unfortunate I stayed there during a partial power failure but the basic facilities you'd expect in a 3 star hotel were not available and the staff didn't seem to be that bothered when told about my annoyance. They didn't offer me another room, I'd call it a hostel rather than a hotel. Terrible

Reviewed by
Peter C

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold, dirty and dark
We stayed here recently, to find that on arrival that there were a large number of people hanging around reception, ( I didn't think much of this at the time, but later realised it's because it was better than being in the room) the girl on checkout was efficient but not friendly.
We went up to the room and it was dark, there was no main light in the bedroom, all the furniture was black, and out window looked out on to a roof of the hotel covered in rubbish.
The bathroom was grubby but did come with a shower, sink and toilet. Whilst I turned on the TV and found all I could get signal for was ITV, my partner decided to try and have a shower. She turned the water on and left it to warm up for five minutes... well ten... well after that she gave up and had a cold sink wash.
Afterwards she sat at the dressing table to find the lamp didn't work to do her makeup.
Apart from that, the bed was lumpy, but the duvet and pillows were clean.

Reviewed by
Stu Stevens

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good
the room was to small and it had a funny smell and the window did not lock
and the wallpaper was come off the wall

Reviewed by
adam f

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower was very hard to set, too hot or ice cold no in between settings. Television lost signal on BBC channels very often.

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to the picture standard. Checked in and checked out within hours. Room moulded

Reviewed by
Nolwazi N

From Tilbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very faded grandeur
this must have been a beautiful hotel some years ago, but it has been allowed to deteriorate. There is a feeling of neglect in it. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Sebastian L

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Excellent choice for value hotel (free car parking). Rooms were clean with tea, coffee TV etc. The location means it was a 10 to 15 minute walk to get near to the city centre but, at these prices, you could afford a taxi if you wanted!

Reviewed by
Graham W

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon
Would not recommend unless as a very last resort!
Chandelier in main lobby area outside reception was leaking. We had a faulty fire alarm where the hotel manager knocked on our door thinking that we were smoking in the room. Had 2 miss calls on the room landline in the middle of the night. Shoddy shower with very slow drainage system, my feet were drowned in the water. The TV was out of date, tiny and only had 5 channels.
Only positive, the reception staff were nice.

Reviewed by
Kamran U

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
S Kamath

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is currently being refurbished, the ground floor is quite nice however the rooms although reasonably clean had damp on the walls. Also they currently have a large number of refugees staying at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next