No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 318 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Misrepresentation
The pictures and description provided are nothing like the hotel in reality. We could not stay there, we left and got a refund. Horrible place

Reviewed by
George G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff
Overall my partner and I found the stay very comfortable, the staff were all better than brilliant, and very accommodating and helpful. The only faults were the very dim bathroom lights and slight noise at night from the other guests and outside.

Reviewed by
lewis yale

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the price
Stayed at the hotel as I went to an event down the road in Digbeth, all the staff we met were polite and sociable, the room wasn't the greatest but for the price on a weekend with such short notice it was really acceptable.

Reviewed by
R Henderson

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not brilliant.
The first room I went to was without a bath, despite me asking specifically for one. There was also an adjoining door to the next room on the corridor which, had I of stayed would have meant I would be able to hear everything next door, which was by at all desirable. The second room I went to was much better and had a bath...but you couldn't use it as there was no hot water and the maintenance man was not on site. The third room was fine but what a rigmoral! The food in the resturant was awful. This hotel has so much potential but needs a lot more work to be adequate.

Reviewed by
Eleanor B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not So Good
I was disappointed that this hotel looked like it was being used for a refugee camp.
There was noise outside until 3am.
We didnt feel secure in that area

Reviewed by
Dale Hunter

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful Hotel
From when I arrived it was a dingy building with what seemed Hundreds of rooms where you can stand in the middle of the room and touch all walls of the room the food now there was an experience I ordered hand battered Fish Chips and Beans when it was served it came on a wooden board and newspaper on top of that ok if it was a gimmick but the paper it comes on breaks off into all the Fish and Chips so you have paper in meal I was not impressed

Reviewed by
andy morris

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seemed a good deal but would have been very disappointed if paid full price
Told saving of 80.00. Glad only paid 40. Felt like I was staying in an institution. Rooms so dated. On plus side nice clean towels and sheets. Young reception girl was so flustered and not sure what she was doing. Needs to keep professional and not show it. We were the only ones at reception so no pressure really

Reviewed by
M Mann

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleeping in a broomcupboard
Whilst I will agree I booked a single room I did not expect to be sleeping in a broom cupboard. The room was in need of a good clean, tea/coffee stains on the wall, dirty spoon, and the basin had hairs in it and the whole place needs some tlc, The shower needed a really good clean and why would I want to sleep with my head near the bathroom yuk.
The bed linen as tatty as is the whole hotel. I guess if you want a cheapish room with no frills it was ok
As the room was so dirty I opted not to eat in the hotel

Reviewed by
Andrea F

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of a refurbishment.
The hotel is very dated in decor, and certainly needs some modernisation. The rooms are of poor standard and have a strange smell to them although all three rooms our party stayed in were relatively clean. The communal areas such as corridors, lifts, reception etc were rather dirty. I couldn't fault the service, staff were extremely helpful day and night.

Reviewed by
Louise H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reality
I've stayed at the Paragon Hotel and I'm not going to again. I had my room changed 3 times! The carpet was wet, then the next room had an appalling smell and the third room had plumbing issues. The staff are friendly and they informed me that they are going through changes at the moment. It's still un acceptable. I left my room in the morning and came back at 4pm to find that my room had not been cleaned!! It's dull and even the " new and refurbished " rooms were not quite up to par. The lights didn't work nor did the heating and these are the new room!!
My advice is try another hotel!! The Paragon used to be a hostel and I think it still is.

Reviewed by
S Khanom

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next