No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bayards Cove Inn

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
27 Lower Street, , , Dartmouth, TQ6 9AN
Bayards Cove Inn offers 7 comfortable and stylishly appointed bedrooms, 2 of which are large suites suitable for families, all are fully equipped with contemporary comforts whilst retaining the character features of this historic house. En-suite shower rooms, central heating, TVs with freeview, DVD players, tea and coffee trays and hairdryers are provided and there is free WiFi throughout the building. 24 hr front desk and daily housekeeping. We offer a fully cooked breakfast using local bacon and sausages, free range eggs, mushrooms and vine tomatoes. A wide range of meats, smoked fish and local cheeses are on offer in addition to fresh fruits, juices, cereals and yoghurts and of course freshly baked bread and pastries and speciality coffees and teas. Later in the day you may like to sample some of our homemade cakes or enjoy a Devonshire Cream Tea. Dartmouth is a food lovers paradise and has many famous eating places, from Bayards Cove Inn you can stroll to any one of the numerous restaurants offering different dining experiences. The atmosphere is that of a intimate town house Hotel and is ideal for private house parties of up to 22 people where groups of family and friends can enjoy the freedom and privacy of a private rental with the added luxuries and services of a small hotel. Parking in central Dartmouth can sometimes be challenging but we strive to ensure that this does not inconvenience our guests by helping out as best we can to find suitable parking nearby. The ground floor coffee house, restaurant and bar is a popular place for locals to meet for coffee or a glass of wine, and an ideal base from which to linger a little before venturing out to explore the delights of Dartmouth. The winding streets and the waterfront are on the doorstep and offer endless hours of activity whether you wish to browse the galleries, speciality shops and boutiques, savour the flavours of the famous restaurants.
Picture of Bayards Cove Inn, Dartmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A lovely quaint and warm place to stay. Excellent

Reviewed by
Rolanda R

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First- class hotel
Great hotel - couldn't be improved!

Reviewed by
Wendy R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent little B&B/Hotel and ideally situated with a very friendly staff. Lovely rooms with a character of their own.
We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey M

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
Great location, very good staff, absolutely fabulous room, Mountbatten, will be rebooking in the near future

Reviewed by
S Lawton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it really is that good
huge room, spotlessly clean, and very quiet! The food at breakfast was excellent, the best vegetarian full English I've ever had! The continental? Fresh croissant, locally sourced cheese and preserves...probably the best coffee in town. Fantastic historic location. Downstairs bar, nice, atmospheric, very cool. The tapas nights - make sure you reserve a table! V. popular and deservedly so. On the whole, worth every penny and more.

Reviewed by
michael abberton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room and lovely staff but over priced
The room was good but not as good as it looked in the photo on the website with a dramatic zoom lens! The pillows were of varying quality - some to hard and some too soft and flat. The cushions on the bed were dirty and stained in places. There was no small fridge with complimentary bottled water etc which you would expect for a room costing £140 per night (£150 for a couple). However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is no parking but the staff are helpful in advising where to park. I think it is a good place to stay but over priced for what you get. I would be happy to pay £90 per night but not £140.

Reviewed by
Linzi S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Place to Stay In Dartmouth - 5 star service and accommodation
My wife and I chose Bayards Cove Inn for a 2 night stay to celebrate our 10 Year wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. From the very moment we arrived the staff were not only extremely attentive but incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome immediately. The room (we stayed in the Drake (even though we didn't bring the kids)) was excellent, very clean, comfortable and full of character. On our second night we also decided to stop at the Inn and eat from the Tapas menu on offer. Both the food and wine choice was excellent and the food delicious. The service again was outstanding and we had perhaps one of the friendliest waitresses I have ever encountered looking after us which may the meal (and experience) even more enjoyable.
I would recommend Bayards Cove Inn to anyone, and was a great base from which to explore the rest of what Dartmouth has to offer. Brilliantly situated just off the main town centre, by the water and a 2 minute walk from the small ferry to Kingswear.

Reviewed by
Richard Coppack

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant little gem in Dartmouth
Lovely hotel with lots of charm and personality. Everyone working here was great. The room was very comfortable with a small view out to the Harbour. Its in a great location and I would highly reccomend it.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quirky accommodation in the heart of Dartmouth
This comfortable hotel offers a stay in an original 14th C building with lots of character, in the heart of Dartmouth. The warm and friendly staff made us extremely welcome and the breakfast and tapas food were excellent.

Reviewed by
Pauline Patterson

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way !!

Reviewed by
G Morrison

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next