Reviews - The Paragon Hotel



Price From 73.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (366)

33% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Steve M

  • October 2015

Avoid like the plague

This is without doubt the worst hotel I have had the displeasure to stay in.

The photos are very misleading, the whole place is falling apart and very tired. On entering out room the smell of fusty dank filled the room, the windows had obviously not been opened for a long time. The furniture was scruffy and one of the twin beds had fallen apart. This place is more a lad hostel than the previous victorian grand hotel the pictures depict. As such we were woken up by groups of lads coming in drunk throughout the night, empty kebab containers were left down the corridor. We saw the police in the hotel twice in one night, once in our room at 4am investigating a serious incident that had been called through without a room number so everyone had to be checked. The bed was very uncomfortable and I still have a very sore back 3 day later. Sheets were however clean. The car park was an old industrial unit in a very undesirable area of Birmingham, the only place was next to a wall on which someone had deffacated on so we parked on the street outside the hotel. £75 a night seemed cheap and now we know why. Pay a little more and you won't regret it, alternatively sleep in your car!

  • Sheena H

  • October 2015

Dirty, unsafe and unfit to be a hotel!

I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel.

It took 3 attempts to find a remotely habitable room, and even that had smelly carpets, stained furnishings and black mould growing up the walls of the shower. No restaurant for dinner, had to go out on my own. very dark side streets, advised by reception to get a taxi if returning after 10pm. Do not go there!

  • Jordan G

  • October 2015

Not like the picture

When booking this hotel it seemed a really nice hotel.

However when we got there the room lights didn't work and room looked dirty and cramp. the reception looked lovely and the staff were really nice. I just feel the quality of room let them down was definitely not worth £65.

  • F Kenrick

  • October 2015

comfy convenient corner

The no-fuss experience of a stay in The Paragon Hotel is one I would reccomend for the business or academic person.

Besides that it clearly has a lot to offer those who need a venue for big events and family functions on a large scale.

  • Jemma J

  • October 2015

Avoid unless you're partying!

I stayed here for a night out and it did the job.

Our room was very small and I'll start with the good - beds clean, had a decent nights sleep (Didn't get in til 7am and rather tipsy though so this may have helped!), surprisingly quiet - again the time I slept may have helped, towels clean, FREE parking, easy to find, quick check in, close to the venue, late checkout although only to 1pm and £20 extra.

The bad - shower head pole was broken completely off the wall, shower tray was mouldy, shower curtain dirty, SO HOT in the room despite having no heating on, thermostat and TV buttons missing, carpet seen better days, car park covered in broken glass (the first thing I did on arrival was nearly cut my foot), some of the lights didn't work/room dark. The worst thing though - the kettle didn't work. After 5 hours sleep and needing to drive home this was a disaster for me lol. Thank god for Maccy D's drive thru. On a better note, the room our friends had on the same floor but across the other side of the building was much better, nicely decorated and lovely bathroom with modern shower cubicle.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to get your head down after an all nighter then it does the job, but you could get better accommodation for cheaper elsewhere (only 8 mins walk to HMV Institute though). If you're booking a city break then avoid at all costs!

  • Marcus N

  • October 2015

At least the towels were clean!

This hotel is nothing like described or pictured on their website.

Rooms were disgustingly filthy, smelled of smoke and you would have got out of the shower dirtier than you got in to it. On the upside the towels were clean. A most bizarre place. Feel really sorry for the poor girl on reception as she was barraged by complaining customers and really not her fault. Would rather sleep in my car than go there again!

  • Robert S

  • September 2015

This hotel may have refurbished rooms , but most seemed to be in poor condition.

Not worth £75. The beds, bedding and towels were clean . They really need wet room instead of showers because it looks like some folk flood the bathroom which then causes damp on the ceiling below. No idea of general tidiness around the hotel, the simple things that make it pleasing to the eye. I did not eat in, but never heard a complaint in the bar from those that did eat. The hotel is in a really rough area yet not far from the Bullring, I would not have been comfortable been on the streets nearby after dark. People sleeping in doorways in the morning and the area is covered in litter, broken bottles etc.

  • Steven S

  • September 2015

Terrible hotel. One to avoid

I have never given a negative review before as I generally like to give the benefit of the doubt that I had a one off bad experience but this place is truly awful.

I paid for a double room, but my bed took up 2/3 of the room, including pretty much the full width. The room was mouldy, the heater was literally falling off the wall with exposed screws. The screws were coming out of the door handle, the shower was falling apart and to top it off I had no hot water. I asked reception about the hot water and was told it would be sorted when maintenance got off their break. An hour later, still no hot water and I got the distinct impression the receptionist really didn't care. Long story short after further complaints, the following day I was given the key to another room to take a shower which was also mouldy and the shower was again falling off the wall. On checkout there was no apology just a "bye" as I handed my key over. A very unpleasant experience all round.

  • Richard Emra

  • September 2015

Staying at the Paragon Hotel

Okay for the price!

  • Paul S

  • September 2015

Terrible Room.Environmental Health need to visit!

This was a last minute booking and I arrived to a stressed out receptionist whom hadn't had a break for 6 hours and said on the phone "I'm having a break I don't care if they sack me".One of the lifts couldn't be called as button was missing on ground floor.

The room was large,bedding was clean however their appeared to be mould on the wall and the decor was poor. I wouldn't stay ever again!