Reviews - Madeira Hotel


85, Bunbury Road Northfield, Birmingham, B31 2ET

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (42)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • philip E

  • September 2015

Madeira Hotel

Clean and comfortable room.

Convenient location for getting into Birmingham by train or car.

  • David W

  • August 2015

Friendly staff, good location, basic but adequate room

Good value single room with en suite, breakfast included though quite basic.

Very convenient for Northfield train station.

  • Philip Hedley

  • August 2015

High quality economy hotel

This very modestly priced hotel provides bright, clean and comfortable modernised accommodation ideal for a short visit to Birmingham.

The owner and staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is self serve fruit juice, tea, coffee, cereals, yoghurt and toast is also provided on request with butter, jams etc. All in all I was delighted I chose this pleasant accommodation for my visit.

  • Susan P

  • August 2015

Madeira Hotel

All round good value for money.

  • Leslie S

  • August 2015

Stay at Madiera

Could not fault anyone, in fact the couple who checked us out and especially the gentleman serving breakfast could not have been more helpful.

  • Graham J

  • August 2015

Food ok but

We stopped in room 7.

In need of complete redecoration. Very squeaky floor and very cramped. Bed was clean and comfortable though. No wardrobe and lack of hanging space in en-suite. Breakfast was lovely. Would I stop there again, no, but if you just want a bed for the night then maybe.

  • Patricia P

  • July 2015

Nice experience

Rooms and decor a bit dated, but hey.

It was good value. Friendly staff and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Joshua H

  • July 2015


I stayed here recently as this hotel is close proximity to The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital.

Check in was difficult, the proprietor looked at me with derision. The room was clean, but small. Shared bathroom, no thanks. Would not recommend in a month of Sundays. Do not believe their Trip Advisor reviews either. Wont be staying here again. Will be alerting the hospital too.

  • clare l

  • June 2015

In need of TLC

i didn't enjoy staying in this hotel- it is lacking in any character and is in need of some TLC.

although the staff were pleasant, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • David T

  • March 2015

a lovely stay.

Stayed here before, & returned because it offers all a traveler could need from a hotel / B&B, pleasant rooms (use a twin) new decor, good facilities, shower works fine, beds are clean, well made & comfortable.

Breakfast has all one could need to see you for the day. I visit the stirchley area every 6 months or so & will look to stay here every time.