No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 380 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment Not made aware at time of booking
On arrival the Lobby was being re decorated and the lifts were not in use, Two flights of Stairs with asthma. The stairs were not refurbished and were grotty and smelly
Very nice bathroom but shower very slow to drain

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay in my life
I was staying 4 days in that hotels as I already mentioned that I need a quite room but I haven’t got the quite room & was unable to sleep whole night as they allocate me street side room and there is no double glazing windows. when I complain to reception then they moved me another room. when I unlock the room I found the door lock was broken then again I complained about it then they moved me in another room. it seems to me good but when I wake up to go for toilet I found that the toilet seat was broken & water on the floor also no hot water in the toilet also the room carpet was too sticky & smelly. I think I have done a big mistake to stay in your hotel as it’s just not wasting of money but I was am unable to do my work as well & I have no time to find another hotel. there is no attachments where I can attach the real photos inside the room conditions after viewing that picture I am sure no one will go. I complained it to the hotel GM & no action was taken. Unfortunately I forgot my invoice at the time of checkout I asked to the receptionists please email me my invoice. couple of e-mails I send to them but they never respond. The hotel provide zero customer service.

Reviewed by
ATHER S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic, fine for a quick stopover
We've stayed here before and it's fine if you're planning not to spend much time here but we did have a few problems with the room this time. We had no real lights that worked so when it came to get ready to go out had to go to reception to ask for a light. A man came up with a small table lamp in the end which still made it so hard to see what you were doing!! The TV was minuscule and then when we tried to go to bed the dim light above your head of the bed couldn't be switched off! It's cheap and basic for a night out though so didn't worry too much. Shame the price of breakfast has gone up to £10, had to go elsewhere for that. Would prob come back if got a good rate again and just needed a bed to sleep in.

Reviewed by
R Tuck

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first room was horrendous, like a cell, the TV did not work so we were moved.
The second room was bigger and brighter but very grubby, tired and lots of stains on the carpet and base of the bed which was on show.
The entrance hall was lovely, fresh and clean

Reviewed by
s smith

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shockingexperience
Not a place I would stay at again , great reception area, big let down once past that. Maintanance of poor quality .. TV channel coverage took me back to early 90s..

Reviewed by
A Mills

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First room was not suitable, yet customers service representative soon resolved the issue.
After being shown a second room which was a decent size, had newly fitted bathroom, large flat screen TV and comfy bed, the only down side was not booking enough nights. I had best hotel sleep every.

Reviewed by
Bradley g

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

waste of money - dont book
My room was one of the recently decorated ones and was fine. However I had to wait from 3pm-1am(!) to get a remote for the TV. The room had no phone so it meant having to go up and down the stairs to communicate with reception. Was repeatedly told they would bring a remote and then first. The TV. Did not happen. Eventually at 12.30am I said (since I was only staying one night) they could move me to a room that had a TV or give part refund. The chap then fixed the TV but apparently all their TVs are still without free view boxes. Hence for some bizarre reason after paying nearly £50 for a room with a TV, I could only access 5 channel.
My friend stayed in Old Crowne Inn just around the corner. She paid £35, stayed in a beautiful Tudor building. I went round and the staff were so so lovely and she had a TV with more than 5 channels - and did not have to wait 9hrs and go up and down to reception to access them!
The cleaners I encountered were sweet and helpful but the communal stairs were vomit inducing, with the carpet sticky and crunchy under foot. Shame because the reception looked promising but its like a diamond encrusted door to access a cave. False advertising.

Reviewed by
A ROBINSON

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse place I've ever had the misfortune to book a room
I'd only booked the room in The Paragon for a night and after my experience I will never stay there again. It was unfortunate I stayed there during a partial power failure but the basic facilities you'd expect in a 3 star hotel were not available and the staff didn't seem to be that bothered when told about my annoyance. They didn't offer me another room, I'd call it a hostel rather than a hotel. Terrible

Reviewed by
Peter C

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold, dirty and dark
We stayed here recently, to find that on arrival that there were a large number of people hanging around reception, ( I didn't think much of this at the time, but later realised it's because it was better than being in the room) the girl on checkout was efficient but not friendly.
We went up to the room and it was dark, there was no main light in the bedroom, all the furniture was black, and out window looked out on to a roof of the hotel covered in rubbish.
The bathroom was grubby but did come with a shower, sink and toilet. Whilst I turned on the TV and found all I could get signal for was ITV, my partner decided to try and have a shower. She turned the water on and left it to warm up for five minutes... well ten... well after that she gave up and had a cold sink wash.
Afterwards she sat at the dressing table to find the lamp didn't work to do her makeup.
Apart from that, the bed was lumpy, but the duvet and pillows were clean.

Reviewed by
Stu Stevens

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good
the room was to small and it had a funny smell and the window did not lock
and the wallpaper was come off the wall

Reviewed by
adam f

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next