No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.

Please note that though a multimillion pound refurbishment is underway,due care has been taken to ensure that there will be no disturbance to guests whatsoever nor any disruption to our normal services.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 450 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
There was no customer service at all during our stay. Upon arrival we were handed the key with very little interaction from the receptionist. Our TV could not maintain a decent picture due to lack of signal. When we approached reception and reported the fault. Response was we can't do anything about it...its a technical issue! The room was small but it was clean and the bathroom was too.
At breakfast we were greeted by a lady who appeared not to enjoy her job. Handed us a photocopied menu and told us we could order cooked breakfast. The problem was they did not have everything available on the list. The continental selection also had little choice.
Parking was inadequate. The car parks itself was opposite the hotel. It was dilapidated and unsecured. However my car remained in one piece.
No WiFi available in the building accept in the freezing cold lobby. But you had to ask for the password...reception probably would not be able to help you as it was a technical issue!
The only positive comment was the building itself was amazing. Full of features and had a very Gothic atmosphere. The lobby was massive, the halls were long and could have been from a film set.

Reviewed by
Clayton S

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for me
I needed to book a room at short notice. The foyer/reception was beautiful, unfortunately the room I was in was very shabby, but clean. The walls was very thin, and other occupants very noisy. I did not get a restful sleep. Although the picture of the hotel was very nice, I did not feel very comfortable in the surrounding area. The reception staff were very helpful, and booked me a cab to leave in the morning.

Reviewed by
May P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No thrills is one thing!!!
For £32 I wasn't expecting much. The receptionists were nice enough although did not give out much voluntary information (wifi code, breakfast times/costs) on arrival. To be fair, another chap was compaining about the std of his room seeking an upgrade on arrival. When I came back to collect my suitcase he was also complaining about his upgrade room! The room was basic but had not been dusted of vacuumed for a while, dated furniture, old sash windows that didn't keep the cold out, damage to the bath tub, pubic hair on the bed clothes and a towel, the shower rail was broken with some white tape to secure it... Not even the toilet roll holder was screwed on properly! No thrills is one thing but this hotel took that description to another level. The car park was the first warning sign to be honest with absent sentry hut filled with rubbish and broken glass over the floors. Don't expect much if you're staying here!

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Wasn't like the pictures

Reviewed by
Ryan M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Great location and very friendly staff. However the first two rooms we were allocated seemingly had no working plug sockets, and the third had a dodgy leaking shower. By this time we just couldn't be bothered to complain again and be moved to another room with another fault. So whilst the staff were very friendly, the hotel standards were not so great, and we will not be returning.

Reviewed by
M Ablett

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor accommodation
The hotel whilst looking impressive did not live up to the website marketing. The car park had 'dodgy' men in it, there was dog muck on all pavements around the hotel and young smokers took up the lobby area. There was a long queue to check in with only one girl trying to do her best, unsupported by a man who looked out of the office then closed the door. The room was dark, very small and dirty. Stains on the quilt could seen through the cover, the stool was very grubby and had graffiti on and the shower was mouldy. I did not stay longer than 10 mins as I called around and found a much cleaner, nicer 2 star hotel about 5 minutes away. I contacted the hotel with no reply.

Reviewed by
L Hackshall

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very nice and have a lot of character, totally impressed with my stay

Reviewed by
C Wright

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was in a single small room that cost 96 pounds and the telly never worked and asked 3 times different people and no one at all fixed it.
So 96 pounds for a small room was totally poor.
I travel all over the world and the British standard is the worst and yours was at the bottom.
I did not complain, but will definitely not recommend you to any company I work with and that is very many.

Reviewed by
R Tracey

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean and good value
A nice room with a clean ensuite. Could have done with a handle for the ensuite instead of having to try and open gripping the lock. Good value for money and only a £7 taxi ride to the centre of Birmingham.

Reviewed by
M Winston

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the essentials were bang on
After booking i saw the reviews and was not feeling too positive.
In reality, car park was close & free, reception staff great, room was recently refurbed, very clean and tidy. Breakfast in the morning was good.
Hotel is an amazing building, massive and a bit empty feeling. they're clearly going through a refurb. The areas is a bit dodgy, and there seems to be a lot of road workers staying there, but staff were great. its about a £5-6 cab out of centre of town.

Reviewed by
G Price

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next