No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Georgian Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
5 BYSTOCK TERRACE , EXETER, EX4 4HY
The Georgian Lodge is a Grade 2 listed town house in central Exeter which has been sympathetically refurbished into a classic bed and breakfast establishment using modern & classical designs.
Ideally situated for business or leisure, we offer quality accommodation at reasonable prices in the very centre of the historic city of Exeter in Devon.

We are well located for exploring the Devon countryside and it’s numerous attractions, as well as being close to Exeter University, the main shopping areas, and all major road and rail links. For those travelling by plane, Exeter International Airport is only a short drive from the city centre and the hotel.

For the comfort of our guests, all of our rooms are strictly non-smoking and there are public parking areas directly to the front and rear of the hotel, alternately we can provide you with a permit for the local residential parking zone. The hotel has a total of 11 single, double, twin & family rooms, all with en suite facilities, colour television, hospitality tray & hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi at the Georgian Lodge Hotel, Exeter Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available throughout.
Picture of The Georgian Lodge, EXETER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 53% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in Georgian Lodge
Hotel is in nice square close to City Centre.
I stayed in a single room clean and tidy.
Linen should in my opinion be white cotton sheets and towels not blue. Pillows could be renewed little substance to them.
Staff friendly and courteous and helpful.
Sliced packaged brown bread and poor quality marmalade.
I would stay again for an overnight but not for a holiday break.

Reviewed by
K Beegan

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing little B&B right smack in the city.
Great place. Clean. Reasonable.

Reviewed by
Juwita Jalil

From Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant hotel
Very nice hotel, great customer service, above average breakfast and service at breakfast time.
Parking permits are available but only for on-street parking which is limited around the hotel.
I seem to recollect the website saying that parking is available in the small car park at the front of the hotel but when we got there this wasn't the case.
It's only a short walk into Exeter City centre which has plenty of places to eat and drink. It is also only an even shorter walk the other way to the Imperial which is a Wetherspoons pub in the most fabulous building. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Phil G

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Key and Curtains
It seems to me that all the keys are the same which means anyone can go into any room which happened to me shortly after I arrived.
The curtains had no blackout which meant the the street lighting came through them.
Apart from that I thought it was a lovely hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about our property. I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was marred by someone coming into your room uninvited. I would like to make it clear, however, that the keys at our property will only open the front door and the individual room to which they are assigned. We do have master keys for the housekeeping, maintenance and management staff which allow access to all rooms in the case of emergency, cleaning etc. I would surmise that the person attempting to or entering your room was a staff member. If this was the case then they certainly should have knocked prior to entrance. Whatever the case I apologise for this intrusion and hope that it did not completely ruin your stay with us. Kind Regards, Manager, The Georgian Lodge

Reviewed by
norman lovett

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Was not impressed got room 9 ,4floors up 49 steeps. duck as walk round then room if you are 6ft tv only had 4 channels,breakfast,good choice.

Reviewed by
J Hart

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly disappointing
I've stayed in lots of similarly priced B&Bs so had certain expectations about the room that weren't really met: the tv was tiny and very old, you could only watch 5 channels and the signal was fuzzy, the tea in the room didn't have any non-caffeine/herbal options, the room looked rather austere, it was freezing cold, and the sausage at breakfast was really low quality. On the other hand, the place is well located for the station and looks nice from the outside!

Reviewed by
S Crane

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A missed opportunity
With a little more effort I felt the rather bland and basic accommodation at The Georgian Lodge, Exeter, could be transformed into a gem to which one would want to return time and time again. Our room was quite adequate, but lacked any touches which would have made it memorable; no pictures, no use of colour to create a comfortable atmosphere. And my personal bete noire, 'red' jam with the croissant for breakfast when even a tiny jar of decent strawberry jam would have made me feel so much more special! Breakfast was a mixture of excellent tea, mouth-wateringly delicious croissant and value quality juice, yoghurt and jam.
It would have been useful to know before I paid for 3 hours parking, that the hotel would issue a free ticket on registration.
The staff were friendly but lacked the personal contact that I had expected from a B and B, but then this isn't one. It's a small, very impersonal hotel and maybe for someone travelling on business that's ideal. For a family break it made no impression on me, unlike the city of Exeter which I loved!

Reviewed by
M Peters

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Guest House
A great little Guest House. yes ranked as an hotel but more of a charm of a guest house, The Lodge is extremely well situated in a quiet square just off the main route into the City Centre. Almost equidistant from St Davids and Central train stations - but go to Central as the walk from St Davids is uphill, and a 5/10 minute stroll to the City centre. You are in student land here which makes the experience more enjoyable and cosmopolitan. I was allocated The Flat which is the basement of the property and I couldn't have been happier and would have been comfortable here for a week, let alone 2 nights. A settee a dining table and a more than adequate ensuite. Quirky and charming, I felt I had hired an apartment. The steps down outside are steepish, but the entry through the hotel is easier. If you do stay in the The Flat, you could not expect to sleep much past 6:45am as, although the road is quiet, you are right under the dining room and the steps of the restaurant staff are right above you. I am an early riser (?!) so this was not an issue for me. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was impressive and set me up for the whole of the rest of the day. I was pleasantly surprised and pleased by my stay here and would very happily return again and ask for The Flat. A young at heart couple would love it here.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Georgian Lodge
Our room was comfortable and clean, but was on the lower ground floor where the Wi-Fi did not work. Noise travelled easily from the adjacent room, as well as the music from the hotel next door. Shortly after you could hear a toilet flushing elsewhere in the building, there was an unpleasant smell in our room - I think there were boxed in pipes running under our ceiling which may explain it, but should e investigated as not good. Breakfast was fine. The supplies left for tea/coffee etc had not been checked as I found one milk pot open and had gone sour and another I tried was also off.

Reviewed by
R Clifford

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
The staff were friendly and accommodation comfortable and convenient for town. The only down side was that I had to vacate my room by 10:30 am, which is earlier than other hotels/guest houses I've stayed in, as I had another 2 hours to kill before catching my train. Nice place for a weekend stay and price reasonable.

Reviewed by
M Jenkins

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next