Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Ivybridge Hotels > The Sportsmans Inn and Ivybridge Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sportsmans Inn and Ivybridge Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Exeter Road, , , Ivybridge, PL21 0BQ
The Sportsmans Inn is a traditional olde worlde pub with the added bonus of a 14 bedroom hotel. Here we take pride in the values of a bygone age where service and personal touches were what made the pubs of England great! Whether it be just a drink from our extensively stocked bar, a light snack from our bar menu or an a la carte meal , we try to cater for all your needs. With a large car park and 2 raised dining areas above a dance floor we offer the perfect venue for your party needs. The saloon bar, which has a separate entrance, is the ideal room to hold early morning meetings [with no room charge ]. All beverages are available throughout the day, and breakfast, lunch or tea can be arranged. We also have a screen and a flipchart holder for your use, coupled with free WI-FI. In the warmer weather our large beer garden is available for a quick snack or a glass of wine. Why not try one of our local real ales with a delicious lunch or one of our famous sandwiches. Look out for special barbecue events. Our rooms are available all year round, they range from twin rooms, doubles, family and of course our 4 poster. All have complimentary tea and coffee and local spring water. En- suite bath or shower rooms (except the economy room which has a private bathroom just outside the room), full English breakfast is included in our prices. Parking is free to residents and we are only a 15 minute drive into Plymouth town centre. For tariff please see our room tab. Bill and Doh Hibbert, the landlord and landlady, are entering their 25th year here at The Sportsmans so we are pleased to be celebrating that with plenty of events going on throughout the year . We are quite sure if you join us for a drink or social event you will find a warm welcome. Disabled access and disabled toilets are a feature of the sportsmans. we were the first hostelry in ivybridge to become ' disabled friendly' with the mayor cutting the ribbon of the disabled toilet!!
Picture of The Sportsmans Inn and Ivybridge Hotel, Ivybridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend away
Room was a bit small, but OK for just the two of us. The food was excellent and good prices, also the service was also very good. Enjoyed the decor with all the musical and theatrical memorabilia.

Reviewed by
A Lyon

From Langport, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sportsman, Ivybridge
Friendly and very helpful staff. Landlord's musical enthusiasm provided an interesting but unobtrusive background for evening meal and bar time.

Reviewed by
KEVIN CLOWRY

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break away
Good clean room with friendly very accommodating staff.

Reviewed by
Vicky Barber

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break at the Sportsmans Inn and Ivybridge Hotel
On arrival the woman running the hotel could not have been more helpful; she made us feel welcome. Although the room was a bit tired this did not detract from an enjoyable break; the room was clean and the bed comfortable.
The breakfast was the star of the show; I would recommend the full works. The woman running the hotel also served breakfast and she was very attentive and really made it feel a friend was serving you.
I would return when in the area again.

Reviewed by
david s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but tired
Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. Arrived late but were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room. Room was spotlessly clean but in desperate need of an update as was bathroom.. Shower would not stay upright and so you had to hold the head, but plenty of hot water. Bed linen clean and looked new but bunk bed was a bit rickety. Breakfast was really good, cooked to order, with cereals and toast to help yourself to. On the whole I would give it a 4 out of five as the staff were all so friendly and very helpful when we had a minor crisis!

Reviewed by
Mark P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food
It's a pub with good food and some rooms. It's not a hotel chain and I fully support I independants. The room we had was a superier room and I recommend you upgrade as some friends of ours went basic and they were not happy. The rooms are very dated and the bathroom needed some work, but it was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Free parking. Good area.

Reviewed by
Michaela H

From Banbury, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Food and customer service were excellent, very attentive staff.
Accommodation was poor, as a business traveller I had work to do in the evening but was told when I asked about wi-fi that it was playing up and I probably wouldn't get it, and I didn't! So my work for the following day was affected.
Without wi-fi I thought I'd watch TV in my room, one channel worked for a while then stopped, I tried to re tune the TV but to no avail. An early night then!!!

Reviewed by
A Logan

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff
Was running late for arrival so rang as to confirm my arrival and to ask about my new ETA. Arrived at 23.45 to be greated and given my key

Reviewed by
Peter Sutton

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Nice and warm throughout. Good breakfast. Room old fashioned and 'tired'.

Reviewed by
R Preston

From Penryn, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful and friendly. Food great and value for money

Reviewed by
A Clews

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next