No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.

Please note that though a multimillion pound refurbishment is underway,due care has been taken to ensure that there will be no disturbance to guests whatsoever nor any disruption to our normal services.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 428 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charge me double!!!
I paid £40 for 2 nights and I was happy with the price, the room was okay but cold and noisy. I found out after few days the y charge me £48 on top of the £40! I am fuming and making a complaint and demand a refund for my £48!!

Reviewed by
J McDonald

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor conditions
I recently booked a room at the Paragon hotel on 31/12/2014 for myself and my girlfriend. I was bitterly disapointed at the condition of the room. It was far from what was advertised on there website and on LateRooms.com which is the website i purchased the room from. I checked in at around 7:15pm. Then checked back out on the same night at around 7:45pm as i wasnt happy with the quality of the room. I took pictures of the conditions. Also the reception area was poorly looked after. One of the reception windows was boarded up with cardboard. Also the two girls on reception were eating a McDonalds whilst checking customers into the hotel which i think is very unprofessional. I paid £72 for the room which was apparently a special offer.

Reviewed by
Dean R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CARELESS NIGHT STAFF
In the room close to our there were some girls listening to music very loud and talking,laughing and shouting until 1 in the night! I called the reception twice but the night receptionist came upstairs just the second time I called him and told them just "turn off your music please"..that's it! Of course the girls didn't listen to him so until later than 1 in the night we couldn't sleep at all! I think when the hotel has guests like that should do something like change their rooms or something like that,specially if other customers are complaining about it! Very careless! We definitely won't come back nomore!

Reviewed by
Valentina Forte

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find in Digbeth
Great(big) hotel on the south edge of town. Lovely listed building. Friendly staff. Has seen better days but hey ho.

Reviewed by
Keith W

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable city centre room
No frills as expected for the money but with problems. Staff were helpful and friendly but this still didn't entirely make up for light with bulb missing (fixed), shower flooding bathroom (not fixed and towels not replaced), and room not serviced during the stay. Old connecting door between rooms was not soundproof and bedside unit had rough edge where veneer had come off.

Reviewed by
E Harris

From SIDMOUTH, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good, no tea.
Really good for a late booking. Booked at 4pm on a whim to stay the same day.
No problems at all, but they did forget to leave any tea (!!!) by the kettle. So obviously I was mortified. IS THIS NOT BRITAIN?!
Aside from that travesty, very nice.

Reviewed by
Tom Birch

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
We had to be moved because of shower flooded the bathroom bed was really uncomfortable but we were moved into other room which made the stay ok.

Reviewed by
A Alder

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service
Brilliant service but room had burn marks on curtains and there was mould in the room.

Reviewed by
Becky W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally unprofessional attitude
They debited my card without my authorisation which is disgusting. Smelly room, poor customer service.

Reviewed by
Zeeshan Asghar

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

christmas shopping break
good stay, staff were very friendly and helpful . warm and clean room, very nice breakfast. would we stay again? yes.

Reviewed by
colin e

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next