No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 362 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!
Stayed at the Paragon in Digbeth last Friday as my Husband and I were attending a surprise Birthday party in the area. I'll get to the point, the front of the hotel was full of about 6 guys on their mobile phones and from the roadside looking up to the top of the building were lit up windows with naked women in! I was in shock but dumped my bags and went to my friends surprise party. The reception was ok, bit rough round the edges but receptionist busy but pleasant. The hall way to the room was grotty, old and dirty. The room wasn't much better with plaster hanging off the wall, curtains half burnt and the carpets were filthy. Once upon a time it must have been renovated as the fixtures looked modern but were knackerd. Got back to the hotel at midnight and it was utter carnage! Drunken people running around the corridors, almost every room on our floor was having 'a party' the walls were very thin and I could hear every but of 'business activity' going on in this hotel. Ladies were knocking on our door all night, drunks also knocking on every door they walked past, it was quite intimidating and I couldn't wait to get out of there! We talked to the receptionist in the morning and he said we should have called him and he could have 'dealt' with the noisy customers but I told him I got the impression the whole hotel was like this! For a last minute £35 room only deal I wasn't expecting much but I certainly wasn't expecting is to be this bad. I don't normally bother to write reviews but this was just so awful that I felt compelled to share the experience with anyone even considering a night in this hell hole.

Reviewed by
Robyn Myers

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for the money
the room was small but adequate, very clean with teat coffee and a packet of biscuits for the morning. free parking is a bonus for Birmingham.
The bed was very comfortable.
The only draw back was that other people staying were loud throughout the night and the walls a little thin.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again! The room was tiny and the bathroom was awful. The plastic casing of the shower box was broken, the hot water worked for no more than approx 15 minutes, the tiles were covered in dirt, there were spiders in the bedroom and bathroom, our room didnt get cleaned during our two night stay despite us leaving a card hanging outside our door requesting this...our room was located near the corridor double doors and we could hear them being slammed all night; the room windows were thin so the noise of the traffic outside also kept us awake. At around 8am, we were woken up by the hammering of workmen (maintenance work was being carried out at the hotel) and the cleaners were crashing around with their trolleys. I know understand why this hotel is located on a road called Cheapside. Just terrible!

Reviewed by
Rohima B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprising quality
The Paragon Hotel is a surprisingly good quality hotel near central Birmingham, charging very reasonable prices.

Reviewed by
justin Lavender

From Thames Ditton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
J Tuck

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate for a single night arriving late and leaving early, wouldn't want to stay longer or hang around in the evening. The room was clean and comfortable, the water hot and there was a kettle. Dreary part of town but easy walk into the centre for breskfast. Not sure it was worth the price, especially undiscounted.

Reviewed by
E H

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I didn't feel safe in the hotel. My room didn't have a proper lock or a chain on the door as lone young woman I did not feel safe at all. I would not stay again and would not recommend you.
Reception were very polite and the staff at breakfast were exceptionally friendly. That was the only plus of my stay.

Reviewed by
E Lloyd Davies

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad experience
This is quite the worst hotel I have stayed in for some time. If you are going to refurbish close the place and reopen. Do not try to refurb while serving guests. Décor in corridors and rooms was a very low standard, plumbing was bad, breakfast appalling (only had it once), service and staff pretty poor apart from the girls on the desk.

Reviewed by
Hugh Colver

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bar
I was surprised that a) it wasn't possible to get a packet of peanuts from behind the bar(!) and b) it closed at 10.30 on a Saturday evening, even for residents

Reviewed by
Ian Rance

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
We ordered the room online and admittedly it was only £50. I got a feeling for the place as soon as I saw the "type" of people in the queue in front of me. The staff on the reception desk were friendly enough but looked bored and unhappy. We got placed on the 4th floor - room 428. The door handle was literally hanging off, incredibly wobbly both externally and internally. The state of the room inside was awful. The carpet was filthy. The walls were pretty grim. There was a new looking electric radiator which had been fitted to the side of the old location, this had been clumsily filled with filler and left unpainted. The toilet seat was loose/broken - e.g slide to the side if you sat on it. A sign in the shower requested that you ensured the shower curtain was inside of the shower tray/bath whilst in use... the shower curtain was some 4"s to short to even reach the edge of the shower tray. The wooden window frames are rotten and falling apart. The lifts were dirty (food on the floor) - I appreciate this is from the some what dubious characters that had booked the location but there should be staff on site checking these things.
Having complained to reception regarding the room we were moved to a room on the second floor. This room had been refurbished, presumably recently, it was of a much higher standard than the afore mentioned hell whole (I'd have put a chair and my bags against the door if I'd had to stay in that room). The new room was 218. Everything was a lot better in here, however, the window in the bathroom was broken, not the glass, but the frame, it looked as if someone had tried opening it by sliding it up, only for the bottom panel of wood to fall out. This had again been clumsily repaired by screwing to short strips of metal to it - wind whistles through the holes either side, which you can fit your fingers through. The repainted walls in the bathroom are already showing signs of a damp problem coming from outside, a corner strip on the plastering had rusted through. The sealer around the shower was grubby and on the edge of the door was disgusting. There were also marks on the walls in the main room. Little things that required more attention - the tray with the tea/coffee - only one sachet of sugar! Why's that... because no one has bothered topping it up after the previous customer left. The bed was ok, not uncomfortably as such although I could feel the springs in it. The sheet had several small holes in it.
Breakfast the following morning wasn't really by choice but I was hungry. After a brief interrogation in the hall by the woman on the desk I made myself a bacon sandwich. There wasn't really any indication as to whether you just helped yourself or whether someone served you. You help yourself. I had a bacon sandwich, the bread was fresh and pleasant and the bacon was ok. Again the staff gave an impression of not really wanting to be there.
Stag / hen doos are probably the basis for the customers this hotel receives, hence the mess and damage. There is a huge lack of enthusiasm in the staff, what was most likely a fabulous piece of architecture along time ago has been left to decay. I suspect this building would require an enormous some of money to modernise correctly, there are hundreds and hundred of windows to replace etc... as such the owners clearly are just doing what they have to, bare minimum to keep it going.
I would personally not choose to stay in this hotel again. It was only £50 for the two of us for one night but I left wishing I had paid more and stayed else where.
With regards to the "What is this accommodation suitable for" - I really am unable to tick any of the boxes...
This hotel needs investment, running properly, bringing up to a decent standard - or closing.

Reviewed by
Rob Meade

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next