No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 405 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a shambles!
The room was dirty with the bath surround being black and porcelain chipped off, bed was lumpy and the corridor was creepy and smelly!

Reviewed by
D walker

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money

Reviewed by
L Dickson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overal it was good as a base especially if for 1-2 nights
In general my stay was ok, the room was tidy and the food was ok, the staff were also helpful and polite. However the room was a bit cramped, the tv did not work, the unit in the bedroom was dangerous nearly banged my head on it a few times and there was no heating in the room, would rate 6/10.

Reviewed by
P Stone

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Reasonably priced but the facilities are slightly decrepit esp. the toilets, but with renovation on board, it may be better in the future hopefully.

Reviewed by
F Vasanwala

From Singapore 438791, Singapore
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Appreciate the hotel is under refurbishment. Therefore my comments reflect the hotel as it is now.

Reviewed by
B Aston

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money

Reviewed by
elizabeth g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Night time staff were rude, but the daytime people were helpfull and polite. the hallways were very poor but the room was quite good. We stayed in a refurbished room and saw one of the old ones which were very poor.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful
Not nice

Reviewed by
Alan H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad at all
I booked a 1 night stay at the hotel before I read the reviews that had been left previously and was quite worried initially. However when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. Both of our rooms were newly furnished, with new carpets and brand new en suite shower rooms. All very clean , if a little on the small side, but hey if you pay around £50 for a double room in Birmingham with free parking, you don't expectin a Ritz Suite.
The customer service was very good, the staff friendly and helpful. The only thing that really could have been better was the food. Although saying that it was okay for the price we paid.
Overall a very positive experience. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
A Paterson

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Very bad if it was in Ireland it would be closed down the only thing it has going for it is the staff it is not good

Reviewed by
D Maguire

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next