No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Georgian Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
5 BYSTOCK TERRACE , EXETER, EX4 4HY
The Georgian Lodge is a Grade 2 listed town house in central Exeter which has been sympathetically refurbished into a classic bed and breakfast establishment using modern & classical designs.
Ideally situated for business or leisure, we offer quality accommodation at reasonable prices in the very centre of the historic city of Exeter in Devon.

We are well located for exploring the Devon countryside and it’s numerous attractions, as well as being close to Exeter University, the main shopping areas, and all major road and rail links. For those travelling by plane, Exeter International Airport is only a short drive from the city centre and the hotel.

For the comfort of our guests, all of our rooms are strictly non-smoking and there are public parking areas directly to the front and rear of the hotel. The hotel has a total of 10 single, double, twin & family rooms, all with en suite facilities, colour television, hospitality tray & hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi at the Georgian Lodge Hotel, Exeter Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available throughout.
Picture of The Georgian Lodge, EXETER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 40% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Key and Curtains
It seems to me that all the keys are the same which means anyone can go into any room which happened to me shortly after I arrived.
The curtains had no blackout which meant the the street lighting came through them.
Apart from that I thought it was a lovely hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about our property. I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was marred by someone coming into your room uninvited. I would like to make it clear, however, that the keys at our property will only open the front door and the individual room to which they are assigned. We do have master keys for the housekeeping, maintenance and management staff which allow access to all rooms in the case of emergency, cleaning etc. I would surmise that the person attempting to or entering your room was a staff member. If this was the case then they certainly should have knocked prior to entrance. Whatever the case I apologise for this intrusion and hope that it did not completely ruin your stay with us. Kind Regards, Manager, The Georgian Lodge

Reviewed by
norman lovett

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Was not impressed got room 9 ,4floors up 49 steeps. duck as walk round then room if you are 6ft tv only had 4 channels,breakfast,good choice.

Reviewed by
J Hart

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly disappointing
I've stayed in lots of similarly priced B&Bs so had certain expectations about the room that weren't really met: the tv was tiny and very old, you could only watch 5 channels and the signal was fuzzy, the tea in the room didn't have any non-caffeine/herbal options, the room looked rather austere, it was freezing cold, and the sausage at breakfast was really low quality. On the other hand, the place is well located for the station and looks nice from the outside!

Reviewed by
S Crane

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A missed opportunity
With a little more effort I felt the rather bland and basic accommodation at The Georgian Lodge, Exeter, could be transformed into a gem to which one would want to return time and time again. Our room was quite adequate, but lacked any touches which would have made it memorable; no pictures, no use of colour to create a comfortable atmosphere. And my personal bete noire, 'red' jam with the croissant for breakfast when even a tiny jar of decent strawberry jam would have made me feel so much more special! Breakfast was a mixture of excellent tea, mouth-wateringly delicious croissant and value quality juice, yoghurt and jam.
It would have been useful to know before I paid for 3 hours parking, that the hotel would issue a free ticket on registration.
The staff were friendly but lacked the personal contact that I had expected from a B and B, but then this isn't one. It's a small, very impersonal hotel and maybe for someone travelling on business that's ideal. For a family break it made no impression on me, unlike the city of Exeter which I loved!

Reviewed by
M Peters

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Guest House
A great little Guest House. yes ranked as an hotel but more of a charm of a guest house, The Lodge is extremely well situated in a quiet square just off the main route into the City Centre. Almost equidistant from St Davids and Central train stations - but go to Central as the walk from St Davids is uphill, and a 5/10 minute stroll to the City centre. You are in student land here which makes the experience more enjoyable and cosmopolitan. I was allocated The Flat which is the basement of the property and I couldn't have been happier and would have been comfortable here for a week, let alone 2 nights. A settee a dining table and a more than adequate ensuite. Quirky and charming, I felt I had hired an apartment. The steps down outside are steepish, but the entry through the hotel is easier. If you do stay in the The Flat, you could not expect to sleep much past 6:45am as, although the road is quiet, you are right under the dining room and the steps of the restaurant staff are right above you. I am an early riser (?!) so this was not an issue for me. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was impressive and set me up for the whole of the rest of the day. I was pleasantly surprised and pleased by my stay here and would very happily return again and ask for The Flat. A young at heart couple would love it here.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Georgian Lodge
Our room was comfortable and clean, but was on the lower ground floor where the Wi-Fi did not work. Noise travelled easily from the adjacent room, as well as the music from the hotel next door. Shortly after you could hear a toilet flushing elsewhere in the building, there was an unpleasant smell in our room - I think there were boxed in pipes running under our ceiling which may explain it, but should e investigated as not good. Breakfast was fine. The supplies left for tea/coffee etc had not been checked as I found one milk pot open and had gone sour and another I tried was also off.

Reviewed by
R Clifford

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
The staff were friendly and accommodation comfortable and convenient for town. The only down side was that I had to vacate my room by 10:30 am, which is earlier than other hotels/guest houses I've stayed in, as I had another 2 hours to kill before catching my train. Nice place for a weekend stay and price reasonable.

Reviewed by
M Jenkins

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

By George - what a stay !
Enjoyable stay in every sense. Great location for ease of access to station and town.
Helpful staff, good food and value for money.
Many thanks to Late Rooms and the Georgian Lodge.
Recommend it for business or pleasure stays.

Reviewed by
M Morris

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better

Reviewed by
Pauline G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Georgian is in a lovely old terrace of houses in a nice part of the city. I had never been to Exeter before and it is properly gorgeous. The staff at the Georgian were great. Very efficient and professional. I had a bit basement room all to myself, which was immaculately clean and even had a table and a sofa. All in all I enjoyed my stay.
My only niggle was that given the price, which is not inconsiderable, it seemed just a bit penny pinching. The worst manifestation of this was that the bed had one of those hideous plastic mattress protectors. The ones that make you wake up in the middle of night, sticky and sweating and glued to the bed. Fortunately, I spotted it before going to sleep and was able to remove it. Which entails the frustrating job of unmaking and remaking the bed. I know that these are used to save mattresses and therefore save money, but I am not incontinent and they are deeply horrible.
The shampoo and shower gel was in those little plastic packets that you can't open and the jam with the croissant (just the one) was that cheap stuff with no fruit in it. Just a little bit of thought about how to add some quality to the little things would have taken my stay from good to fantastic. It felt like everything was done from the perspective of what seems good and efficient and cost effective from a hoteliers point of view rather than what it would be nice to have as a guest. I'm kind of hoping that's useful feedback, because I really wouldn't want to slam what is a perfectly good B and B.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.